PlayTrickorTreat
THEORIE

Theorie SAGA Touch 1 1/2" Flat Iron

Theorie SAGA Touch 1 1/2" Flat Iron uses ionized technology to promote silkier and smoother hair.
$250.00
$175.00
Save 30% + Free Shipping
Out of Stock
 

Reviews

Based on 48 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Theorie SAGA Touch 1 1/2" Flat Iron (48)
Show All 48 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Hair
    Black
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Quality Flat Iron
    Even though I have done the Japanese straightening process before, I still need to use a flat iron to get a very sleek look especially since my hair is thick. I have seen the Theorie before and I was a little hesitant buying it since the minimum heat setting is 310 Fahrenheit (F). Unless the description on Folica has changed, the details state that the minimum temp is 320 F but this really isn't so.

    Anyway, I've been using another generic salon-quality flat iron for the past two years or so and while I got pretty good results, I thought it was time for a change and since the Theorie has a lifetime warranty, I figured I should go ahead and buy it.

    Overall, I'm very satisfied with my purchase. The Theorie heats up very quickly and manages to straighten my hair with a maximum of two passes at 310 F. With my previous iron it took a few more passes but it makes sense since I had it on a relatively low temp of 250 F. I was originally concerned that the extra heat could singe my hair but actually it doesn't get damaged at all. I still use a few products on my hair to give extra protection against the heat (as most people should probably do) but the iron definitely does a great job of straightening without frying the hair. My hair is also medium-length so it's nice that the whole process to get my hair straight takes very little time as well.

    If you have thick wavy hair then I would definitely recommend getting the Theorie. My tip would be to use this iron (or any iron really) on a lower setting to smooth out your hair while also using a LIGHT product or products to protect the hair. Unless you really like them, stay away from those heavy-hold sprays. I find that they really gunk up your hair and leaves it feeling stiff. In general I think most people who have wavy to thick or fine hair (regardless of texture) use too high a heat setting to straighten their hair and all they do aside from straightening is actually damage their hair. It's really unnecessary to go above 310 F although you could get away with a higher setting by 20 or 30 degrees but chances are you really don't need to.
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 7, 2013
    Link to this post
  • LA
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Wayyyyy Better Than I Could Have Imagined!
    When I purchased this at my salon last month I knew it was a good product. My stylist has been using this Theorie brand on my hair for over 6 months now and I always loved how shiny and smooth my hair looked afterwards. The thing I didn't realize is how much faster it get my hair done compared to my GHD I was using previously. I can pull this flat iron through the hair much more quickly and with just one pass with the same results of the GHD.
    This iron heats to 450 degrees in 7 seconds! No other iron I know of can do that and it maintains this temperature consistently throughout styling like this. Any that I know of anyway. Kudos Theorie for such a innovative product at a great price.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 1, 2013
    Link to this post
  • NJ
    Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Disappointment
    Really wanted to like this flat iron. Based off reviews I thought it was going to work great on my thick coarse natural hair. It did not. My sedu works ten times better. However I did like the packaging and the overall design of the flat iron but that is not enough for me to keep it. Definitely sent mine back and will just wait for the next great thing to debut because I really want to upgrade from my sedu.
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 16, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Massachusetts
    Hair
    Blonde
    Normal Hair
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Definitely Not Top 10
    I've purchased GHD and Chi straighteners in the past and figured I'd try something new, but in the few weeks I used this iron it made my hair so dry, frizzy and brittle. The results right after straightening were nice, but within the hour my hair looked like a mess. I have long, blonde wavy hair that isn't too difficult to work with, I use a straightener in the summer just to get it a little more sleek with the humidity, but this was just a disappointment!
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 15, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    So Glad I Made The Switch
    I've always used the $20-30 flat irons from Walmart and Ulta, but always ended up with frizzy, untamed hair that was never flat.

    This iron works miracles on my long, frizzy, curly and at times impossible to straighten hair and leaves it shiny and healthy without leaving it dried and frazzled. My hair stays straight even in high humidity now and has a nice healthy shine.

    I'm also finding myself using less product in my hair to straighten, now that I have a really good flat iron.

    This iron gets really hot though, but I've always needed to use at lease 410/420 to get any results on my hair, but is still easier to use than my cheaper one and has a much longer cord that doesn't tangle.

    Overall, I'm very satisfied with the product after trying it for about 2 months.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 30, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Alabama
    Hair
    Black
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Amazing Iron That Will Blow Away All Others.
    Let me preface this review with details of my unruly mane. I have shoulder length, thick, frizzy, kinky hair. I have used every iron under the sun-- Sedu, Hai, Chi, GHD, Solia and Croc just to name a few. This iron surpasses them all by leaps and bounds. I did love my Sedu but after 4-5 months of use, it seemed to not do as well. The Theorie heats super quick, has a futuristic touch screen and lock mechanism so that you don't accidentally turn it down or off, a cord that never bunches up or gets tangled, super hot plates and auto shut off. Please be aware that you likely don't need as much hea since the plates are actually getting to temperature and staying there. I used my Sedu on the highest setting but 420 works perfectly for my Theorie. Also, please be sure to use a good heat protectant. To be fair this is only my 3rd time to use it so I will post a follow up review but so far I love the results. I dis onlt gove it 4 stars because learning to use the iron can be a challenfe. they should give better in depth insteuctions. However the iron itself is amazig! Sleek gorgeous straight hair even in humid Alabama weather is something I never thought I could achieve. thanks folica and Theorie!
    5 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 19, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Los Angeles
    Hair
    Black
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Best Iron I Have Ever Used!
    My stylist has been using this iron on my hair for about 4 months now and I always loved the results. I didn't realize I could get these results myself until my Chi died a few weeks ago and picked one up from his salon for myself. The packaging, the finish, the consistent temperature, the shine. It's brilliant! I couldn't ask for a better flat iron. Highly highly recommend.
    5 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 18, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Light Brown
    Oily Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Not Impressed
    This is an ok flat iron. My hair turns frizzy after a humid day and my ends felt dry. The Sultra Flat Iron works great. I kept this iron but will probably just have to give it away.
    1 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 18, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Calgary
    Hair
    Black
    Normal Hair
    Dry Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Top 10? I'd Disagree
    The flat iron works, but I've had better flat irons that were cheaper!!!

    I have fairly straight hair which is normal to coarse and long.

    It does straighten the hair, but I still get frizz and my hair remains a bit pouffy. The iron also leaves my hair feeling crisp and dry as if its damaging my hair

    When straightening my hair, it smokes up a little bit but leaves my hair dry and lifeless looking

    The digit feature is a bit difficult to manage and can be sometimes frustrating because it doesn't recognize that you're pushing on the buttons no matter how slow you try
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 5, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Midwest
    Hair
    Light Brown
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Pretty Nice
    I've always used the run of the mill hair dryers and flat irons on my thick, curly long hair for years. Even with trying different products to cut the frizz and get it straight, it never looked right. And anytime there has been humidity, it looked worse.

    So I finally decided to try salon grade tools and wow, what a difference.

    This flat iron is bigger - and I like it for longer, thicker hair that you have more to get through. I tried it at 375 the first few days and it worked but I had better results at 425. I've found I don't need as many products in my hair now with using a salon grade hair dryer and flat iron and that the time I spend trying to get my hair to not look like a giant frizzy mess is cut in half.

    Wish I had made the leap years ago.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 4, 2013
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name