Free Shipping Over $50
20% off All Orders + Sedu Travel Dryer with $100+
Solia

Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-3/4")

801 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
Solia's 1-3/4" model is designed for customers with thick, long hair (longer than shoulder length).
$165.95
$59.00
Save 64% + Free Shipping
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 801 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-3/4") (801)
Show All 801 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Love It!!!
    I've had this straightener for awhile and its my very favorite i've ever owned. I had a CHI before and it broke in less than a year. Everyone should own this straightener. MAkes your hair smooth and soft. perfect for all hair types. And it heats up very quickly.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Last week
    Link to this post
  • Nyc
    Hair
    Auburn
    Dry Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    8 Years And Going Strong
    I bought this straightener in high school after doing a great deal of research online. I had used many others before, as I had been straightening my hair since I was in middle school, and all of them had broken in some way or another after about a year or less of use. Before this, I had a Sedu that I loved, but again it was so fragile, it broke within a few months. When I got the Solia, it worked perfectly for my needs. My hair is wavy, fairly dry and prone to frizz, and this sorts everything out and gives me pin straight hair. My hair is not particularly thick, but I have used it on friends with thick hair many times before and never had any problems. Now, I'm not sure where the time went. It's been 8 years since then, and I am still using my same old Solia with no problem. I can't even say that I take particularly good care of it, because I just kind of leave it out and wipe it down every now and then with a towel. The ceramic has a very small chip on the side (barely noticeable) and the outside color has faded some, but otherwise it still works exactly the same as when I first bought it. I guess for anyone wondering about the durability of this straightener, well, it's pretty darn good.

    The ONE negative thing I would say about this flat iron is that it is not ideal for curling hair due to the ridges on the sides. It's still possible, just not as easy as some others I've tried with a better shape for curling. But then again, this is a flat iron, not a curler.
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 16, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Mesquite, Tx
    Hair
    Black
    Normal Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Solia I Love You!
    I've previously had an iron like this one but my dog chewed the cord :(
    I had it for two years without any prolems and always working like new!
    I just had to get the same one all over again!! I am SOLIA all the way.. not changing it!!!

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 13, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Maryland
    Hair
    Light Brown
    Normal Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Mixed Feelings About This Flat Iron
    I have a mass of curly hair that I color and highlight with low and highlights. I think my hair is in good shape - I only wash it a couple of times a week and use really good conditioner. My hair is probably my greatest asset and the thing I get complimented on the most so I try to take good care of it. I rarely flat iron my hair (only for special occasions) because why damage it but I saw the Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-3/4") on sale and thought I'd give it a try. I haven't been overly impressed with the other flat irons I've bought. As I mentioned I have A LOT of hair so this iron was beneficial in covering more hair with less effort. It left my hair soft and silky and I only worked on it for maybe 10 minutes. However, the next day in the sunlight I was looking at my ends and they were horribly split and damaged. Some strands literally looked like feathers they were split so bad. I made an appointment to get a haircut because of this. I know the iron did the damage. I will admit I had it up to the highest temperate which I think is 400 degrees so maybe my hair just couldn't handle the trauma. If you have stronger hair (coarser) then this iron may be perfect for you. I'm not sending back, next time I'll just use with more caution.
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 13, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Light Brown
    Normal Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Solia
    I have used this flat iron for many years. I love that it makes your hair feel healthy after using it. I will continue to purchase it for many years to come.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 6, 2014
    Link to this post
  • United States
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Disappointment
    I used the Solia 1 1/4 for 4 years. I loved it and decided to treat myself to the 1 3/4 because my hair was getting very longer and I thought it'd make straightening easier. I was really disappointed when I received it. It just felt cheaper than my other one. Lighter, but not in a good way...the plastic just felt cheap. I tried it out and it just didn't seem to perform as good as my old one. Not terrible, but I had high expectations and it just didn't meet them. I ended up returning it and going back to my old one.
    5 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 6, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Great Product
    Straightener works well for my thick long hair. Curls, flips, and straightens. Dies every 2-4 years but worth it for the price. Recommend.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 24, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Cali
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Not For Thick Or Curly Hair
    This flat iron is good for someone with fine or medium hair, but doesn't have consistent heat needed for curly, thick or coarse hair. Seems to lose heat while styling which takes twice as long to flat iron hair, my hair would also get caught and ripped off on the side of the plates. Once finished, hair was super soft and shiny but it took way too long to style. My previous flat iron was a Babyliss and it is by far one of the best on the market, works in half the time and the iron stays hot from start to finish. Spend the little extra for the Babyliss if you need a really good flat iron and have thicker hair.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 31, 2013
    Link to this post
  • 1 Star Rating
    Very Short Life
    As long as it worked it did a good job but it died 2.5 yrs later. I only used it once a week, so it was not beaten up at all. Of course, the warranty was only for 2 years so now I have to get a new iron!

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 31, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Texas
    Hair
    Black
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Amazing!
    I am mixed and have naturally curly hair. This straightener does it all. It heats up to 450 degrees, which is great for my hair. It also curls, flips and anything else you could think of. It's the only tool you need! On top of that, it has lasted me well over 3 years and counting. Buy this one, you won't regret it.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 16, 2013
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
  • Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4") Best of Folica

    Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4")

    The Solia 1-1/4 flat iron features the Dynamic Alignment System to ensure perfect contact between your hair and the plates which gives even heat distribution for true silky straight hair. 

    5,515 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    New Price: $79.99 - $89.99
    Free Shipping
  • Sedu Pro Ionic Ceramic Tourmaline Flat Iron (1 1/2")

    Sedu Pro Ionic Ceramic Tourmaline Flat Iron (1 1/2")

    Rated the Best Hair Straightener on the market and preferred by top hair stylists around the world, Sedu flat iron straightens, smooths and tames frizzy hair for long-lasting results. Sedu's patented ultra-smooth ceramic/tourmaline technology guarantee smooth straightening.

    5,739 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $160.00 New Price: $102.99
    Free Shipping
  • Solia 1875W Thermal Ionic Hair Dryer Best of Folica

    Solia 1875W Thermal Ionic Hair Dryer

    The latest in advanced Italian Hair Dryer Technology. Solia Thermal Ionic 1875W dryer produces millions of negative ions to make hair healthier and shinier.

    798 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $159.95 New Price: $89.99
    Free Shipping
  • Denman Thermoceramic Straightening Brush

    Denman Thermoceramic Straightening Brush

    Denman Thermoceramic Straightening Brush provides a fast and simple way to straighten all types of medium to long hair during blow drying.

    Old Price: $17.99 New Price: $11.99
Server Name