Shop Sedu
CHI

CHI Rocket Professional Hair Dryer

162 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
Utilizing the latest in Advanced American Technology, the CHI Rocket Hair Dryer is a lightweight quiet dryer, enhanced with ceramic, ionic technology.
$303.00
$189.95
Save 37% + Free Shipping
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 162 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • CHI Rocket Professional Hair Dryer (162)
Show All 162 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • North Carolina
    Hair
    Curly Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Great At First
    This hair dryer is great for thick curly hair but after a little over a year, the motor smells burt and smokes...I threw it out because I was afraid it would catch on fire, that is how burnt and hot the piece got, also was making weird noises. This happened on both of my Rockets and now I am going to look at buying a T3
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 11, 2009
    Link to this post
  • Philadelphia Pa
    5 Star Rating
    my plug blew on this of course it was a year and a half later so the warranty was just up. i sent it back to CHI and they sent me a new one but i had to paid repair and shipping cost which was like $50 buck but well worth it when im trying to blow dry clients hair quick with great results! if you buy it in a professional store you can bring it back to where you bought it if its before the year warranty is up and they will give you a new one right there.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 28, 2009
    Link to this post
  • AL
    5 Star Rating
    Great Dryer
    This dryer is great for medium to long thick hair. If you have shorter thin hair the 1300 watt dryer is better, as this dryer can burn you if your not careful. Ive had rocket for 4 or 5 years. The only problem Ive had is the "plastic pieces" on the side falling into the dryer, as described in a previous review. But that only occurred in the last month. I handle my dryer with care. I resolved the problem by placing duct tape over the hole, works just like new. In any case, Ive got my moneys worth out of it, and wouldnt think twice about buying another. Say good bye to using a flat iron again, unless you want curls.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 2, 2009
    Link to this post
  • Florida
    4 Star Rating
    Great Dryer, But Breaks Easily
    I had this dryer for a little over year. I am pretty rough on my dryers and tend to drop them often. With one drop, this dryers fan stopped working and started blowing smoke. I was able to fix it a few times until it completely died. Other than that, the dryer works great. It blows really hot air and you can definitely tell a difference between it and a drug store blow dryer. I would recommend this dryer, but take good care of it otherwise it wont last long!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 19, 2009
    Link to this post
  • New York City
    4 Star Rating
    Great Results.... At First
    This was a great blow dryer when I first got it. It worked wonders on my curly frizzy hair, and people noticed the difference! I would have friends coming over just to use it sometimes too. Anyway, I am sad to say that it did not last. It started acting funny after a year- it made weird noises and smelled burnt. My hair wasnt coming out the same either. It actually broke just this morning, and Ive only had it for about a year and a half. I think all Chi products are wonderful, but just brake after a short while. Same scenario with my Chi flat iron. Oh well. I guess its up to you, if you want a great hair tool, go with the Chi, but just keep in mind that you will probably have to buy another one in a year or two.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 12, 2009
    Link to this post
  • St.Louis MO
    3 Star Rating
    Bad Quality But Good While It Lasts
    i loved this hair dryer, that lasted for about a year, the other day it burned, while i was working on a clients hair. i think they do that on purpose so that we can buy new ones.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 3, 2009
    Link to this post
  • Las Vegas, NV
    4 Star Rating
    This Blow Dryer Blew Up On Me.
    Ive had this blow dryer for 4 years and loved the way it works on my soft wavy dry end hair. My hair is long and layered so when I used it, it gave it a more sleeker, sexier and healthier look in less time. But, just last week, I did my hair and the blow dryer blew up in my hand leaving ash marks on my haind. The dryer itself shot out sparks and the cord blew up and burned and ripped the end of the cord from the dryer. I was very disapointed because I never had this happen to me. I was a user of the salano and hated it. I have gone thru so many cheap dryers at target but never expect this from a very pricy dryer. I have read many reviews on this product and people have notice the same situation as I did. But by far this blow dryer did give me many compliments on my hair and gave the look I wanted for a layer hair, wether it was flipped out or straighted it served its purpose. Now, I am unsure if I want to purchace another chi rocket or go for a new dryer. I am debating on the Bio ionic or the FHI Nano pro.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 25, 2009
    Link to this post
  • 1 Star Rating
    Ugh!
    So this is the first chi blowdryer i have bought and less than a year later it started making a wining noise and the whenever the cord would move it would turn on and off. I am so dissapointed that i spent that much money on a blowdryer when it didnt even last. two other girls at my salon have the same one and bought theres after mine and theres have already broken too! i wont ever buy a chi again!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 18, 2009
    Link to this post
  • Ohio
    1 Star Rating
    Not Worth It
    I received the Chi blowdryer as a birthday gift...I requested it because I have the Chi flat iron--which is decent. Anyway, I liked that it was quiet and fit nicely in my hand, but it never dried my hair any better than cheaper blow dryers. THEN, 7 months later, the heating coil stopped working and now it only blows cold air. Ive read here and on other sites that many of you have had the same problem. I think a dryer that costs more than $100 should last longer than 1/2 a year (no matter how often you use it).
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 19, 2009
    Link to this post
  • Tucson
    5 Star Rating
    Best Hair Dyer
    This is the fastest, hotest, hairdryer. I cant use anyting else. I have had mine for one year, and use it 4 days a week on clients. The local beauty supply charges 189.00, so this is a great price. Wish I had bought mine here.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 6, 2009
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name