Free Shipping Over $50
Emjoi

Emjoi Optima Dual Opposed Epilator

The ultimate in hair removal. Removes more hair, more efficiently with maximum comfort.
$149.95
$99.95
Save 33% + Free Shipping
Out of Stock
 

Reviews

Based on 52 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Emjoi Optima Dual Opposed Epilator (52)
Show All 52 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • South Carolina
    5 Star Rating
    The Best Hair Removal Product Ive Ever Used
    I am 30 years old and my father is African-American and my mother is Asian Indian. I have hair on every single part of my body.Ive been shaving since i started running track in the 6th grade and my hair just got thicker and thicker. When I turned 18, I started waxing my face to cut back on embarrassment and shaving my legs every day. Ive even been stuck wearing pants almost all summer due to time limitations. I started looking into laser hair removal because my father wanted me to be presentable when on television shows. When i started doing my hair removal homework, Ads for the Emjoi optima kept popping up. Everyone always told me epilators hurt like hell. After reading a few reviews on how the product helped or hurt other people i said let me give it a try, it couldnt be worse than waxing. I got it and followed the directions and it was a little painful at first but after i got the hang of it, it was very relaxing and almost addictive. I DONT HAVE ANYTHING BAD TO SAY ABOUT MY EMJOI. I CAN ALREADY SEE MY DAUGHTER IS GOING TO HAVE THE SAME ISSUE AND WHEN IT COMES TIME I WILL BE GETTING HER HER OWN EMJOI OPTIMA
    5 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 9, 2009
    Link to this post
  • California
    2 Star Rating
    Longtime User Changing Brands
    I am on my 3rd Emjoi Optima and now that this one is also broken I am giving up and looking to a more durable alternative. As others have reported the gears give up within one year if used regularly. Additionally, they lock up during use and plug easily and are difficult to clean. The unit IS difficult to get into tight spots. I have tried contacting emjoi to sell me replacement head units as the motors still work fine...no reply...even when the product failed during the warranty period. The unit is MUCH slower than shaving, and I am willing to live with that, but it seems to me that there has to be a quicker solution. My rapid hair growth means that I am pretty much epliating every other day and it is very time consuming. Perhaps a unit with additional "tweezers" would be faster.Epilating overall is the only solution for me, but this unit is lacking in a lot of areas.
    5 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 5, 2008
    Link to this post
  • Santa Rosa, CA
    5 Star Rating
    Works Great
    I have used other products with little success. One with electric pads to kill the roots, and one with a soft wax that was messy and left a lot of hairs behind. This was easy, and removed even the smallest and finest hairs.
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 14, 2008
    Link to this post
  • San Francisco, CA
    4 Star Rating
    It Works
    I bought this to use on my bikini area. I did however try it on my legs and since I have never done anything but shave them it hurt like mad. But, on my bikini area which I usually get waxed it was a breeze. No pain and super easy to use. I also tried it on my arm pit, the head of the Emojoi is too big fo rhtis area and I was unable to get a good angle which caused it to pinch the skin-not good. Also dont try and use this on your face, way too big and harsh.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 26, 2008
    Link to this post
  • New York
    5 Star Rating
    Emjoi Is Best
    This product is wonderful. It really worked for me and can work for you too!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 6, 2008
    Link to this post
  • CA
    4 Star Rating
    As Good As It Gets...
    First of all, Id like to say that this is an above par product. Regardless of the complaints and whinning, it is what it is: a bunch of tweezers running fast and plucking your hairs, of course itll hurt! However, like your first time waxing, it will take some time to getting used to. It will last longer than shaving or waxing - I dont grow a lot of body hair, but I prefer this method over any other.Pros: Lasts a long time, its smooth, no burns, no real hassles, efficient and hairs grow thinner.cons: It hurts, and the TIME KILLS me - thats why I gave it four stars.All in all, for those of you who saw after-effects, you werent using it correctly. If you break out after having the hairs plucked its because you didnt take care of your PORES!! You HAVE to wash (I usually take a shower afterwards), and because hot water OPENS your pores, I get a small hand-towel, wrap an ice cube and run it around the area. After I feel nice and cool, I apply lotion and Im not only HAIR-FREE for three weeks, but Im also baby-soft. My S.O. loves running his fingers all over my legs and thinks Im genetically blessed with beautiful skin.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 21, 2007
    Link to this post
  • Danville, California
    5 Star Rating
    Love It!
    This is my 3rd Emjoi. The 1st two wore out from too many drops in my travels. The double row is much faster and covers more skin in one pass than the single row. I love the sleek feel on my legs and underarms. I will never go back to shaving! My skin is always smooth, even though I use the Emjoi less than once a week. It is easy, fast, and painless. There is a sensation of pulling but you get used to it quickly. It doesnt hurt like the first generation of epilators. Definitely worth the price!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 24, 2007
    Link to this post
  • Houston
    3 Star Rating
    If You Can Stand The Pain...
    Ive had two different types of epilators, one with the single row of tweezers, and this one with the two rows of tweezers. No matter how they line up, they both hurt when using them. I thought the double row would be more effective and less painful than the single row, but it seemed slower, less effective, and more painful. This is because the tweezers are spaced further apart and seem to be less accurate at grabbing hair. I was able to use the epilators all over (legs, arms, under arms, and bikini area) for more than a hear and a half of regular use. This is cleaner than waxing, and the effects last longer than shaving, but it takes a long time to try and epilate everything at the same time. Not to mention, it seems to hurt more after using it for a certain period of time, say... after an hour and a half. Also, it might just be me, but after prolonged regular use, I seem to be more sensitive to it. Ive waxed my own legs and bikini area, and waxing doesnt hurt as much as epilating. Waxing is also much faster, but then again, you have that mess. So, if you can stand the pain, this is a great product.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 8, 2007
    Link to this post
  • San Fransisco
    1 Star Rating
    Gave Me The Worst Breakout Of My Life!
    This tweezer is a piece of junk! Not only is it horribly painful, but it makes you break out after using it! I used it on my chin to test it out, and I have terrible acne. It turned my clear skin into what now looks like leprosy! I am very upset and I totally wasted my money... beware!!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 11, 2007
    Link to this post
  • 5 Star Rating
    Great Alternative To Brazilian
    I bought this as an alternative to my monthly brazilian wax. It worked wonderfully - I was very pleased with the results. I have tried to wax myself down there but it is just too messy and time consuming. This was quick, neat, and didnt hurt anymore than getting waxed. It paid for itself with one use!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 18, 2007
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
Server Name