Free Shipping Over $50
CHI

CHI Rocket Professional Hair Dryer

161 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
Utilizing the latest in Advanced American Technology, the CHI Rocket Hair Dryer is a lightweight quiet dryer, enhanced with ceramic, ionic technology.
$303.00
$189.95
Save 37% + Free Shipping
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 161 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • CHI Rocket Professional Hair Dryer (161)
Show All 161 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Rhode Island
    Hair
    Blonde
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Best Hair Dryer Out There
    I knew what to expect because my stylist has used this hair dryer for years. I've owned many from Baby Bliss to Croc and this one is by far the best. It even blows away other Chi dryers. It is the quietest dryer out there and although it only has two settings, that is really all you need. Drying time is cut way down & my hair feels softer when I'm done than with other dryers. Well worth the money.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 12, 2014
    Link to this post
  • CA
    Hair
    Auburn
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Relaxed Hair
    5 Star Rating
    7 (or 8?) Years And Counting
    I bought this on the recommendation of my stylist in either 2006 or 2007. She had recommended less expensive options, like a Babyliss. But, one day I checked on this one and the price had magically gone down from $300 to $100 and I snagged it. At the time, I used it 3x/week, with a Chi Turbo flat iron, to replicate her results. I am biracial, with mostly kinky coily hair in the back, coarse wavy on top, super thick at the crown, and every combination of smooth/fine/straight/kinky/curly scattered throughout. With the right products (Avlon/Affirm lye relaxer and accompanying products, Keracare wrap lotion, Salerm protein shampoo and balsam conditioner, Alterna hemp straightening balm, Biosilk, and Morrocan oil on non-styling mornings and every night before bed), my hair feels moisturized, soft, strong, healthy and is manageable.

    I've tried other dryers and flat irons before and since, but my hair felt like straw. The flat irons were especially bad, my hair would look great the first day, but the second day, the ends were ratty, tangled, dry and frayed. This dryer really does seal in moisture, I swear by it. I use it with the comb attachment when I'm lazy, but it works best with a concentrator and round, boar bristle brush to smooth the hair. Also, it's best to wrap your hair in a Turbie Twist and do other things for 20-60 minutes, rather than dry from dripping wet. That step cuts down on heat damage and time, can't beat that!

    Oh yeah, I've dropped this thing half a dozen times at least and the gray rubber around the motor had fallen out. I've popped it back together and it works fine. I heard similar complaints about Chi flat irons going out after the year warranty was up, but mine is still going strong and works better than every other flat iron and it's 7-8 years old. Guess I got lucky twice. I have tried to replace the flat iron several times, just in case it dies, but nothing works as well. When my hair started getting past my shoulders and the texture changed, I had a lot of problems with tangling and uneven relaxing, so I started to use the Sally's ION fusion before neutralizing my relaxer (like Japanese hair straightening or Brazilian blowout). It's not for everyone, but I was losing so much hair because of the tangles and knots, I was desperate. Other than that, the Chi dryer and flat iron combination have been my go-to since 2005 (stylist) and 2006/7 (at home).

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 9, 2014
    Link to this post
  • California
    Hair
    Black
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Chi Rocket Hair Dryer Is The Best
    it is the best & effective time Savior hair dryer ever. It worth every penny. I suggest for African American or overly curly hair it work best .
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 18, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Florida
    5 Star Rating
    Great Product!!!
    I am a professional stylist...17yrs in the business, and I love the chi hairdryers. Their basic model is great, but lacked the power that the rocket possesses. They all held up fairly well with daily use, but the cords always blew out due to getting twisted from use. I wish their was a dryer with a swivel. New models of dryers that i've purchased look great, and are smaller and more compact, but lacked the heat output of the rocket...still searching for the next best thing.
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 14, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Blonde
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    The Best!
    I'm a hairdresser and I love this blowdryer. I have used this model for years. It's lightweight and dries the thickest hair so much faster than anything else that I've tried. Thank goodness for Folica selling only genuine Chi products. I bought one from Drugstore.com and it was a fake. The barrel was not made of the same material as the Chi and got hot to the touch after the dryer had been running a minute. The Chi stays cool. The Chi also lasts forever! By the way, Drugstore.com never gave me a refund on the fake Chi that I returned eventhough it was sent back within a week. Thank you Folica for selling genuine Chi products. Your price is lower than I would have to pay at the supply house.
    9 out of 9 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 25, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Western Washington
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    I Love This Dryer!
    I inherited a special edition CHI dryer from my stylist- she used it for 3+ years every day on her clients and it had finally kicked the bucket. My husband knows how to fix things like that so she gave it to me to see if I could get it working and keep it. I brought it home and out of curiosity plugged it in and it worked! It worked great- I was stoked. I used it for another 3 years, and still have it- it still works. The piece that holds the fan in place is breaking, so I knew if I continued to use it all the time it would go so I order the CHI Rocket. OMG- the other dryer was wonderful, this one dries even quicker! I have super thick hair and before the CHI dryers it took forever! Its not drying, it doesn't make my hair frizzy, its the best. I've had it for just over a year now, I wanted to wait to ensure it lasted. Out of curiosity on the last one I called up customer service at CHI about their warranty, I don't know if this is still the same, but even if you've had the dryer for a few years, if it stops working you can send it to them with a check for $35 for shipping, they will try to repair your dryer, if they can they'll fix & ship it back, if not they'll send you a brand-new basic CHI dryer- either way you're back in business for $35, much cheaper than buying a new one. I love these dryers!
    10 out of 12 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 17, 2011
    Link to this post
  • DC
    1 Star Rating
    Great Dryer But Dies With A Few Months Use.
    My second CHI rocket dryer died after using it for less than 3 months. Just can't justify spending another $200 on such a horribly made dryer!
    6 out of 8 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 6, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Grey
    Normal Hair
    Oily Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Great Quality - Made In America
    Quiet, powerful, balanced feel, easy to hold.
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 29, 2011
    Link to this post
  • 2 Star Rating
    Disappointing
    I regret buying this dryer. It only has two heat settings and they are both too hot!! It's not quiet, and given the price, a big disappointment.
    2 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 29, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Great But Inconsistent
    I loved my CHI rocket so much that I bought a second one just like it to keep my in RV. Wouldn't you know it the second one blew up after 3 months? I surmise that this dryer is great when it works, but there are troubling flaws in the manufacturing process, so that you sometimes get a dud. If you can lose $150 without major stress it is worth the gamble. It's a wonderful dryer for my VERY curly red Irish hair.
    5 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 21, 2010
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
  • Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with Moroccan Argan Oil Best of Folica

    Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with Moroccan Argan Oil

    Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with pure Moroccan Argan Oil protects from heat damage, leaves hair incredibly smooth and shiny and controls frizz. Similar to Moroccanoil, it contains Argan Oil which is produced from the kernels of the argan tree, found in Morocco. Argan Oil is extraordinarily rich in things like natural tocopherols and vitamin E.

    293 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $50.00 New Price: $37.00
  • Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4") Best of Folica

    Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4")

    The Solia 1-1/4 flat iron features the Dynamic Alignment System to ensure perfect contact between your hair and the plates which gives even heat distribution for true silky straight hair. 

    5,542 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    New Price: $79.99 - $89.99
    Free Shipping
  • Solia 1875W Thermal Ionic Hair Dryer Best of Folica

    Solia 1875W Thermal Ionic Hair Dryer

    The latest in advanced Italian Hair Dryer Technology. Solia Thermal Ionic 1875W dryer produces millions of negative ions to make hair healthier and shinier.

    815 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $159.95 New Price: $89.99
    Free Shipping
  • CHI 44 Iron Guard Thermal Protection Spray  8.5 oz.

    CHI 44 Iron Guard Thermal Protection Spray 8.5 oz.

    CHI 44 Iron Guard Thermal Protection Spray gives you superior heat protection for your hair.

    187 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    New Price: $14.50
  • Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Ionic Styling Iron 1 Best of Folica

    Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Ionic Styling Iron 1

    Winner of 2013 ALLURE Magazine's Best Of Beauty Flat Iron! Sedu Revolution Styling Iron features revolutionary technologies that allow you to create any hairstyle imaginable with half of the time and virtually no damage. Sedu Revolution's Ultra Smooth 1 inch plates leave your hair shiny and healthy. Includes 2 year warranty and free heat proof mat/pouch.

    1,049 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $200.00 New Price: $159.99
    Free Shipping
Server Name