Free Shipping Over $50
15% off + Free Shipping on Top Ten Lists
Solano

SuperSolano The Original

Featured in the "Gadgets: On the Go" article in the June 2009 issue of Lucky Magazine, The Original SuperSolano provides extreme power with maximum benefits.
$149.00
$99.99
Save 33% + Free Shipping
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 125 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • SuperSolano The Original (125)
Show All 125 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Hair
    Black
    Normal Hair
    Relaxed Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Lifting Weights While Blow Drying Your Hair
    After reading many reviews on the different hair dryers folica.com and comparing, I decided to get the SuperSolano simply because it had all three components:ionic, tourmaline and ceramic for a decent price. I was very excited when I got the item delivered to my footstep.

    My first impression of the SuperSolano was oh my gosh, this thing is freaking heavy. But I didn't want to go through with all the return hassle so I decided to convinced myself to give it another try. I figured, if it does what it says which is to cut my hair drying time in half, then using a little arm muscle ain't so bad.

    Within 1.5 weeks, the ac adapter broke when I pulled it out, the plastic cover popped out and so did the yellow button (untest) and the screws were still in on the bottom so there's no way I can pop it back in or fix it. Although, I can still use it, but if one day someone accidentally presses the test button (red), it will be over.

    I do notice a difference in the quality of my hair using this product, it is shinier and softer so I have no doubt that this is a great product, however, the quality control and made needs to improved upon on. The on/off buttons are located where the handle is and it is so inconvenient because it can be easily turn off and the buttons hurt the palm of my hand when I'm holding it.

    In my opinion, if you're holding a comb in one hand and the dryer in your other hand, I figured it would be nice that everything just jives. But when buttons are in the way, and the weight of this product is an issue, then it just makes styling your hair a little more frustrating. I'm hoping to purchase a hair dryer I can use for long term, so I have decided to return it and probably invest in some other brand.


    9 out of 9 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 28, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Boston, MA
    Hair
    Blonde
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Devoted User Of Supersolano...but Not So Much Now
    First let me say, that I have never before posted a review of any product, but after months of suffering through use of this one, I felt I had to. My husband bought me my first SuperSolano hairdryer for Christmas 10 years ago since he'd known I had been eyeing it for some time. At that time the price tag was over $200. Well, money well spent...That hairdryer lasted me 10 years almost to date being used every 1-2 days during that time. And, my hair was much shinier and healthier looking and had noticeably more volume than with cheaper dryers. I have curly, frizzy hair and I NEVER needed to use a flat iron after drying my hair with the Solano. Truly salon looking results. Fast forward to today, and I can't give the same review. When my dryer died about 6 months ago, I immediately purchased the same dryer (or what I thought was the same) from Folica. The only difference is that I ordered the black instead of the red/black. All I can say is "awful"!! My hair now looks dry and damaged again (I do color treat, but this was never a problem with my old dryer) and there is no way that I could leave the house without using my flat iron. After all this, the end result is still not desirable and NOTHING like the results I used to get. After dealing with this for months, I will be looking for my warranty information and hoping to send this back. If anyone has had the same experience, I would love to hear. Not sure if something was different about this new model? Longing for my old one...
    7 out of 7 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 27, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Light Brown
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    I Am Blown Away!
    I have always used a conair dryer because I didn't know there were better dryers out there for my thick hair. I believe the time it takes to dry my hair with the SuperSolano is less than half of the old dryer. It is a bit heavier than my old dryer but since I use if for less time that's not a big deal. I haven't noticed my hair being shinnier but it is softer. Not only would I purchase the Solano again, I would purchase it from Folica because the shipping was fast and so was the response from their customer service!

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 18, 2011
    Link to this post
  • MN
    Hair
    Platinum Blonde
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Meh
    honestly i was hoping i would be more impressed than i am considering i upgraded from a $20 or less blow dryer. this blows air fast, which is good.. but it tangles my hair like crazy and takes FOREVER to dry my hair. i think even longer than my cheapy. i debated on sending it back but i wanted to give it a fair chance. i have been wearing my hair wavy has the weather has been humid and rainy and it hasnt been worth blowing it out, so i think it might be to late for that.
    over all with the amazing reviews i am really disappointed.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 30, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Texas, Floria
    Hair
    Blonde
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Super Solano Is Incredible - Hope This Review Helps
    To begin with my review is based on fine, frizz prone color treated hair that I decided to cut, after years of bleaching damage, rather reluctantly since I spend a good amount of time in humid climates...what to do? Good products and GOOD GADGETS! I have never owned a professional dryer and after reading raving reviews I decided I should go for it - and I'm so happy I did. After spending a solid week researching this website and going back and forth between the solia, sedu, elchim and super solano I picked this one for following reasons (by the way this review is going to tell you how much I love this blow dryer): I wanted a blow dryer that had it all backed up by good quality and craftsmanship and a reasonable price. I have flat hair so I want volume. After reading the how-to and inner-working of the dryer I decided, hesitantly at first to pick this dryer over the others BECAUSE it did NOT have ion technology - which is great if you have frizzy, wavy, thick or dull hair, but not if you want volume. I figured it couldn't hurt since my brush and straightener have ionic technology. Well ladies, I was BLOWN away the first time I used this, so much so that I am writing this review which I literally NEVER do. I was able, on the first try, to re-create my short bob better than my own stylist which has not ever happened before - it was shiny, full of volume and gorgous. My husband immediately asked me what I'd been doing to my hair (after 1 use). You don't need the ions ladies - and the sedu ion optional dryer, I think, is overpriced compared to what you get with this one. Yeah it's heavy - if you're a stick or a big baby - think of it as mini work out. The high speed is more powerful than any max setting on an 1875 watt over the counter dryer. Anyways I could go on and on - wanted to write this in the hopes it will help - if you think you want this dryer - GET IT - return it if you don't like it but I doubt that will happen. You'd have to pry mine out of my dead fingers :) Happy styling!
    19 out of 19 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 11, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Amazing! Wonderful Dryer!
    This is a powerful blow dryer. I have always bought cheap grocery store brands that lasted no more than 3 years. After reading the reviews of the dryers longevity (up to 25 years), and it's features(ceramic, ionic, tourmaline, A/C motor etc.). I thought I would take a leap with this one, and I couldn't be happier! It is an amazing dryer! The heat, and power settings are wonderful. If I want to straighten my hair, the highest heat setting is the perfect temperature for smooth silky hair. Even though I do not have a diffuser attachment, if I want to scrunch, and curl my hair the medium, and low temperature settings are great. I can go from the shower to finished, and ready to go in under 10. I love this dryer! I am hoping to to benefit from it for years to come. Worth every penny!
    5 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 3, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Oregon
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    4 Star Rating
    First Time Solano User...
    Decided to try a more upscale dryer than what I normally use. This is a nice dryer, comes packaged well with a couple of different attachments. It did a nice job drying my hair - left it silky and shiny and a bit straighter than my normal dryer. However, it is really heavy and I am not sure it dried my hair any faster (which would have been a benefit). Overall I liked it but not sure it was worth the extra money over my old dryer.

    Decided to keep it and see if it is easier on my hair - time will tell!
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 31, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Phoenix, AZ
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Awesome Results!
    This is by far the best hair dryer I have ever owned. I was using a drug store special, and even using the best products, my hair was still frizzy and dry after drying it. After just one use, the results were amazing. I had read the other reviews and of course, was still skeptical, but I am a believer. Buy this dryer. You won't regret it. It's worth the investment.
    2 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 26, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Seems Good
    So far this dryer seems to work really well. With the styling tips it dries my hair quickly and smoothly. I like the multiple speeds and temperatures.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 23, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Normal Hair
    Oily Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Must Have!
    MY HAIR STYLIST USES THIS DRYER AND THAT'S WHY I BOUGHT IT... IT'S GREAT DRYS MY HAIR VERY FAST AND HAS AMAZING RESULTS!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 17, 2011
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
  • Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4") Best of Folica

    Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4")

    The Solia 1-1/4 flat iron features the Dynamic Alignment System to ensure perfect contact between your hair and the plates which gives even heat distribution for true silky straight hair. 

    5,517 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    New Price: $79.99 - $89.99
    Free Shipping
  • Folica Crane Clips

    Folica Crane Clips

    Folica Carbon Crane Clips are the perfect styling aid!

    New Price: $9.99
  • Solia 1875W Thermal Ionic Hair Dryer Best of Folica

    Solia 1875W Thermal Ionic Hair Dryer

    The latest in advanced Italian Hair Dryer Technology. Solia Thermal Ionic 1875W dryer produces millions of negative ions to make hair healthier and shinier.

    798 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $159.95 New Price: $89.99
    Free Shipping
  • Solano 3200 Top Power Hair Dryer Best of Folica

    Solano 3200 Top Power Hair Dryer

    The Solano 3200 Top Power Hair Dryer delivers smooth, frizz-free, professional looking results!

    Old Price: $149.00 New Price: $99.99
    Free Shipping
  • Solano Finger Softstyler Diffuser

    Solano Finger Softstyler Diffuser

    Solano Finger Softstyler Diffuser features unique finger extenders interacting with the artist for the creation of softness and design, enhanced volume, and superior styling control.

    Old Price: $22.00 New Price: $15.99
Server Name