Shop Sedu
SPORNETTE

Spornette 25 Porcupine Oval Boar Bristle Brush

Spornette 25 Porcupine Oval Boar Bristle Brush is a natural wood handle reinforced boar bristle brush with long stiff nylon porcupine bristles for deep penetrat...
$17.99
$12.99
Save 28%
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 45 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Spornette 25 Porcupine Oval Boar Bristle Brush (45)
Show All 45 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • United States
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Good, Medium-sized Brush.
    What drew me into this brush is the fact that it's a mix of bristles to soften (porcupine bristles) the hair and can penetrate (nylon bristles) curly/kinky hair textures. I love too how I can feel the nylon bristles on my scalp; it's not too soft or too rough in texture; juuuuust right.

    I do know that after brushing my hair, it feels less tangled and the texture feels a bit softer/silkier; however, I have dry hair that is never naturally greasy, so I can't say that I notice scalp oils being distributed throughout my hair.

    As an FYI, I am of mixed race (Black/White) with 3B-3C curls, fine, dry, soft hair. My hair is long (about 6 inches down my back when straight), but I'm still keeping an eye out to see if the brush lends to any breakage, as my hair tends to break easily. So far, the strands that come out are mostly long with dead roots, so it seems to be a good investment. I've had my brush for a week now.

    NOTE: I would never use this brush on my dry curly hair, especially with no product in it. I use it on blow-dried or flat ironed hair with at least a keratin leave-in (Dieci by La Brasiliana); eliminating the curls means that the bristles are less likely to get caught in my hair. If my hair was wet and with product, then maybe I'd consider just brushing the surface of my hair, but I just don't trust brushing/combing dry curls like mine, as it's a recipe for a rough ride and instant breakage.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 4, 2011
    Link to this post
  • 5 Star Rating
    Great Brush
    Dear L, That wasn't a missing tuft. The brush is designed to have an air hole so that the rubber base that holds the bristles can move in and out as you brush your hair for a cushier stroke. Please don't view that as a defect, it's a design feature. ;-)
    6 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 4, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Black
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Expected More
    The quality of this brush was ok, however I didn't feel that it penetrated my African-American non-chemically treated soft medium thick and curly hair. The reviews that were given gave me hope but it didn't deliver.
    5 out of 8 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 15, 2011
    Link to this post
  • 5 Star Rating
    Ahh! Love It!
    I'll be honest, the only reason I bought this was so I'd reach the 100.00 mark and get my free straightener... but had I known I could love a hairbrush so much, I would have ordered more than one! A little irked by the fact that when i got it, one group of bristles was already gone (grrr....) but i didn't even care anymore once i used it. It feels like someone with really long fingernails is massaging your scalp when you use it... and it makes your hair look and feel incredibly soft and gorgeous! I've always been obsessed with trying new hair irons, curlers... but always thought "a brush is a brush"... wrong!
    5 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 1, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Virginia
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Best Little Brush!
    I love this little brush! I use it on my dry hair and it goes through so smoothly without snagging and it's just the right size to throw in my purse if I want to take it with me to work. It leaves my hair looking smooth and shiny and I just love it! I plan to get another couple to have around because my husband and daughter have a tendency to take my brushes.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 15, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Great Brush For Great Price
    I have trouble with fly aways and this brush helps. It leaves my hair feeling soft.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 25, 2011
    Link to this post
  • 5 Star Rating
    This Brush Rocks!!!
    Great with my VERY long, thick, and super baby fine hair :) Maybe 3 pieces on the floor after. Just amazing. Gentle, does the job, makes my hair look great, and healthier by moving natural oil towards ends.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 7, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Arizona
    Hair
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Great Hairbrush
    I've had many of these brushes over the years and still like it. Gets through my thick hair with less breakage or static as brushes made with hard plastic. Always got them from Sally's but they no longer carry them. Glad to find them at Folica at a reasonable price.
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 2, 2011
    Link to this post
  • New York, NY
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Wondeful
    I love this brush works great.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 21, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Philadelphia
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Everything I Was Looking For.
    The title says it all. It's a decent sized, very sturdy, aesthetically pleasing, and it gets out my tangles. I love that it has boar bristles to keep damage to a minimum.

    My go-to brush.
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 18, 2011
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name