Free Shipping Over $50
DENMAN

DENMAN Grooming Brush with Natural Bristle & Nylon Pins

The oval shaped DENMAN Grooming Brush features a single nylon quill surrounded by tufts of natural boar bristle, perfect for smoothing.
$11.99 - $15.99
Out of Stock
 

Reviews

Based on 60 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • DENMAN Grooming Brush with Natural Bristle & Nylon Pins (60)
Show All 60 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • United States
    Hair
    Black
    Normal Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Not For Use On Extremely Thick Dense Hair!
    As the title implies I have a thick head of hair, so dense and thick that it would almost be considered fur. I really wanted to try out a boar bristle brush since I am convinced that it's much better for your hair than plastic brushes, so I ordered the largest size brush for my hair type. The product shipped and delivered quickly. I've had the brush for about a month and it has no dents, scratches, missing pins, etc.
    After the first use my hair got all static-y, but subsequent trials showed that that wasn't the case. But then I kept using it and realized that the brush still causes static sometimes. And then the dreaded feeling that the brush isn't penetrating through my locks enough to do any detangling. I wish I bought the Denman nylon bristle paddle brush, but I will continue to use this natural brush after detangling my hair with another brush. I'm not that disappointed but really if you have a similar hair situation as me this isn't the brush for you, especially considering the price.
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 27, 2012
    Link to this post
  • United States
    Hair
    Black
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Not For Thick Hair
    I initially bought this in medium because I don't want to pay the high price tag of Mason Pearson. Medium is a good size 8 3/8 x 2 3/8 compared to MP handy which is 8 1/2 by 2 1/2. This has more boar bristle than MP however it barely touches my scalp. I have medium strand hair and medium thickness, wavy and reaches 2 inches below shoulder blade. The nylon bristles both Denman and MP are gentle to the scalp ( MP more gentle than Denman ) compared to the Spornette Luxury Cushion that I have that has a stiffer nylon and more scratchy to the scalp. This one would not quite reach my scalp so I ended up ordering the MP handy mixed bristles that penetrate my hair very well. If you have really thick hair and MP mixed brittle is not enough for you but you still want a brush with boar brittles Spornette Luxury Cushion would be your perfect choice. Spornette Luxury Cushion looks more identical to MP ( amount of bristle ) than Denman to MP. Denman has identical handle with MP but contains more bristles than MP. If you have sensitive scalp you might not like the Spornette brush. If you are on a budget Denman and Spornette are good brushes. If you have money to spare I will get MP. You will actually feel the difference of MP compared to other brushes.
    13 out of 13 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 12, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Illinois
    Hair
    Blonde
    Normal Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Brush
    Good product and price. Shipping a little high.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 31, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Fernandina Beach, FL
    5 Star Rating
    Everything A Fine Grooming Brush Should Be
    For decades I used the French-made Jean-Pierre Prestige model hairbrush, both in nylon and in natural boar bristle. These classic brushes were the best available. All brushes wear out sooner or later, as was the last of my Jean-Pierre. I replaced it with a Denman D81L, the combination nylon-boar bristle brush. It is every bit as good, in every way there is, as any Jean-Pierre brush I ever owned. Indeed, I can not think readily of any specific way in which the Denman could be improved. Moreover, the cost of this fine brush is far less today than the cost of a Jean-Pierre Prestige model was 30 years ago. I fully expect many years of fine use from this excellent brush.

    In passing, I will add the folica.com representative with whom I spoke when placing my order was knowledgeable, courteous, friendly and helpful in every meaningful sense.
    8 out of 8 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 7, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Black
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    1 Star Rating
    Ouch!
    I liked the pocket size. Denman is a pretty good solid brush, unfortunately this model didn't work out for me. The nylon bristles were "pokey" and hurt my scalp (as compared to a MP which I own in a bigger size). I clipped off the nylon bristles with a nail clipper but it was still sharp and hurt my scalp. So I guess it must the kind of nylon bristles that is being used in the brush. The hairbrush itself doesn't feel as good as the MP so I have purchased a pocket MP instead which I am sure will go for the long haul for as pricey as it is. Denman does make good hairbrushes except for this model. Hopefully, they modify this model.
    4 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 22, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Big Point, MS
    Hair
    Blonde
    Normal Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Perfect Size
    I had previously bought the regular size of this brush and loved it. This smaller size fits great in my handbag and doesn't take up too much room.
    Works great for the small size.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 15, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Cambridge, MA
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Great Sub For Mp
    Usually I finger comb and fluff my baby fine hair to keep my waves wavy, so I don't use brushes much, but it is nice to have a natural bristle brush to distribute oils throughout the hair. I bought the small size so as to be able to travel with it more easily. I had a medium Mason Pearson boar + nylon bristle brush for 20+ years all through childhood and into my adulthood, and used it until part of the frame/handle broke in a move. The nylon bristles on this Denman brush are a tad sharp so I make my stroke gentler to compensate. I agree with those who find this to be a good quality and affordable substitute for the much pricier MP.
    5 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 14, 2012
    Link to this post
  • NJ
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Awesome Brush
    I wanted something for my 3 year old that would get down to the scalp but not hurt her head either. It's great & she doesn't complain. I don't even have to use detangler anymore for her! I may buy the larger one for myself since my hair is too long for this small one!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 14, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Oily Hair
    Curly Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Love These Brushes!
    I ordered two of these brushes, one large for my long, medium-thick wavy/curly hair and one medium for my boyfriend's similar tangly mess!
    After using these for a few days, I'm completely impressed. I'm just so happy to have something that helps to distribute the oil at my scalp all the way to my ends! I think this brush is better than the all-bristle one because the nylon pins really get into your hair. I still have to brush under and over because they don't quite reach through all my hair, but I really feel so much better when I brush through my hair with this. This is my first fancy professional brush, and I'm totally in love. My boyfriend even likes it too, he says the pins feel like a head massage, and he's noticed that his hair is a lot softer. Thanks for great prices and customer service, Folica!
    4 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 13, 2012
    Link to this post
  • San Francisco
    Hair
    Light Brown
    Curly Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Perfect! Denman Large Grooming Brush W/natural Boar Bristle & Nylon Quills Mix
    Finally found my perfect brush!

    I used to have a brush that was 100% boar bristle, and I loved it, but sometimes it wouldn't penetrate through my hair to my scalp, even though my dark blonde+gray, frizzy+wavy, un-processed/un-colored hair is very fine and a little thin. I would have to use a comb or a styling brush first, and then use the 100% natural brush for smoothing & shining.

    Because I wanted a grooming brush that would not hurt to use, but still get all the way through my hair and onto my scalp, I recently tried a "Spornette" and a "Monroe Margeaux" brush. Both have a mix of natural bristles and nylon quills like this Denman, but both of them were too scratchy; the nylon bristles were too stiff and hurt my sensitive scalp. (They're both very nice brushes, but would work better for someone with a less sensitive scalp.)

    Now that I have my new Denman large grooming brush, my search is over. This brush is PERFECT. It picks up all my hair, doesn't pull, doesn't make static, and penetrates to the scalp, but not painfully. Its natural boar bristles distribute oils through the length of my hair beautifully, and the nylon bristles complement them perfectly to help "grab" hair and detangle & get down to the scalp.

    5 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 6, 2012
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
Server Name