ExpressShipping
Solano

Solano Turbo Ultra Lite Professional Hair Dryer

The Solano Turbo Ultra Lite Professional Hair Dryer combines Tourmaline Technology with Silver Nano Technology to promote healthier hair with anti-bacterial pro...
$130.00
$89.99
Save 31% + Free Shipping
Order now
Ships 01/01/2015
 

Reviews

Based on 23 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Solano Turbo Ultra Lite Professional Hair Dryer (23)
Show All 23 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Love This Dryer
    ive been on the hunt for a professional hair dryer that would get the job done quickly but not be a tornado for my fine hair. This is it! I tried a babylisspro first, but it was far too powerful on the lowest speed. This solano is perfect. I can successfully use my round brush and it leaves my hair smooth and shiny. Definitely recommend for my thin-haired sisters.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted This week
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Blonde
    Curly Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Solano Hair Blower
    I've had this hair blower for approximately a year. I disagree with other reviewers who say it does not get hot enough. I think it gets does get hot as it sometimes burns my scalp. My problems with it are the placement of the on-off switch and the speed switch. They are right on the handle where you have to hold it. I'm constantly turning them off and it is so annoying and frustrating. I spend half my time turning them back on. Also, the cord is too long for home use. I have a small space where I do my hair (it's the only place in my house to do my hair) and the cord is constantly getting twisted because of the length and it hangs all over the floor enticing my cats to play with it. So, I'm in the market for a decent hair blower because this one just isn't it.
    5 out of 7 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 9, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Columbia, Sc
    Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Lightweight And Dries Hair Fast!
    i got this to replace my old (and heavy) hair dryer since the motor finally started dying on it. the biggest advantage of this solano is the weight. i have a lot of hair that is very thick and holds a lot of water, so it takes a while to dry. after towel-drying my hair, it probably takes about 15-20 minutes to dry my hair while finger-combing it. my hair is almost down to my waist and it is super thick, so 15-20 minutes is light-speed for me! my old dryer easily weighed 3# (OUCH!) so this dryer is a feather by comparison. i like that the cord is super long. i have a small bathroom, so i walk out into the hall and dry my hair there to not get hot and cooped up feeling.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 4, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Needs More Power, Not For The Home User
    I was in the market for a professional grade hair dryer and spent several months researching and comparing brands and models. I finally settled on this one, particularly since it was lightweight and seemed to have many great reviews. I have a permanent hand injury that makes it difficult to dry my hair and so I wanted one that would help me do the job as quickly as possible. After using it for 5 months, I am ready to sell it on Craigslist and go back to a cheap Revlon dryer.

    Many reviewers said it left their hair silky and smooth. I've experienced the opposite; my hair is left frizzy, with the cuticle not smoothed out at all. Also, there are unflattering bends in the hair. I am presuming this is caused by a combination of not taking small enough sections and a very narrow opening on the concentrator. This is the first time I've ever experienced this with a dryer.

    The placement of the buttons is another inconvenient aspect. Perhaps for a stylist, the buttons are perfectly placed, but the way I hold it in my left hand, I'm constantly accidentally knocking the buttons and having to readjust. Also, the cold shot button is tiny, very hard to reach, and very hard to press.

    Although it seems like this dryer gets hot enough and seems powerful enough, it takes longer to dry my hair, and often it feels like it's not completely dry at all. Add a bit of humidity to the air and my style is a wreck within the hour.

    This might be a great choice for a professional stylist, who can grip it correctly and can take the extra time this requires to fully dry a client's hair. It definitely is lightweight - as long as you don't take into account the very long cord, which adds a significant amount of weight. For a home user like me, it is not powerful enough, leaves bends in my hair, and is inconvenient to hold. It is disappointing that going upmarket on a styling tool didn't garner better results. So, back to the cheap Revlon. When it breaks, I'll toss it out and buy another.
    6 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 15, 2013
    Link to this post
  • USA
    3 Star Rating
    My New Hair Dryer
    The hair dryer does a great job, and is light as is advertised. The only thing I really dislike is the location of the buttons on the handle. You can't hold it without accidently pushing/changing the buttons which is really a disadvantage. Especially for the money I paid for this.
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 19, 2012
    Link to this post
  • United States
    Hair
    Black
    Oily Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Very Light And Quiet
    I got this dryer after dropping my old Conair that I had for 5 years. I really liked that one too but I couldn't find it for sale anywhere. I chose to recycle my old one and get this one. My old Conair was very fast but loud and screeching. I turned this one on when I got it and I noticed the air flow is good but a bit slower than my old one. I assumed this was due to the lower power. The nozzle is very narrow and with the concentrator the air flow is almost as powerful as an 1875 watt dryer. My hair did take a slightly longer time to dry but when it was finally dry, my hair was voluminous and shinier. My hair used to get so frizzy.One thing I would improve on is I would want an ionic generator for faster dry time and smoother hair but I am ok for now without one. Maybe the ions were causing my hair to frizz out so much.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 15, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Michigan
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Best Professional Hair Dryer Ever!
    I'm a licensed stylist and this is the only hair dryer I've ever purchased since cosmetology school. Its healthier for your hair because the wattage is lower, it doesn't fry your hair when you dry it and it doesn't take me any longer to dry it. Also, its super light weight so when you're blow drying a zillion clients in a day your arm doesn't feel like its going to fall off at the end of the day. I always use the attachment with a ceramic round brush and I always get perfectly shiny, smooth hair on all clients. They always ask me how I get their hair so perfect and I tell them... its all in the brush and blow dryer!! Since 2006 I've had two of these, each lasting well over 3-4 years. Excellent product. I hope they continue to make this dryer for years to come!!
    9 out of 9 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 2, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Charlotte, NC
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Lightweight But Air Flow Is Not Great...
    I purchased the Solano Turbo Ultra Lite after reading the reviews. I did not want a dryer that had the switches on the side and most of them come that way. I realize that they are designed for hair stylists and it makes more sense for them to have them on the side but for my personal use, I wanted them under the nozzle where I was used to having them. That is why I purchased the Solano Turbo Ultra Lite.

    The things I like about the dryer are the weight, the design and how my hair looks afterwards. It actually looks healthier. I don't know about it having more volume but I love that it looks healthier.

    What I don't like about the dryer? The speed of the air flow. I realized that it was a 1700 watt dryer before I purchased it but I didn't think there would be such a huge difference in air flow. I have normal hair (not too thick or thin) but I have a lot of it. And this dryer was not really meant for me. My drying time has actually increased. Not by much, but it still did increase.

    So I am torn as to whether or not I should keep it. I have had it almost 3 weeks so I have to decide soon. I am guessing I will return it but I just dread looking for a new one.

    My advice - if you have normal or thin hair, including a normal amount, this would be a great dryer. If you have thick hair or lots of it, keep looking.
    5 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 28, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Light Weight
    I have been using the Solano hair dryer for years. It has never failed me. However, as I am getting older, the regular hair dryer is starting to get heavy for me and my arms get tired. My hairdresser told me that Solano now makes a lightweight dryer so I was right on it. I first bought the Solano Lite but it was still a little heavy. Then I discovered the Solano Ultra Lite so I exchanged the one I had for the Ultra Lite. It is much better in weight which was my primary concern. I don't see any difference in the drying process. The Ultra Lite dries as good as my old one. The only problem I had was that the switfches are now located inside the handle instead of on the side so it is taking some getting used to in my grip of the handle. Otherwise, I am very pleased.
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 27, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Light Brown
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Love It!
    First I'd like to say this site was awesome to buy from. It was on my doorstep 1 day after putting in my order. It is much less noisy and lightweight compared to my other dryers and doesn't have real high heat or power which in my case is a good thing. I have fine hair, but a lot of it and like it long so I try to keep it as healthy as possible. My other dryers were hard to get the bends in hair straight, and I'd end up with a frizzy hair unless I used a flat iron which I swore off a long time ago due to damage. This makes my hair silky smooth, and I use the nozzle to protect the hair. I love it! My hair feels like I used a flat iron (which is the look I want) with just a simple blow dry.
    3 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 21, 2012
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name