Thanksgiving Sale use Code PIE25
X5 Superlite

X5 Superlite Travel Nano Tourmaline Ceramic Ionic Iron (1") - Dual Voltage

At only 7" long, the dual voltage X5 Superlite Travel Nano Tourmaline Ceramic Ionic Iron is your perfect travel hair straightener.
$60.00
$49.99
Save 17%
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 9 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
Show All 9 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Hair
    Blonde
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    A Must On International Travel
    Ordered it for my trip to Paris - and said a 1000 thanks! Don't worry, it WILL work on 220 voltage. You will need an adapter, which could be purchased at a RadioShack or at a major airport shops. There is no automated temperature regulator, thus, it will get very hot - with this purpose the glove is provided in the package. Don't discard it! I was pleased with the quality of this petite product.
    6 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 16, 2013
    Link to this post
  • TN
    Hair
    Blonde
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Works Well, Gets The Job Done!
    I purchased this item a little over one year ago as I travel all over the world for business. It heats up very quickly and straightens well. It is smaller than the palm of my hand and fits easily into any bag.

    The straightener is dual voltage and therefore compatible anywhere in the world. You will need an adapter plug if you plan to travel outside of the US though.

    It is very compact which means it takes a bit longer to straighten all over. Also, there is no tip on the end so be sure not to grab the iron or you will get burned.

    Overall, I would give this product 4 stars. It gets the job done and was well worth the price.
    5 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 12, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Chicago
    1 Star Rating
    Tiny And Did Not Work On My Hair!
    I have wavy, frizzy thick hair.... I normally use a Chi or Hai and needed a dual voltage iron for an upcoming trip. I bought this based on the good reviews and thought it was awful! I usually don't bother writing reviews for anything unless something is really great or really bad. The product did NOT get very hot.... after running it through my hair, my hair felt warm at best. It was also very difficult to squeeze the iron tight, thus you didn't feel like you were really ironing the hair. The end result was what I would expect from a $10 iron, not $60. And I knew going into it that it was mini, but figured a $60 mini iron would be equivalent to a $100+ regular iron.... there HAS to be a better dual voltage iron out there and I am determined to find it!
    21 out of 21 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 17, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Washington
    Hair
    Grey
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Lightweight & Compact
    Purchased this for a trip to Europe so have only tried it once to make sure it worked but it is lightweight and compact. I didn't realize there was only one setting. Not sure I would use the glove that was included, I thought the description meant a cover for the flat iron not my hand.
    7 out of 7 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 5, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Nyack, NY
    5 Star Rating
    Great With A Big Caveat!
    This rating comes with a caveat. I loved the iron. It's tiny and light and heats up fast. It worked in Europe with just a small adapter plug. I started using it everyday because it worked so well for my short, curly hair. However, two days ago, in the course of using it, the wire short-circuited and severed itself from the iron, perhaps from the heat. It flew out of my grasp and I burned the palm of my hand. I feel fortunate that I didn't suffer worse damage as it could have easily landed in my face. So, the question is: was this particular iron damaged OR is there a problem with the product? I don't know the answer. Just be careful!
    17 out of 19 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 30, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Los Angeles
    Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Did The Job, Happy I Spent The Money
    I bought the X5 for a recent trip to Europe. It worked perfectly, heated up nicely, and was adequate for my needs. It was easy to plug into all the adapters I brought, better than some other appliances I travel with that have complicated brick-like plugs.

    It's not a full iron, though. It works for me because I mostly need just a polish on the top layer of my hair. Even though it has no heat control, it was perfectly fine and I didn't really miss it. I never change the heat setting on my home hair iron anyway.

    Previously when I've traveled I've bought cheap hair irons at the local convenience store, but they never did the job right. So I sprung for this one and it was worth the money.

    It's small, though, I wouldn't recommend it for very long hair or if you have to really straighten every section. It's so small it also gets very hot where you need to hold it so you have to be careful not to burn yourself. The "heat glove" they package with the iron is a joke, don't count on that. Just be careful where you put your hand.
    13 out of 13 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 30, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Relaxed Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Great Results!
    This flat iron worked very well in Spain. I had no problems with it. It got hot enough to work with my curly hair. Please keep in mind that it is very small so that it works well with short hair and/or bangs.
    7 out of 7 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 8, 2010
    Link to this post
  • 5 Star Rating
    This Travel Iron Worked Great!
    I was very happy with this travel ceramic iron. It is small and does get hot fast. Traveling in Italy it worked great, just use an adapter, plug in and good to go. No coverter needed and not so powerful that it would make the power go off in a small hotel, like my hair dryer did! Very light weight, which is a must for travel. Very happy!
    11 out of 11 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 12, 2010
    Link to this post
  • San Francisco, CA
    5 Star Rating
    Small And Light But Very Powerful - Perfect For Everday Use And Travel
    I wanted to get a dual voltage straightener to replace the wet to dry Chi that I had owned before that you cannot use abroad (even with voltage converters). When I opened the box of this X5 superlite I was surprised at how small it is. It has a 1 inches wide iron but the length of the element of the iron is only 2.5 inches. I used it and was astonished about how well it worked despite its small size. My hair is relatively straight to begin with and I use straighteners to smooth it and make it stick straight. It heated up quickly and worked just as well as my Chi going through each section once (I even did half of my hair with each to compare). I have to split my hair up into a couple more sections due to the shorter length of the element (I have lots of hair that goes to my mid back). It only has an on and off switch - I never used to change the temp on my Chi - but this may be a deal breaker for others. I had originally thought of keeping both this and the Chi, but decided I'd give away my Chi since this smaller one works just as well and I don't need to switch irons while traveling. Another plus for traveling is that it does not have a big power adapter - it just has a regular plug.
    60 out of 61 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 27, 2009
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name