ExpressShipping
Solia

Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4")

5,562 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
The Solia 1-1/4 flat iron has features to ensure true silky straight hair. 
$139.99
$80.00
Save 43% + Free Shipping
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 5,562 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4") (5562)
Show All 5,562 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Great Warranty
    I've had this iron for about 18 months when it stopped working- it has a 2 year warranty. I called Folica, filled out a warranty form and returned the iron along with $9.00. Within a week, I had a new iron! Totally impressed and thankful! thank you Folica! By the way, it works great.
    6 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 18, 2012
    Link to this post
  • WA
    Hair
    Blonde
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Straightens Well But Beware It Won't Last Long, Poor Quality For Cost!
    As far as a hair straightener goes the Solia Tourmaline does a beautiful job. It doesn't catch or pull hair and straightens very smoothly. Heats up quickly and gets very hot. I used it almost everyday and also used it on my daughter's hair frequently.

    My complaint is that just one year after I purchased it (November 2010) the flat iron died. It suddenly wouldn't turn on anymore. Luckily when I bought it there was a two year warranty, so I paid to ship it back to Folica and paid $10 for the replacement to get a refurbished flat iron. I hoped the first one was just a fluke and the second would actually last longer but it also died after just a year of use (Nov 2011-Dec 2012) and will not turn on anymore. I was very careful not to wrap the cord or do anything that would break it. My husband took it apart (since there is no longer any warranty) to see if we could find what was wrong with it. The cord was still supplying power and everything we could find seems to be working (except the power switch). It appears the circuit board simply died and there is nothing we can do to fix it. My forty dollar flat irons have lasted far longer than 1 or 2 years! So, only buy it if you are really okay with it dying after 1 year because it appears that is about the lifetime of the circuit board.

    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 17, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Light Brown
    Normal Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    2 Star Rating
    No...
    I got this after seeing all the reviews said it was better than chi and cheaper!! They were wrong. It didn't straightener my hair fully and it wasn't very shiny and when I got home from school it was not straight at all, before this I had a 20 dollar straightener from tj maxx that worked better..... I also have used my cousins chi and I loved it! I am buying a chi after returning this.... I also have pretty straight hair so it just didn't straighten as much as I wanted it to or give it shine. It might work better for people with really curly hair because it makes a difference but it didn't in my hair.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 15, 2012
    Link to this post
  • San Fernando, CA
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Oily Hair
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Half The Time To Flat Iron Hair!
    I have very thick, coarse, wavy, damaged hair that is a little longer than shoulder length. I used to spend about 40-50 minutes blow drying my hair and then another 25-30 minutes flat-ironing. It wasn't until I purchased this flat iron that I was able to cut the flat ironing time down to 10-15 minutes. Now I wash my hair at night and allow it to air dry. I get up in the morning with my hair looking like heck and spend only 10-15 minutes flat ironing it. Often times my hair is still a little damp and yet I still only spend 10-15 minutes flat ironing! Flat irons I've owned before are Hot Tools, Chi, ad Sedu. Of those, I liked the Sedu best, but still doesn't compare to the Solia. Also, the Sedu stopped working after a year of buying it, so you're better off with the Solia in the long run. I liked this flat iron so much I bought one for each of my 3 teen age girls who have that long, super thick, wavy hair. They all love it and often times their friends ask to borrow their flat irons or come over to do their hair.
    6 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 13, 2012
    Link to this post
  • New Orleans
    Hair
    Black
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    3 Star Rating
    I Had Highter Expectations
    I found out about this website after googling "best hair straightner". What an awesome website it is! After finding out this particular straightner was on the top 10 list I read tons of reviews. Most were positive and it got a 4.5 star rating. Bonus: I bought mine on a day they were having a 20% off sale plus free shipping! No brainer! When I first got the straightner I was so excited to use it. But it felt lightweight, cheap lightweight. But I was coming from a Chi so I didn't worry so much about that. The first time I used it, I just ran it through my hair quickly. And what a shocker to find out that it snagged and pulled my hair! I was thinking that I was maybe using it too fast. The next day I sectioned my hair and was more controlled about it. But nope! My hair still got caught in it! (Although it gave me great results! I loved the way my hair looked afterward and it was so soft) But I weighed the pros and cons and didn't think snagging my hair was worth it. So I'm returning it. I just about a $190 straightner at Paul Mitchell for 1/2 off. They even let me test it out before I bought it. I think I'm going to be much happier with that one.
    4 out of 7 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 13, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Minnesota
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Super Love!
    So Iâ??m not a huge fan of writing reviews, but have to put out there the love for my new flat iron. I have medium length curly fine hair and a lot of it! Like so many out there I have used the drugstore flat irons with little to no success. They would straighten my hair, which took forever, but as soon as I stepped outside it would poof right up. Bummer! With the Solia I donâ??t have that problem XD. With the right heat (370°) one pass is all it takes to straighten my hair with a little curl at the end. Leaves the hair nice and shiny. Canâ??t tell if this will do pin straight cause Iâ??ve always liked a little curl in my hair, which the Solia is very good at doing ;). The time it takes has decreased some, going from 1.5 hours to 30-40 mins. With practice it is taking less and less time to do my hair. I do get a little tugging, but that usually only happens when I try straightening to much hair at once, so my bad. So overallâ?¦love it! Would suggest that if you are thinking of buying this flat iron, do it!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 12, 2012
    Link to this post
  • United States
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Works Well Overall
    I purchased this item a little over a week before I was supposed to Texas (via plane). I was nervous that it wouldn't get here in time since it was during the Thanksgiving weekend when I placed my order- but it came the day before I left ! In regards to the flat iron itself, it's a very nice flat iron. I have mixed, curly, VERY FRIZZY, but fine hair. My hair gets damaged extremely easily for some reason, so I liked the fact that I could control the heat setting. HOWEVER, for anyone with the slightest curl or kink to your hair- you will have to turn it to at least high 200 degrees area. I started at 200 and kept having to go up because it would not straighten. When you first get the iron there is a strong smell of plastic; but that subsides by the 3rd use. It leaves my hair silky and shiny and touchups (from the heat in Texas) were a breeze! I do recommend someone with my hair type to use the tiniest bit of serum or light oil after. This iron also gives AMAZING wavy/curls! It glides through your hair with no snags what so ever and heats up within 30 seconds. Please use the heat pad so you don't burn the counter though ALL IN ALL AWESOME!!
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 11, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Ohio
    Hair
    Blonde
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    So-far, So-good
    I have fine, naturally curly hair and this was my first straight iron experience. My hairdresser recommended Folica when I asked her what kind of straight iron to purchase. She told me to make sure it had adjustable heat setting and that it must have ceramic plates and expect to pay around $100 for a great iron. I read the reviews and decided on the Solia. I'm still getting the hang of using and so far, like the results. The iron heats quickly,seem "weighty", and constructed well.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 11, 2012
    Link to this post
  • GA
    Hair
    Blonde
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Returned To Solia After Tried Chi
    This iron makes my hair much more shiny than my more expensive Chi flat iron and straightens more easily. I gave my original Solia to my daughter to buy a Chi thinking it would be better. Ended up buying another Solia because it gave such superior results (and at about half the price!) I have somewhat fine highlighted hair (gets a little wavy when wet) and my daughter has thicker highlighted hair and it works great for both.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 10, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Black
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Good Straightener
    Best straightener I have used so far.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 10, 2012
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name