Free Shipping Over $50
How lucky is your summer? Get up to 25% off.
Solia

Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-3/4")

808 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
Solia's 1-3/4" model is designed for customers with thick, long hair (longer than shoulder length).
$165.95
$59.00
Save 64% + Free Shipping
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 808 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-3/4") (808)
Show All 808 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Port Clinton, OH
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Normal Hair
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    I'm Blown Away!
    I have thick naturally wavy-curly hair. Notice that I didn't say one or the other. Curly hair is good, and wavy hair is good, but a combination of the two is just plain a pain in the butt. When you lay on it and wake up it's in every direction possible and the only way to control it again is to wash it....again, a pain in the butt. So, for years I simply wore it super short. My Sister, who has the same hair type as me, but wears it long, just let it dry naturally, and lived with the mess. It wasn't very attractive, but her sparkling personality balanced it well. Then, one day, she bought a flat iron and used it and told me of the great results. On a recent visit to her house, I saw the results first hand and was blown away by how great her hair looked. It was then that I had hope that I could grow my hair out and have beautiful long hair too. I bought the Solia after reading so many great reviews and couldn't wait for it to be delivered. When it arrived, I immediately went and tried it on my hair. Again, I was blown away by the results. For the first time in my life, I had straight hair. It was silky and beautiful. And, the best part of all of this is that I can go for three days straight without washing my hair, because when I sleep on it, and wake up, it's still straight! I could probably go longer, but it starts to look dirty....:) It's nice to be able to put some oils back in my hair, and I can tell that since using the Solia my hair is getting healthier and healthier. I pair it with a really nice Macadamia Healing Oil, which makes my hair smooth as silk. I couldn't be happier with the results and I am finally able to grow my hair long....something I haven't had since I was a young child. Thank you Solia!!!
    Before Photo
    After Photo
    5 out of 7 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 1, 2012
    Link to this post
  • 2 Star Rating
    Works Great... When It Works.
    I have been using this Solia flat iron for years now... I liked it better than other flat irons because it lasted so long and really worked great. I had gone though many flat irons that only lasted a year or so before they broke. The first one I had lasted me a good 5 years. When I got a new one, it lasted me maybe 6 months and just randomly stopped working. I sent it back in and they gave me a replacement.... which also stopped working after a few months. This morning, the replacement for my replacement (which I got a few months ago) just stopped working. No explanation, no obvious reason. I have decided that I'm finished with this flat iron. Time to try a new brand!!
    7 out of 8 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 19, 2012
    Link to this post
  • California
    Hair
    Platinum Blonde
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    The Best
    This is the best hair straightener I have ever used. I've owned over 12 different hair straighteners and none have worked this way. My hair is thick, frizzy, wavy, and unmanageable. It would take me 45 minutes everyday to straighten my hair with my old flat iron and with the Solia flat iron it now only takes me 12 minutes. I love my Solia straightener. Best investment i have made this year.
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 13, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Oily Hair
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Godsent Straightener !
    I can't help but shake my head at the negative reviews posted about this straightener. And some of these reviews don't do justice for this tool. This Solia is well beyond what I expected, and I was expecting the worst but hoping for the best. I got what I hoped for. I can't find a damn thing wrong with it! I am mixed and have curly, thickass, unmanageable hair like you wouldn't believe. If my camera wasn't broken, I would've posted proof. The heaven-sent Solia makes my hair perfectly straight, smooth, and shiny. I used to have the Instyler, and that is one of those hair tools that claims to be a miracle, but honestly, it's a nightmare. The Solia is rescue from all the damage done by that thing...but, that's a whole another review. Highly recommended, GET IT! Don't listen to the negative reviews they're either false or over exaggerated!
    9 out of 9 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 30, 2012
    Link to this post
  • United States
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    It Really Does The Work...
    My hair is extremely THICK. I have been using this iron for over 3 years now and I haven't had the need to switch to another flat iron. I can curl with it and I can straighten my hair with it. I'm adding here a picture of my daughter (6), whose hair is what you might call CURLY! Really curly! I've been straightening my hair since my teen years (I'm 28) so I guess it comes easy to me to do my own hair. But what I wanted to show is the difference in my daughter's hair. I was at awe!!! The best thing is that her hair does not need a relaxer (she's never had one nor will I ever get her one unless she decides she wants it at an older age) and she has the best of both worlds, straight hair and curly hair. I use a heat protector on her hair as well as as an ant-frizz cream. That's all that I need to get this result. Just look at the picture and see for yourself! After seeing these results, who would want to try anything else? I absolutely LOVE Solia!
    Before Photo
    108 out of 109 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 19, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Love The Iron And Folica
    This iron leaves my hair so smooth and flattens it quickly. In addition to being a great iron, I can highly recommend buying from Folica. I purchased this iron and after 11 months it suddenly wouldn't turn on. I returned the iron to Folica, and had a brand new iron in my possession 2 days later. Will be buying all my hair tools from them going forward.
    6 out of 7 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 26, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Louisiana
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    I Love My Solia
    I just got my Solia in a few weeks ago. So far I LOVE IT! It is by far the best straightener I have ever used. My hair is long and thick. Before I purchased my solia I had a chi it lasted me for over two years. It was a great straightener but it took forever to straighten all of my hair. My chi stopped working and I started researching all the different straighteners out there and came across Solia and Sedu. I was really leaning towards Solia but was waiting to spend over $100 for one. It took months for me to finally decide to buy it and the reason I finally did was because there was a huge sale and I got it for $60 plus a free hear proof pouch and free shipping. What a steal! It keeps my hair straight ALL day. My chi only kept my hair straight for a few hours. I highly recommend this product if you have thick long hair!
    PS something else I loved about this product it came with a 2 year warranty :)
    8 out of 8 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 20, 2012
    Link to this post
  • GA
    Hair
    Blonde
    Oily Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Great Buy!!
    I've always had Chi straighteners, but this time I decided to do some research on straighteners just to see which ones were the best. After reading tons if reviews, I settled on this one (solia flat iron 1-3/4) . It was said to be great for thicker, longer hair, and it is! I like it a lot better than the Chi because it gets hotter, is thicker, reduces straightening time, and it keeps hair straight for a longer period of time. Even though I have to wash my hair daily due to oil, it is still straight! It also beats humidity! The pad/cover is nice too. It folds and has velcro to somewhat secure the straightener inside. It keeps it all together. To prevent the cord from detaching, I fold it like it came packaged and put a twist tie or rubber band around it. The only downside is that the plates lose some of their heat while straightening so try letting it get back to the temperature (red light will blink rapidly) between layers and even between strands. However, I totally recommend this straightener to anyone with any kind of hair!
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 20, 2012
    Link to this post
  • CT
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Yes Yes Yes And ?
    The solia straighteners are amazing they get any hair type straight believe me. I'm a stylist and I do any and everyone's hair with this iron. I have used just about every iron on the market and for your money this product is hands down the best thing on the market right now. Now for the downside: This specific model meaning the 1 and 3/4 inch is considerably heavier then the 1 and 1/4 inch that I Love Love Love. This one won't be able to give you the loose curls that the Solia 1 and 1/4inch will. So if you have long hair and you just wanna get it straight no flips then go for it!!!!!!!!!! Solia is by far your best bet.
    3 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 17, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Fort Lee, NJ
    Hair
    Light Brown
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Too Heavy, Too Bulky, Too Cheaply Made
    Pros: good swivel cord for styling and curling hair, the 1 1/2 " size plates is a substantial size, temperature dial is easy to access, good for straightening only (not good for styling).

    Cons: Cheap quality (made in Korea), on/off switch is hard to move (gets stuck), doesn't get super hot, is heavy, is bulky & awkward to hold especially when trying to create curls & waves, hair gets caught in plates & pulls hair out.

    I used to have a Sedu 1.5" ceramic tourmaline which I loved but it doesn't have a swivel cord. I bought this Solia but I'm sending it back ASAP.

    I'm going to try the Croc.

    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 9, 2012
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
  • Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4") Best of Folica

    Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4")

    The Solia 1-1/4 flat iron features the Dynamic Alignment System to ensure perfect contact between your hair and the plates which gives even heat distribution for true silky straight hair. 

    5,537 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    New Price: $79.99 - $89.99
    Free Shipping
  • Sedu Pro Ionic Ceramic Tourmaline Flat Iron (1 1/2")

    Sedu Pro Ionic Ceramic Tourmaline Flat Iron (1 1/2")

    Rated the Best Hair Straightener on the market and preferred by top hair stylists around the world, Sedu flat iron straightens, smooths and tames frizzy hair for long-lasting results. Sedu's patented ultra-smooth ceramic/tourmaline technology guarantee smooth straightening.

    5,759 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $160.00 New Price: $129.99
    Free Shipping
  • Solia 1875W Thermal Ionic Hair Dryer Best of Folica

    Solia 1875W Thermal Ionic Hair Dryer

    The latest in advanced Italian Hair Dryer Technology. Solia Thermal Ionic 1875W dryer produces millions of negative ions to make hair healthier and shinier.

    812 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $159.95 New Price: $89.99
    Free Shipping
  • Denman Thermoceramic Straightening Brush

    Denman Thermoceramic Straightening Brush

    Denman Thermoceramic Straightening Brush provides a fast and simple way to straighten all types of medium to long hair during blow drying.

    Old Price: $17.99 New Price: $11.99
Server Name