Steal Of The Day PINK50
MONROE Brush

Monroe Bravado

Monroe Bravado is made for straightening for any hair type, especially very curly hair. BRAVADO has 70% Boar bristle First Cut, 30% nylon bristles with a therma...
$16.20 - $29.70
Out of Stock
 

Reviews

Based on 8 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
Show All 8 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Hair
    Black
    Curly Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Not The Best For Straightening
    I've got 3c/4a naturally curly hair and needed a brush for straightening. I was torn between this brush and the Latina Envy and ultimately ended up buying this one first (bought the Envy later). This brush always left my hair poofy-frizzy; the Latina Envy is much better for straightening. If you plan to flat iron afterwards, the Bravado will work.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 13, 2013
    Link to this post
  • New York
    5 Star Rating
    Monroe Brushes Worththeir Weight In Gold
    As a stylist for almost thirty years, I can't begin to tell you the number of brushes I have used throughout my career. Monroe Brushes are one of the best. They straighten, smooth, and polish the cuticle to a glass like finish. The trick is to use the correct brush for each specific purpose. Every Monroe brush is not meant for every type of hair, nor is every Monroe brush used for the same purpose. For a lay person, they do take some time to learn to use properly, but for the professional, they are worth their weight in gold.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 20, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Flushing, NY
    Hair
    Auburn
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    1 Star Rating
    Not What I Expected
    I got this brush because the Latina Envy was out of stock, and this one seemed similar enough. I guess I should have realized it would not be based on the small number of reviews this one has gotten compared to the Latina. I decided to use this brush along with the new blow dryer I ordered, and almost decided to return the blower because the results were so bad. I have dry, fragile, curly hair. Once I began blow drying my hair, the brush seemed ok, it gripped my hair well. As soon as my har began to dry (and get smoother), the brush wouldn't grip my hair anymore. This led to frizzy, not quite dry hair. On top of this, it was taking forever to get my hair anywhere near dry. Midway through, I decided to go back to my old beat up Conair round brush, and lo and behold, the results were amazing. I decided to return the brush and keep the blower. I called customer service and was told that they do not usually return brushes, but they would do it this time. I just hope this is processed in time to get a Latina before they're out of stock again! Apparently on the returns and exchanges page, it says no returns on brushes. I was slightly annoyed because they plaster their great and easy return policy all over the website.
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 17, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    2 Star Rating
    This Brush Caused Static Electricity
    No. My hair was full of static electricity half way through styling. I had to go back to my old brush. I thought I was buying natural bristles - but this brush has nylon or plastic bristles mixed in with natural ones.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 6, 2010
    Link to this post
  • CNY
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Perfect Brush
    I think I love this brush. It doesn't burn or frizz my hair. It leaves my hair feeling soft and natural, not at all "flat ironed." It is very gentle, but it holds lots of hair. Because the barrel is made of wood, it doesn't get overheated or burn your hair; the long, foam covered handle is very easy to control. My hair dries just as quickly with this brush as with the tourmaline-ion brushes I have used in the past, and the bristles do not scratch my scalp. I use it to straighten my very curly hair and turn the ends under, and it works perfectly.
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 2, 2010
    Link to this post
  • New York
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Normal Hair
    5 Star Rating
    My New Go To Brush!
    I was recently given the 2" or 25mm Monroe Bravado brush to test out at home. As a merchant at Folica.com this is one of my very favorite responsibilities!

    I have a natural wave to my hair therefore usually use some type of straightening brush while blowing drying. This brush gave me full control of my hair leaving my hair smooth, shinny and straight. It is light weight and comfortable to hold. The bristles easily glided through my hair. The 2" or 25mm was the perfect size for me to create a slight curl toward the ends of the hair. This brush has become my go to brush!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 21, 2010
    Link to this post
  • 0
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Full, Smooth, & Shiny Hair-- Two Types Of Bristles Makes A Perfect Hairbrush
    A VIP Reviewer often receives several things at a time. It's saying something that THIS was the first thing I pulled from the box, impressed with the mix of soft boar's hair and stronger nylon bristles. The Monroe Bravado brush zips through the hair and invigorates the scalp. I had no trouble with knots or tangles, it doesn't seem to stretch damp hair (although I can't recommend it for wet hair, of course), and it offers gentle styling control. Even the handle is just right, with a soft and slightly spongy grip over a hardwood core. it's a well-made brush, and the large head glides right through your hair, even after a long day give you your usual tangles.

    Don't brush hard against your scalp, just brush through lightly, and you'll feel like you've received a scalp massage. I've used this every day, as often as I've found an excuse to brush my hair, and in spite of the fact that I already have good brushes, including one made entirely of boar's bristles, this has become my favorite. It'll pull the natural oils toward the ends of your hair, but the nylon bristles lift your hair, adding fullness and body. I'd give it six stars, if I could.
    2 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 19, 2010
    Link to this post
  • 0
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Full, Smooth, & Shiny Hair-- Two Types Of Bristles Makes A Perfect Hairbrush
    A VIP Reviewer often receives several things at a time. It's saying something that THIS was the first thing I pulled from the box, impressed with the mix of soft boar's hair and stronger nylon bristles. The Monroe Bravado brush zips through the hair and invigorates the scalp. I had no trouble with knots or tangles, it doesn't seem to stretch damp hair (although I can't recommend it for wet hair, of course), and it offers gentle styling control. Even the handle is just right, with a soft and slightly spongy grip over a hardwood core. it's a well-made brush, and the large head glides right through your hair, even after a long day give you your usual tangles.

    Don't brush hard against your scalp, just brush through lightly, and you'll feel like you've received a scalp massage. I've used this every day, as often as I've found an excuse to brush my hair, and in spite of the fact that I already have good brushes, including one made entirely of boar's bristles, this has become my favorite. It'll pull the natural oils toward the ends of your hair, but the nylon bristles lift your hair, adding fullness and body. I'd give it six stars, if I could.
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 19, 2010
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name