ExpressShipping
Solia

Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4")

5,562 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
The Solia 1-1/4 flat iron has features to ensure true silky straight hair. 
$79.99 - $89.99
Free Shipping
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 5,562 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4") (5562)
Show All 5,562 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Hair
    Curly Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Works For A While
    The straightener works great! It gets super hot and my hair stays straight forever, and I have naturally curly hair. This is my second one though. The cord on my first one got loose and eventually stopped working. Now this one, which Ive had for about a year now, is doing the same thing. I have to hold it a certain way for it to stay on..
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 16, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Canada
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Ehhh
    I have to say for the price its not THAT bad however I do have many disappointments. I have really thick poofy hair, not curly just super thick and poofy which means I actually like the flat straight look from time to time. Solia is my first flat iron that I have purchased off this site and I kind of wish I had of went with something a little more better. Solia will straighten sure but it doesn't last.. and for me I need all day straight not just a 45 minute straight lol. For instance, I'll straighten it in layers carefully, going over strands of hair multiple times and when its finished its flawless.. then when I sit around before going out my hair starts to get wavy.. its so damn annoying! I literally need to re-straighten it before I go out just to make sure it stays straight for a little longer.. the only time Solia works for me is when its cold outside. All in all if you're looking for a straightener and you have super thick hair like me, don't buy this!!! Go for something better ;)
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 31, 2014
    Link to this post
  • St Pete
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    1 Star Rating
    Melted My Hair Off..
    I bought a purple tourmaline right over 2 years ago. It worked well, other than pulling my hair out sometimes and pieces easily popping off. Two days ago I turned it on as normal and as soon as I touched it to my hair... It melted my hair completely off and the plates melted out of the straightener. I guess thats why the warranty is 2 years..
    Before Photo
    28 out of 29 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 28, 2014
    Link to this post
  • United States
    Hair
    Black
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    The First Use Results
    Okay, so I would like to point out that this was my very first purchase and the first time I looked carefully for a straightener. After deciding that my first choice (BaByliss) was a little too pricey and read a lot of good feedback on this product, I went for the purple model and used a 30% off code, leaving it about $62.99, which was a reasonable price. After waiting a long eight days for my shipment, I finally opened the box and tried it out. Using the heat setting between 370 and 450 with got2b Angel Floss heat protectant, I found the finished result to be really satisfactory. The Solia left my thick, wavy, "Latina" hair flat, silky, and smooth. One thing I immensely enjoyed was the fact that it made my choppy layer of hair "melt" into the rest of my hair, something my old "cheap" straightener never did. My other two sisters tried it out and they experienced the same smooth results and would definitely agree on a 4.5 out of 5 rating. It's only fault is that it wasn't able to make my hair "pin straight" and after a day, I had to touch it up with my old straightener a little. I just felt it could've straightened a little more. Overall, I was satisfied and couldn't stop touching my hair.

    NOTE: Photos provided are of my sister's results, used on the highest setting with the heat protectant and washed, dried, and combed out hair. Her hair type is long, thick, and frizzy/curly.
    Before Photo
    After Photo
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 25, 2014
    Link to this post
  • United States
    Hair
    Black
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    The First Use Results
    Okay, so I would like to point out that this was my very first purchase and the first time I looked carefully for a straightener. After deciding that my first choice (BaByliss) was a little too pricey and read a lot of good feedback on this product, I went for the purple model and used a 30% off code, leaving it about $62.99, which was a reasonable price. After waiting a long eight days for my shipment, I finally opened the box and tried it out. Using the heat setting between 370 and 450 with got2b Angel Floss heat protectant, I found the finished result to be really satisfactory. The Solia left my thick, wavy, "Latina" hair flat, silky, and smooth. One thing I immensely enjoyed was the fact that it made my choppy layer of hair "melt" into the rest of my hair, something my old "cheap" straightener never did. My other two sisters tried it out and they experienced the same smooth results and would definitely agree on a 4.5 out of 5 rating. It's only fault is that it wasn't able to make my hair "pin straight" and after a day, I had to touch it up with my old straightener a little. I just felt it could've straightened a little more. Overall, I was satisfied and couldn't stop touching my hair.

    NOTE: Photos provided are of my sister's results, used on the highest setting with the heat protectant and washed, dried, and combed out hair. Her hair type is long, thick, and frizzy/curly.
    Before Photo
    After Photo

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 25, 2014
    Link to this post
  • PA
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Oily Hair
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Great Long Lasting Product With Great Customer Service!
    I am not one to normally leave reviews anywhere on any site about any product however I have a reason to praise this straightener and the website that sells it! I bought my first Solia straighter in the spring of 2007. I loved it the minute it arrived. I used it consistently for 5 1/2 years. It started going around 5 years (taking longer to heat up and stay heated), but I was so impressed that it lasted over 5 years. I never had a straightener last more than a year before this one. So I replaced my old one with a purple one (excited they come in colors now!) in February of 2013 (I actually bought it in June 2012 but let the other straightener go as long as possible!). Again this new replacement I purchased worked just as well as the last. I have been consistently using it since then. Just this past Sunday it was sitting on the heated-proof pouch that came with it for free. I was doing my make-up, then I go to pick it up for a touch up and see that the plates have nearly fell off/burned off, it burned through the heated-proof pouch (the straightener was stuck to the pouch!) and burned the wooden table it was sitting on. I have never seen a straightener do this before ever and I have had at least 5 over the past 11-12 years. Needless to say I was a bit livid. So, I made a phone call today to folica.com in hopes they can do something as I truly love the straightener and assuming this one just had a malfunction. I called up and explained the whole thing to the lady on the other end and she told me it sounds like it overheated. She checked into my warranty on the straightener and the free 2 year that I got on it when I purchased it expires next month (WHEW!). So she is going to be sending me a new one (after I send in the warranty replacement form with the damaged straightener) and with a new pouch as well since the one I have/got for free with it, burned as well. She even waived the warranty replacement fee due to the damage it caused on the table. All I have to do is spend for the shipping on sending it back any way I want. I also asked if I was going to be getting a refurbished straightener or a brand new one and she told me she made a note to make sure I get a new one. I am so very pleased with the customer service on top of the straightener itself. It is an awesome straightener and so worth the price, especially when you used their awesome $25 off or 20% off promo codes. It only takes me about 20 minutes max to straighten my hair when it used to take nearly 40 with other straighteners. I am a huge fan of solia products (I have the hair dryer too which phenomenal!) and folica.com. Highly recommended!
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 21, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Great For The First 6 Months
    I'm not the type to write reviews but this is my second Solia and I won't be buying another. The first one I had for a little over a year and it died shortly there after. The one I have now will only stay on the highest setting and doesn't straighten my hair like it did when new. This iron is great for the first 6 months but slowly starts to let you down.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 16, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Fine or Thin Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Good As A Straightener
    This works well to straighten, but not to curl which is what I bought it for. I've used other straighteners that create beautiful curls in my long straight hair, but this iron does not do the trick, even though the description says it is good for curling. I will be returning this unfortunately.
    3 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 13, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Oily Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    7+ Years Of Perfect Hair With This Iron
    I bought this iron over 7 years ago with a 1 year warranty. 11 months into my warranty, the iron stopped working (some kind of electrical issue; never looked into it). I immediately requested a new one and Folica shipped it to me with no questions asked. I have been using the replacement iron ever since and it has only recently started glitching. I will gladly purchase another of these irons. I have very long, very thick wavy hair that I can straighten to perfection in 15 minutes with this iron. Never snags and doesn't damage your hair over time (would still recommend a heat protection spray though!). Love this product and Folica.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 11, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Love!! Better Than Chi.
    I have had this straightener for around three years now and I couldn't be happier. I have used CHI brand flat irons in the past, and I actually liked the Solia flat iron better, it seemed to glide across my hair much easier without snagging or pulling on my hair. Although it is three years old, it is just as great as the first day, despite being dropped on the bathroom floor on a daily basis. Can't go wrong with this!

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 2, 2014
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name