20OffSedu
Solia

Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4")

5,556 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
The Solia 1-1/4 flat iron features the Dynamic Alignment System to ensure perfect contact between your hair and the plates which gives even heat distribution fo...
$79.99 - $89.99
Free Shipping
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 5,556 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4") (5556)
Show All 5,556 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Hair
    Light Brown
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Great Flat Iron
    I have really thick hair and I love this flat Iron. I got one about 4.5 years ago and I used it 3-4 times a week. It takes me roughly 5-10 min instead of the usual 20-25 with my old Remington flat iron. It traveled nicely in a thermal case. I brought it to college with me and dropped it and the plates fell off. I snapped them back on but it isn't the same. It smells like it is burning. However this is the longest I have ever had one of these and I had dropped it many times before with no issues. I plan to buy another one for Christmas because I have not found any other product that works so well for so long. Before I dropped it it worked equally as well as the day I took it out of the box.
    1 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 18, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Anchorage AK
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Great Ceramic Iron
    I purchased this ceramic iron as a back-up to my CROC titanium (which keeled-over after 4 years), and I'm very happy with the quality of my press when I use this. I was able to straighten my damp hair effectively & efficiently without burning/damaging my hair (which is down my back) in about 45 minutes. I have ethnic hair and was a little worried that a ceramic wouldn't be able to do the job.

    I will say my only complaint is that it pulls your hair. I've been losing 2-3 strands when I press my hair, because the plates aren't beveled/flush near the tip & the on/off panel of the iron. This is a huge irritation for me. Once I get my CROC replacement, I'll only use this as a back-up (in another 4 years). =)
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 15, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Blonde
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Love It!
    When I read the reviews on this straightener I seen that it had a lot of good and bad reviews. I was skeptical about getting it but I'm glad I did. It makes my hair straight, not as thick looking, and doesn't burn my hair. my Old straightener burned my hair ( leaving that nasty burnt smell ) and didn't straighten my hair as well. This is one of the best straighteners that I have owned by far.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 13, 2013
    Link to this post
  • United States
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Tons Of Shine! From Jamaican To Baby Fine!
    I first bought a pink solia flat iron in 2009. I have VERY baby fine color treated hair with an undesirable wave all throughout. My main concern was my hair wouldn't be able to handle the heat without damage. My fears were put to rest after my first use. My hair actually looked HEALTHIER! lots of shine, & perfectly straight with little effort. I shared my Solia with my best friend whose Jamaican.She needed to spend a little longer to achieve perfectly straight hair..but with a little more patience, her hair came out just as beautiful as mine! I've seen lots of bad reviews and noticed most came from women with very coarse and/or ethnic hair. Ladies, you have to realize even the best flat iron is not a miracle worker! eventually you can achieve the look you desire -- but keep in mind, you'll need a little more effort put in if you have coarse and/or ethnic hair .. no matter what iron you're using! I can assure you you'll put in the least effort, and get the best results from the Solia! buuuuuut .. I'd also like to note my issue with the Solia as well. After about six months use, I noticed my iron would randomly turn on & off by itself. I realized there was a short in the wire which was most likely caused by storing the cord wrapped around the iron. THIS IS A NO NO! I believe my first Solia would still work without any issues(4 years later!) had I not stored it this way! please keep your cords hanging free!
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 11, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Good...but Only For About A Year
    The picture I posted along with this review is the replacement one I received about a year ago. The first one I got worked great for a little over a year. Then one day while I was using it like I always did and let it sit while I sectioned my hair and combed it, I started to smell a burning smell and looked down at it and the plates were melting off! Luckily it was still under warranty and I was able to get a replacement. Unfortunately the replacement only lasted a little over a year as well and the same thing happened! I have never used this iron on the highest setting and this happened at two different locations...so I know it wasn't the electrical outing or anything like that. If it wasn't for this happening it would be a great flat iron. This is just a warning for those purchasing it and hopefully if you do get it and this happens it does so within the 2 year warranty of the first one you get. The replacement one I received was still only under the first one's 2 year warranty...so I can't get another replacement one :(
    Before Photo
    8 out of 8 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 9, 2013
    Link to this post
  • United States
    Hair
    Blonde
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Works Great To Straighten.....nothing Else
    This is a great product for the money and will make your hair straight with ease. I had to return it because it cannot be used as a styling tool. I like to straighten and add curl to the ends at the same time. The solia iron would curl a small amount but then it would fall out before an hour was even up. very disappointed in the results and had to return.
    3 out of 4 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 8, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    Oily Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Im A Fan
    Ive used this brand of flat iron ever since I can remember. Im so happy with the way it works and the price is perfect.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 8, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Houston, TX
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Amazing, Salon Quality Results, Exceeds Expectations!!!
    First let me commend folica on their great site. I love that they allow photo reviews. That was the main feature that helped me in my decision to buy this flat iron.

    I have been natural for about 1.5 years now, and I DO NOT straighten my hair at home. I only wear my hair straight when I go to the salon, because I just cant seem to get the same sleek silky look when I do it my self. But we all know how pricey a trip to the salon is. And I would need to go once a week to keep my hair up the way I prefer it to be.
    I have bought so many flat irons and curling irons. I have tried the chi, I have tried ion, I have tried buying new blow driers; nothing worked. I have bought expensive hair products and shampoo and conditioner; still nothing worked. I always ended up with a puffy not silky style. After all that I came to the realization that is was me!!! I am not a hair stylist. Hair is just not my forte', and I'm OK with that. But I can only wear a bun for so long.
    I noticed the natural styles I have been wearing probably aren't the healthiest thing for my hair. I noticed some breakage, and I hate the natural hair product build up. So I recently decided it is time to try this flat iron thing again.

    I did an extensive search to find the right flat iron for me. And here I am.

    I must say, I was very pleased with the speed of delivery ( I didn't even get express shipping and it still got here fairly fast).
    The product was just what I ordered, my full order was there.
    The PRICE was fantastic, I love that they offer the trade in program so the flat iron was much less than I intended to spend.
    But what has really caused this flat iron to win my heart is the ease of use. It usually takes me (from wash to finish) about 3-4 hours, none stop to get my hair in a so-so style. Using my new solia flat iron it took me (from wash to finish) 1.5 hours. That was including stopping and fixing food and changing diapers and letting my husband take a shower while i played with our lil diva. I only went over each strand about twice, on a lower setting then I would normally use (I would normally use the highest setting and still have to go over my hair about 4-5 times, plus use a curling Iron).
    I did not use a lot of product in my hair, and only used some before blow drying.
    When I was done flat ironing my hair, it was sooooo silky and smooth. I could easily run my fingers through my hair, even now the next day there are virtually no tangles. It's shiny and healthy and sexy just like it's advertised on the packaging.
    My husband loves the out come, and I haven't had this many compliments on my hair in so long.

    And I did it all my self!!! This is a must have styling tool for everybody!!!
    Before Photo
    After Photo
    37 out of 37 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 1, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Light Brown
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    1 Star Rating
    Big Let Down
    I was so excited to get this straightener. It is a really good deal and since I don't straighten my hair that much I really didn't want to spend a lot of money. I only used it 3 times and each time may hair would get stuck in the crack of the plates and pull until it snaps. It was very painful! I do not recommend this straightener. I have no idea why it has such good reviews. I am exchanging it for a BaByliss Pro Nano 1 1/4. It's a little bit more money, but I think it's worth it if you are going to keep all of the hair on your head!
    Save your money and consider another brand!
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 1, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Boston
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Way Better Than Chi - Had Mine 9 Years!
    I'm about to buy my second Solia flat iron since mine died yesterday after NINE years! Bought it when I was a freshman in college (2004) when we all made sure to have stick straight hair. It's traveled with me everywhere and I even melted part of the cord one time and it still works.

    A friend suggest the Solia back then as it was a little cheaper than a CHI and she had heard mixes reviews on people having faulty CHIs, plus you can regulate the temperature on the Solia-unlike a CHI. I was hesitant because my roommate at the time had a CHI and I loved using hers! But, most have my friends have had 2-3+ CHI flat irons and this is the only one I've ever owned.

    Definitely worth it.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 30, 2013
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name