Spa and Body Sale 35% Off
Solia

Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4")

5,556 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
The Solia 1-1/4 flat iron features the Dynamic Alignment System to ensure perfect contact between your hair and the plates which gives even heat distribution fo...
$79.99 - $89.99
Free Shipping
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 5,556 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4") (5556)
Show All 5,556 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Great For The First 6 Months
    I'm not the type to write reviews but this is my second Solia and I won't be buying another. The first one I had for a little over a year and it died shortly there after. The one I have now will only stay on the highest setting and doesn't straighten my hair like it did when new. This iron is great for the first 6 months but slowly starts to let you down.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 16, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Fine or Thin Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Good As A Straightener
    This works well to straighten, but not to curl which is what I bought it for. I've used other straighteners that create beautiful curls in my long straight hair, but this iron does not do the trick, even though the description says it is good for curling. I will be returning this unfortunately.
    3 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 13, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Oily Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    7+ Years Of Perfect Hair With This Iron
    I bought this iron over 7 years ago with a 1 year warranty. 11 months into my warranty, the iron stopped working (some kind of electrical issue; never looked into it). I immediately requested a new one and Folica shipped it to me with no questions asked. I have been using the replacement iron ever since and it has only recently started glitching. I will gladly purchase another of these irons. I have very long, very thick wavy hair that I can straighten to perfection in 15 minutes with this iron. Never snags and doesn't damage your hair over time (would still recommend a heat protection spray though!). Love this product and Folica.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 11, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Love!! Better Than Chi.
    I have had this straightener for around three years now and I couldn't be happier. I have used CHI brand flat irons in the past, and I actually liked the Solia flat iron better, it seemed to glide across my hair much easier without snagging or pulling on my hair. Although it is three years old, it is just as great as the first day, despite being dropped on the bathroom floor on a daily basis. Can't go wrong with this!

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 2, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Light Brown
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Best Flat Iron I've Owned
    I love this flat iron! It gets hot within a few minutes and stays hot while I iron my whole head. I have really thick hair and was hesitant to switch from a 2" to a 1 1/4" flat iron, but after my Chi died and I saw the amazing reviews for this iron I had to have it. I also loved that it came in purple! It gets the frizz out of my hair after I blow dry it and keeps it straight for the whole day (barring rain or insane humidity). I use it almost every day and it hasn't damaged or dried out my hair at all.

    I've had my Solia for 5 years and it still works like I bought it last week. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a quality flat iron that will last them awhile.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 2, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Auburn
    Normal Hair
    3 Star Rating
    It Was Great, Until It Broke.
    I received this late October/early November and really liked it. It made my hair shiny and it didn't kill my hair compared to my last straightener. I took good care of it, used about 3-4 times a week, and it sat at the same place on my vanity. No misuse no nothing, and it randomly stops working in January! It just wouldn't turn on. I obtained a return form and the first option under reason for return is "it stopped working". Which makes me believe it occurs more often than it should. Now I have to pay 9.95 for a replacement.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 2, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Curly Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Great While It Lasts
    The flat iron is great while it lasts. The first one I bought lasted about 6 months and stopped working (seems to be a trend). Sent it back and the replacement maybe lasted about the same amount of time and began "shorting out", had to keep the wire in a certain position for it to heat up so it would still go off and on as I used it because the wire moves. Longevity definitely not a quality of this product. Now to find a new brand..

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 29, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Stopped Working After Two Years
    Mine just stopped working one day after 2 years and 5 months of use. The warranty is for 2 years, so I am SOL. Also, I felt like it didn't add any shine like other flat irons I've used, and I didn't like that it didn't have an automatic shut-off feature. I would not recommend this product at all.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 26, 2014
    Link to this post
  • PGH, PA
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    5 Star Rating
    You'll Never Go Back, Never!
    I am sooo in love w/ this flat iron, I can't even begin to describe just how much I love it! when I first bought this, I had been going back & forth, trying to decide between this or the Sedu, but, finally, I chose this, mainly because of the beautiful sapphire-colored plates & I am sooo happy I did! at the time, I was 17 or 18, so that was way back in 2007 or 2008 & it still works AMAZINGLY well, plus the cord is VERY long.
    before I decided to take the plunge on this, I was using Revlon's Perfect Heat Ceramic straighteners & buying new ones, like, every couple of years or so & they were damaging my hair SO badly, ntm, I was wasting my money! I think they sell them on here, so look them up, but DON'T buy it cause the ceramic peels off, too; overall, it's a waste.
    when I bought this straightener, my hair was pretty long but it was only to the bottom of my shoulder blades; now, it's almost down to my waist & my hair is naturally curly & to straighten it, from being curly, it only takes about 10-20mins., which is amazing! you will NEVER go back to using any other straightener, ever. I actually don't know why I didn't buy this sooner than I did. I can say nothing bad about this & nothing else, other than I very, very highly recommend buying a Solia. the sides of the plates don't even get that gross black residue on them, probably, mainly because you don't need to put a lot of products in your hair before you style it, so it doesn't get build-up. my hair can get really dry but even when it does, it still looks amazing & beautiful & so shiny, thanks to this.
    just put some Biolage Smoothing Milk on wet hair (or serum), let it dry or blow dry it, straighten it, then spray it w/ a few spritzes of shine spray & you're good to go!
    I don't know what I'll do when this breaks, if it ever does! I'll MOST DEFINITELY buy a new one. you do have to be very, very careful w/ the cord, though, just because it's so long that it gets tangled up very easily, right away, but I think since it has such a thick outer plastic, it might have a little extra protection.
    anyway, the last thing is that you don't even need to turn up the heat all the way to 450.. in fact, if you do, your hair would just get really flat, plus it'd be wasting electricity. buy this, you won't regret it & it will last you forever!

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 23, 2014
    Link to this post
  • New Jersey
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Love My Solia!
    I was heartbroken when I had to finally say goodbye to my trusty Sedu flat iron I had had since 2007 (7 years!). I immediately jumped on Folica to figure out a replacement, and found the Solia. Well, I am THRILLED with this flat iron! Of course I had to get it in purple (my fav color), but I am very impressed with its heat-up time, it is very smooth and gentle on my hair and the automatically adjusting plates really do make for great contact with all of my hair. Definitely 2 thumbs up here and I highly recommend it!
    1 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 16, 2014
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name