Solia

Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4")

5,550 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
The Solia 1-1/4 flat iron features the Dynamic Alignment System to ensure perfect contact between your hair and the plates which gives even heat distribution fo...
$79.99 - $89.99
Free Shipping
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 5,550 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4") (5550)
Show All 5,550 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • North Richland Hills, TX
    Hair
    Light Brown
    Curly Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Love This Flat Iron!!
    I have had this flat iron for a few years and love it. I bought my younger daughter one and she loves it as well. The 1 1/4" really makes a difference. I had always used the 1" Chi but never again. My oldest daughter used mine the other day and wanted to take it with her. So, I have ordered her the pink one for Christmas. FYI..my first one quit heating a few months before the warranty expired and I had to return it. I did have to pay the shipping but it was replaced and mailed to me quickly..in case you had any questions concerning the warranty.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 4, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Just Ordered Another!
    I've had my Solia since 2006. YES, 2006! It just died on me this year (almost 2014). It has served me very well! I have medium thick, wavy, frizzy hair. I straighten in sections and my hair is always stick straight and shiny. I also love this flat iron because with some technique you can actually curl your hair with it too!! I was going to head to my local Sally Hansen store to pick up a new flat iron, but it doesn't look like they carry Solia. I figured, why go with another product when this one has served me well for SO long?! So back to Folica I went to order a new one! Can't wait to get it in. I hope it'll serve me just as well for the next 7 years!!

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 3, 2013
    Link to this post
  • New York City
    Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Best Deal
    This straightener has been amazing for the 6 months since I purchased it. I've cycled through hair straighteners before - including Chi, Tourmaline, and GHD. Performance is on par with straighteners that cost around $200, and it comes with the 2-year warranty, which is rare.

    The heat is adjustable, which is a nice feature. Since I use it often, I want to be careful not to burn my hair, so I turn it to a lower temperature at times. It doesn't have an automatic shutoff like some other straighteners do - this is the only thing I would change. But honestly, at this price point, that would be too much to expect.

    Best deal, hands down.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 29, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Athens, GA
    Hair
    Auburn
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    5+ Years And Still Working Great.
    I never wrote a review when I first bought it. I don't think I've ever reviewed a thing in my life to be honest. I've just never felt the need to talk up a product. However, it hit me yesterday when I was doing my hair that I've had the SAME flat iron for 5+ years and haven't had a single issue. I've dropped it more times than I can count. The cable has been slightly chewed on by my dog. I know that's horrible and I probably should have replaced it due to the potential for fire hazards and all but I just couldn't bring myself to buy another one. My hair isn't difficult to straighten. I'm just lucky. I've always been one of those girls that my hair just does whatever I need it to. So for me it's not about the difference in how my hair looks like some of these other girls. Those results are truly impressive. If I showed before and after pictures, it wouldn't grasp the full capabilities of this product so I won't bother anyone's time with that. For me, it's about the QUALITY of this product. It heats up quickly, every time. With out fail. It's never shorted out on me. It's never burned me or overheated. It has this nifty little feature where it will automatically shut off if it's been on too long. It even came with that nice heat protector case when I first bought it. As far as results, I've used it on all of my friends and even a couple of boyfriends that were going through that whole "emo" phase. There was one guy in particular, who had very course, curly hair. I cranked this baby up to 450F and let me say, his hair looked so perfectly straight if you didn't know him before, you'd swear it was naturally that way. If you're trying to pick between this one and any other brand, I would pick this one hands down anytime. Honestly, I'm shocked this thing isn't even more expensive because of how long it lasts. If you're even considering any other brand, just stop. This one will beat out the competition, hands down, every time.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 24, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Fantastic Iron!
    My hair has never looked as good as it does now! This iron straightens my hair and makes it look gorgeous without doing as much damage as my previous iron. I have fine hair and so a good quality iron is really important. This is a great iron and I highly recommend it!

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 20, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Light Brown
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Ok, But Wouldn't Buy Another.
    I was always a chi user, but just found they didn't last more than a year. I decided to try the Solia based on the fact that it had a 2 year warranty. Unfortunately it didn't end up lasting the 2 years either. It did a decent job while it lasted, but I found over time that it started to pull my hair. Also I didn't find it gave the same shiny softness that the chi does. I will not be buying a second one.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 19, 2013
    Link to this post
  • GA
    Hair
    Black
    Dry Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Relaxed Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Didn't Impress Me..
    I was so anxious to get this flat iron and when i tried it out i wasn't disappointed, but at the same time i wasn't impressed. Overall I've come to realize that I'm not a fan of the size of the flat iron just cause i can't get my new growth as well as id like. Recently After moving to my dorm i decided to use this flat iron and as i was flat ironing my hair one of the circular caps that says solia on it in the hinges just popped out! Even though its not major, it kinda made me mad cause I've never ever seen that happen before and only after a few uses! i tried to stick it back in but one of the prongs is lodged into the hole so I'm trying not to let it bother me but still. if i pay this much for a flat iron then i see no reason for stuff to just be falling off.. i would have given it 4 stars if it weren't for that. Overall the iron is okay considering the price, all thats left is to see if it lasts the test of time!
    3 out of 5 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 18, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Black
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Great Flat Iron!
    I love this flat iron! I had one that lasted me three years, still works, just doesn't get as hot as it used to, so I bought a new one and use the old as my backup. Never been disappointed with solia, my hair straightens quickly (I have very thick very coarse wavy hair down to the small of my back) and it only takes about 20 minutes to get my hair pin straight. You cannot get a better deal on a flat iron that works this well.
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 14, 2013
    Link to this post
  • NYC
    2 Star Rating
    Died In 3 Years.
    This straightener was fine while it lasted, with the exception of 2 problems. Near the end of its life it seemed to malfunction and become extremely hot, unexpectedly. I believe that this contributed to its "death" in the subsequent weeks. Also- I had expectations that it would last for more than 3 years. Disappointed. Will not purchase this one again...
    2 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 7, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Relaxed Hair
    3 Star Rating
    I Heard It Was One Of The Best, But It's Just Okay For Me
    I have used the Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion flat iron twice now and each time it was the same. My hair came out nice and straight, but I don't see any considerable difference in my hair between using this and my other two flat irons that cost much, much less. I don't know what I was expecting, maybe I wanted it to look salon straight, shinier, silkier, bouncier...but it's just my usual straight hair. I was expecting more that's all.
    4 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 4, 2013
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name