Shop Sedu
Caruso

Caruso ProTraveler 14 Molecular Steam Hairsetter

Compact design. The ultimate set to create today's polished hair styles with non damaging - steam conditions your hair as it curls.
$41.00
$36.99
Save 10%
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 140 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Caruso ProTraveler 14 Molecular Steam Hairsetter (140)
Show All 140 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • 5 Star Rating
    Thanks For The Tip
    Hey everyone. Thanks for the tip to replace just the foam part of the rollers with the store find sponge rollers. I was just searching the internet for discount places to buy replacement rollers. I agree they are expensive. Thanks so much. Suzanne
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 14, 2004
    Link to this post
  • ORIGINALLY NEW YORK NOW FLORIDA
    5 Star Rating
    I've Had Mine At Least 10 Years
    I LOVE IT. IT WORKS GREAT... BUT I NEED TO REPLACE THE FOAMS AS THEY HAVE DRIED OUT.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 12, 2004
    Link to this post
  • Modesto, California
    5 Star Rating
    Old "salty" & Replacement Foams
    Ive been using the Caruso steam system pretty much since it came on the market. My hair is extremely straight with no natural body to speak of, but the Caruso handles it nicely, with curls that stay even after sleeping on them. Miraculous! There is no doubt, however, that "old salty" resulted in a firmer curl than the new no-salt model. Just purchased one of the new ion setters and the curls seem looser and not as "confirmed."I also completely agree with other reviewers that the foam curler covers should indeed be sold separately. I LOVE the tip that those cheapie pink rollers from the drug store will work; wish Id thought of it years ago and I intend to give it a try. Certainly would have saved me a lot of money in replacement curlers. Nevertheless, I am a confirmed Caruso Steam Hairsetter user. I wouldnt think of using anything else.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 23, 2004
    Link to this post
  • Virginia Beach
    5 Star Rating
    No Split Ends!!
    the unit I have finally quit working after 15-20 years of use! So Ill get another! These are the best curlers ever....long lasting curls and no split ends, ever! Theres just nothing else like it.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 12, 2004
    Link to this post
  • 5 Star Rating
    Liked The Old One Better, Why Not Make Foam Replacements?
    Caruso steam hairsetter works great on baby fine hair. Been using this type for 5 years. NOTHING IT. But, why cant Caruso sell the replacement foam? I did find out that the "old-timie" foam rollers work as replacements. I had an original setter and the ends did not come off, but I got a new one (just to get the foam replacements) and the ends do come off and I can now replace the foam. We have real hard water here in Texas and the steamer goes out about every 1.5 years. I have tried using only distilled water, but it only added a couple of weeks to the longevity. I really like the result using steam, just wish someone could tell me how to clean the steamer.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 29, 2003
    Link to this post
  • 5 Star Rating
    Cheaper Sponge Replacements!
    I love this hairsetter! I wore out dozens of the foam rollers and had to pay exhorbitant prices for new ones until I discovered a cheaper way to replace my shredded foam: you know the sponge rollers you can buy in packages almost anywhere? They come in a variety of sizes and colors and are pretty inexpensive--maybe a couple of dollars for about 24. I just take the sponge off the plastic clip and put the sponge on my old Caruso roller. Theyre a little thicker than the original Caruso ones but work great.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 27, 2003
    Link to this post
  • 4 Star Rating
    If It Works---don't Fix It.
    Been using this fantastic hairsetter since the mid-80s. The older (5 stars) model ("old salty") worked better and lasted much longer (9 years!). Ive gone through three of the newer models in six years. Also, Caruso used to sell the sponges separately but these are not available from the new owner (Helen of Troy). What do we do with all those old plastic roller frames, Helen of Troy?? Just add them to the environmental trash heap?
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 23, 2002
    Link to this post
  • 4 Star Rating
    Amazing Product - But Prefer Older Salt Req'd Model
    The new models in my opinion dont work as well as the old models that required salt. With my old Caruso hairsetter, my curls were stronger and lasted longer. I didnt mind having to add salt for the superior results. But, no retailer as far as I can tell is still selling any of those models *** and Ive been looking. Send me mail if you have an old one in good condition that you want to sell - Thanks. Finally, the salt argument aside -Caruso steam setters are still my preferred method of curling my hair as it is less damaging than heated curling irons/rollers and the curl lasts longer.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 18, 2002
    Link to this post
  • 5 Star Rating
    Great Product Except For One Thing...
    Ive been using this system ever since you had to use salt and could only buy it off of TV. I advise to use end papers so you you wont damage your hair on the sponge roller.The only complaint that I have is that when the sponge roller wears out-you have to order complete replacement rollers w/plastic attachment. The replacement rollers used to be sold in the store but no longer. I did call Helene of Troy and suggest that they can seal the sponges ONLY because the plastic insert is still intact....but the rep seem disinterested.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 29, 2001
    Link to this post
  • 5 Star Rating
    I Love It!
    Ive been using the Caruso Hair system for over 10 years and I love it.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 22, 2001
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name