Free Shipping Over $50
Solia

Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-3/4")

801 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
Solia's 1-3/4" model is designed for customers with thick, long hair (longer than shoulder length).
$165.95
$59.00
Save 64% + Free Shipping
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 801 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-3/4") (801)
Show All 801 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • 5 Star Rating
    Amazing!
    Best straightener I have ever had - hands down. It straightens my hair in less than 20 minutes, and it looks shiny and great! I would definitely suggest the Solia to my friends!
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 17, 2010
    Link to this post
  • S. Padre Island, TX United States
    5 Star Rating
    Solia From Now On
    Before I purchsed my solia I was using the chi flat iron and it would take me a little over an hour to straighten my hair. With the Solia, it took me about 25-30 minutes, VERY BIG time difference. Also, I noticed when I went outside my hair didn't frizz up at all. It usually frizzes up within an hour after straightening with the chi. I've tested my hair after straightening it with the Solia in humdity and even a little drizzling rain..my hair did NOT frizz up at all. I am truley amazed by the Solia. I will definately stick to the Solia from now on.
    Before Photo
    After Photo
    20 out of 27 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 17, 2010
    Link to this post
  • 4 Star Rating
    Love This Iron!
    I have very thick curly long hair that frizzes out like a porcupines spines. I was very skeptic about buying an iron as I felt it would fry my hair . I researched a lot before getting this iron but it works wonders with my hair and my hair looks smooth and shiny by the end. I bought a 1 3/4' size iron with the tourmaline plates. Because of the super frizzy thick nature of my hair, i use the iron at the highest temperature (450 F). For friends of mine who have thinner hair, lower temperatures work great. I also like to flip my hair at the ends so that it doesnt look pin straight and its gets flipped decently well inspite of the large size of the plate. Also, an additional note, I am always careful to use a heat resistant product (Aveda Universal) along with this though coz the temperature is super high. Love this iron! its my new best friend. :)
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 17, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Centreville, VA USA
    5 Star Rating
    Finally One That Works!
    Some people use straighteners to tame waves and frizz in their already almost straight hair. They can buy those cheap ones we've all tried time and again. We, with our truly straightener worthy hair, end up here on folica.com trying to transform our curly/thick/coarse/frizzy hair into straight hair. Bottom line: We need something that works. The Solia iron is great. All I put in my hair was a heat protectant spray. No silk infusion or anything (although I think I could get it to look softer if I used that), but the iron itself did a fantastic job infusing the little moisture to be found in my hair. I don't hate my curls, and I do show off my natural hair most of the time, but it's great to have the option of showing off thick, straight hair too. A+ product, and it's a lot cheaper than Sedu, and it has variable heat settings unlike the Chi. I think that makes the Solia the best pick of the three big names. Sidenote: Go with the 1 3/4" one rather than the 1 1/4" if your hair is really thick or past your shoulders, like mine.
    Before Photo
    After Photo
    31 out of 33 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 16, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Atlanta, GA USA
    4 Star Rating
    Works Great, But Too Big
    I love this flat iron! I used it on my daughter's thick, very curly hair. With my old flat iron, it would take at least 45 minutes. With the Solia, under 30 minutes and it was bone straight. The only problem is that it is a little too big. I thought I would like the 1-3/4 so I could flatten larger sections, but I find it harder to get to the roots. I will probably order a small one for that.
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 12, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Chicago, IL, USA
    5 Star Rating
    I Just Bought Another...
    I bought this flat iron for the first time 4 years ago. After the first use, I loved it and thought it was worth the money (at that time I think I spent around 170.00 on it). Previous to this flat iron I had a Kenta and a Chi (I usually go through about 1 flat iron/1.5-2years). I loved the results of the Kenta, but it dried out my hair and I was completely disappointed with the Chi. About 1.5 years ago my Solia stopped working and I needed a flat iron that day for a wedding I was going to so I went to a local beauty supply store and bought a Chi. As soon as I tried the new Chi I remembered exactly why I didn't like it. It takes about double the time of the Solia to straighten my hair and the results don't last as long and are not as good. It also didn't make my hair as shiny, but I kept it since I spent the money-knowing that in about a year I would need to replace it anyways. So here I am, needing another new flat iron and I of course went back to the Solia. I was excited to see how much cheaper it is now too! That was a bonus, but I would have still paid the previous price for it as it is so worth it. I had the 1 & 3/4 inch plate flat iron. My hair is really course, frizzy, thick, long, and colored. It takes me about 10 min. total to straighten my hair perfectly flat and does not damage my chemically processed hair. I use it about 5 times/week.
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 8, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Redwood City, CA
    5 Star Rating
    My Picky Daughter Is Keeping It!!!
    I bought the Solia 1 3/4" Flat Iron for my daughter for Christmas. I must've gotten her 5 straighteners over the years and she is always wanting to return them for one reason or an other. She got 2 quality straighteners this Christmas and has decided to keep the Solia. She says it doesn't pull out any of her hair and gets hot enough where she can straighten in one stroke - fast & easy. She also appreciates the length and width of the flat iron, seeing as how her hair is very long and wavy. I am so happy to have finally found a straightener she's happy with!
    3 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 6, 2010
    Link to this post
  • 4 Star Rating
    Great!
    Works really well! love it
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 5, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Amazing
    This straightner is amazing - far better then my drug store bought straightner. I have thick, pretty straight hair and this smooths and straightens in 1/4 of the time. Only down side is I keep burning my fingers on my own hair - it get's super hot.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 31, 2009
    Link to this post
  • South Padre Island, TX
    5 Star Rating
    Wow!!!
    I absolutely love it! It is waaaaaay better than the chi that I have been using for 3 years. I have damaged, frizzy, split-end galore, very thick hair. Also being that I live right by the beach my hair is always frizzing up. It usually takes me about an hour and so few minutes to straighten my hair with my chi. With the Solia (1-3/4") it took me 20 minutes. I was amazed with the very BIG time difference. This will very much benefit my husband as he is always hurrying me up when I'm doing my hair. It didn't snag my hair once & did NOT frizz up when I stepped outside. Now I feel i got ripped off when I bought the chi. This was very well worth every cent.
    Before Photo
    12 out of 19 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 24, 2009
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
  • Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4") Best of Folica

    Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4")

    The Solia 1-1/4 flat iron features the Dynamic Alignment System to ensure perfect contact between your hair and the plates which gives even heat distribution for true silky straight hair. 

    5,517 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    New Price: $79.99 - $89.99
    Free Shipping
  • Sedu Pro Ionic Ceramic Tourmaline Flat Iron (1 1/2")

    Sedu Pro Ionic Ceramic Tourmaline Flat Iron (1 1/2")

    Rated the Best Hair Straightener on the market and preferred by top hair stylists around the world, Sedu flat iron straightens, smooths and tames frizzy hair for long-lasting results. Sedu's patented ultra-smooth ceramic/tourmaline technology guarantee smooth straightening.

    5,739 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $160.00 New Price: $129.99
    Free Shipping
  • Solia 1875W Thermal Ionic Hair Dryer Best of Folica

    Solia 1875W Thermal Ionic Hair Dryer

    The latest in advanced Italian Hair Dryer Technology. Solia Thermal Ionic 1875W dryer produces millions of negative ions to make hair healthier and shinier.

    798 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $159.95 New Price: $89.99
    Free Shipping
Server Name