Free Shipping Over $50
SHOP YOUR WAY
Caruso

Caruso SalonPro 30 Molecular Steam Hairsetter

Provides complete versatility for creating any of today's hair style with non damaging - steam conditions your hair as it curls.
$49.95
$39.95
Save 20%
Order now
Ships 08/29/2014
 

Reviews

Based on 124 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Caruso SalonPro 30 Molecular Steam Hairsetter (124)
Show All 124 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Florida
    5 Star Rating
    I Have An Ancient Caruso...
    ...one of the old, square, purple ones that requires salt, and that thing is still going strong. I am having to replace the foam on the rollers, but a few folks in the Tips column suggested using cheap foam rollers, and Im going to try it. I truly love this little gadget! I had straight hair when I was younger, and it held a Caruso curl better than any curling iron. Once middle age struck, my hair got wavy, and now, Im having all new fun with my Caruso. I dont know how well the newer Carusos work, but my oldy-but-goody is just that. Based on its history, Id recommend a Caruso to EVERYONE.
    11 out of 13 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 28, 2009
    Link to this post
  • Petoskey, Michigan
    Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    Long Hair
    5 Star Rating
    It's The Absolute Best!
    I have been using this system for many years. I have long thick hair. I set my hair two or three times a week. The set is on the tight side right after setting but it gradually relaxes and I can easily go two or three days on one set. I do use a little hair spray, after brushing it out I flop my head over and spray my hair on the underside and then flop it back over right side up arrange it and spray lightly on the top side.There is a learning curve on using this set as you have to be quick and get it in your hair while the curler is still hot. I can set my entire head in less then 5 minutes which is way faster then trying to use a curling iron on my think mop and it works so much better. I actually take my setter with me to the hair salon after getting it cut and colored because these curlers do a much better job then the hair salon can do with there curling products. Ive had the same hair stylist for 30 years and she gets a kick out of showing people how fast I can set my hair and how lovely it turns out. Thanks for a wonderful product. I believe that the people on here that dont like it must have not used it enough to get fast with getting them in your hair. I cant recommend them enough. Im ordering a new set today!
    11 out of 11 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 22, 2009
    Link to this post
  • AL
    5 Star Rating
    Love It
    I started using this in the early 90s when I was a majorette. I am in AL and our fall is hot and humid. We all know that hairspray and humidity do not mix. I like the Caruso because I only have to use a minimal amount of product, so my hair is soft, not sticky. The curl stays alot longer than with curling irons or hot rollers. My hair is straight and fine, and it does not want to hold curl. I do think the original with the salt was the best too, but have good luck with my second unit.
    9 out of 9 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 6, 2009
    Link to this post
  • AZ
    3 Star Rating
    Another Love/hate Relationship
    I, too, have used this product forever. The original that used salt in the water was fabulous and lasted for years. Like other reviews here, the more recent models (and Ive been through about 4 or 5) do curl your hair to perfection but the units only last about 6 months. One unit even did a mini-explosion on my bathroom counter! The company did replace it at no charge. I keep buying them because they do the best job, hands down, but I have to give the actual unit a failing grade. I wish they would go back to the original model. I dont mind adding salt if it adds some longevity to the product.
    7 out of 7 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 1, 2009
    Link to this post
  • U.S.A.
    5 Star Rating
    Ca.
    I have Indian stright hair and this product has been the BEST!!! I have the orginal, the purple base, pink base and blue base now the white base. I have used them for about 25yrs. Great on single processed, Double, Triple and Quad processed hair. I know I have done it ALL!!!!!!!!! Karen in California
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 6, 2009
    Link to this post
  • Southern California
    3 Star Rating
    Hard To Rate, Love And Hate Relationship
    This is a great product for all hair types,excellent on relaxed African American hair. When this product first hit the market it was fantastic and more expensive. The idea of using steam and not burning your fingers or scalp, amazing. However, I guess with the product being mass produced some of the quality went out the window, unfortunatly. If you only use a very little steam on relaxed fine to medium hair, and a bit of moisturizer sparsly on the tips of your fingers you can reset your hair every morning without damage. However, I bought the original hairsetter and it worked for almost 2 yrs. The second one I purchased lasted less than six months. I sent it back to the manufactor, Helen Curtis. This went on 2 more times. I went crazy mad not knowing where to turn. I finally just gave up purchasing the steam unit and now I use a standard humidifier works just as well and lasts forever. I use the Caruso replacement rollers couldnt live with out them.
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 22, 2009
    Link to this post
  • Saratoga Then Auburn, CA
    5 Star Rating
    Best Kept Secret 20 Years Now
    Ive used these things for almost 20 years. Anytime I curl my hair with these it is absolutely amazing results that look even better on day two. My family and friends are speechless and its my easy secret. It might be different and look crazy, but it works! I have long fine straight hair.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 19, 2009
    Link to this post
  • California
    1 Star Rating
    Junk!
    I have purchased 2 of these curlers for a missionary friend in the Dominican Republic. She has used her original set for years and loves the results she gets with them. The 1st set NEVER WORK! The 2nd set LASTED LESS THAN 6 MONTHS! Now I am ordering a 3rd set. It has been a large investment for me since it costs a fortune to mail them to her and she has to pay $50.00 to pick them up on top of the postage I pay. So needless to say, it would be very expensive to return them. You expect things to work when purchased. Needless to say I find this brand to be major JUNK. She did not ask for a 3rd set ... but because of the work she does, it is my contribution to her. If these fail ... I will make a decision to purchase another brand. By the way, the Thrift Stores are loaded with these curlers ... so make your own conclusion.
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 19, 2009
    Link to this post
  • 1 Star Rating
    Poor, Disappointing Results
    Caruso SalonPro 30 Steam Hairsetter was awkward to use with very poor results on my fine long hair. For me, it was a total waste of money and I dont recommend this product at all.
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 14, 2008
    Link to this post
  • Gainesville, Florida
    1 Star Rating
    Great Curls, But Unit Didn't Last Six Months!
    I loved this product until it broke. The curls would last for two days, and the rollers were easy to put in without burning my fingers. But after using it only approximately thirty times, the unit abruptly stopped working! Had I mishandled it I would feel differently, but I babied this thing. My curling iron is ten years old, my blow dryer even older, and this product didnt stack up. At $40, it wasnt cheap enough to justify the amount of use I got. Im disappointed because while it lasted, it was just great.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 4, 2008
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
Server Name