ExpressShipping
Solia

Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4")

5,562 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
The Solia 1-1/4 flat iron has features to ensure true silky straight hair. 
$80.00
Free Shipping
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 5,562 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4") (5562)
Show All 5,562 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Rhode Island
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    3 Star Rating
    After Couple Years, This Straightener Does Not Work The Same.
    I bought the Solia about two and a half years ago. When i first bought this straightener, it worked great. But after two years, the straightener didn't work as well. If you want a long term straightener, i would not suggest this straightener. I am about to get the GHD straightener now because i know those straighteners have longevity. So if you are willing to invest more money in a straightener, i would highly recommend the GHD because you will have it much longer than the Solia. however, if the Solia is compared to the CHI, i would pick the Solia over the CHI. I hope this helped!!
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 8, 2012
    Link to this post
  • United States
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Such An Amazing Upgrade. In Love.
    I expected the straightener to be good... but not THIS good. I seriously LOVE this thing. It's so fun to use and it gets hot really fast. I love the temperature wheel on it. OH! And the cord is really long, which is really nice. I think my favorite thing about it is that it does not pinch or pull of the ends of my hair. I love this straightener and I will probably keep buying Solia. Much worth the money.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 7, 2012
    Link to this post
  • United States
    Hair
    Auburn
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Not The Best Choice
    I bought this flat iron after going through several Sedu irons. I loved how my hair looked with a Sedu, but after a while, the iron would stop working as well and sometimes died.

    I liked that the Solia was cheaper, and the reviews made it seem like it would work as well or better. Unfortunately, even brand new, it did not flatten my hair as well as the Sedu. I have lots of very thick hair, and the Solia brand new worked about the same as a Sedu after a year or two.

    About six months after I got it, it stopped working completely. It won't power on at all. I thought about looking into the warranty option, but honestly I'm glad for the excuse to go back to Sedu.
    2 out of 3 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 6, 2012
    Link to this post
  • San Francisco
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    A Great Straightner
    I have very thick, curly hair and this straightnerI works amazingly! I also live in San Francisco, one of the foggiest cities and still my hair stays straight and smooth :) good experience ordering with frolics as well, no problems at all. Definitely recommend the straightner as well as the site.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 4, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Blonde
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Amazing Flat Iron!!
    This is hands down the best flat iron I have ever owned! I have very thick and curly hair that I usually treat with a Keratain treatment every 6 months. I am long overdue for my next treatment, but with this flat iron you would never know. It gets my hair pin straight in two passes and stays straight for days. You will not regret buying this!!

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 4, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Oregon
    Hair
    Black
    Normal Hair
    Dry Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Solia Vs. Chi Air
    I have thick, high-volume, somewhat wavy hair with a lot of frizz, so I wanted a flat iron to straighten my hair and make it look shinny. I was unable to afford anything over $100-, so when I found the CHI Air Tourmaline Flat Iron 1â?? for $79.99, I decided to give it a try. CHI Air made my hair straight and look shinny on the first styling in the morning, but by the time I came home from work , my hair already started to look dull, dry and not so straight.

    When I read the Soliaâ??s reviews, I noticed that many people mentioned how shinny Solia made their hair look. So I decided to take a chance. (plus It was $25 off at the time) I was so glad I did and very happy with the 1-1/4â?? plate! It is a lot easier to straighten my hair with this wider plate and it keeps my hair shinny and straight though out the day and even next few days!! My hair stayed straight, soft and shinny. I love Solia so much because it is so affordable yet it's high quality. I compared Solia and CHI Air, and the result on the first day was TIE. But after the 1st day, the result that Solia brought was waaaaay better than CHI. I returned the CHI next day. (Plus, the free pouch that came from Folica was A LOT better than the one came with CHI Air!)
    I also use argan oil to reduce damage and tame my hair better. I don't think there is a "damage-free" flat iron. As gentle as Solia may be, I think it is still better to use some heat-protection.

    I suppose I should expect this product to stop working around 2 year mark since many seem to have issues around that time. Some people sounded like they were unaware of the fact that the replacements normally don't come with the warranty, so you should expect that nothing beyond 2 years is covered. Over all, I still think this is a very nice product for the price!! (It's been 6 months and so far so good!!)
    (Just for the reference, Solia is made in Korea and CHI Air is made in China.)
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 29, 2012
    Link to this post
  • West Bend ,Wisconsin
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Best Ever!!!
    I absolutely love this iron, I've had it for almost 4 years & it just starting giving me problems. It has a lifetime guarantee so I hope if I go to the mall I got it from I can get it re-placed. Well worth the money we spent on it though so I sure don't understand the negative reviews.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 27, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    I'm Pleasded With The Results! =)
    I got this flat iron a year ago and so far so good. I wanted a flat iron that would do little damage to my wavy poofy hair, while adding shine and smoothness at the same time. This iron is really good, I recommend it to all woman who want that perfect straightener!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 26, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Thick, Curly, Dry Hair...needed A Flat Iron For A Sleek Look!!
    I have curly, color-treated, dry hair and have been using all sorts of products and flat irons. My hair dresser recommended a Chi, which she uses in her salon. I read information regarding all the flat irons and decided on this one. While I probably need a larger flat iron. I do like this flat iron. It does the job to acquire a sleek look, pin straight, hair. However, it does take several strokes of the flat iron to get to that point with my hair. The MOST noticeable thing about it is that it STAYS straight. Which is difficult to obtain since I live in a very humid and hot area and every flat iron I used would not achieve this result. I do recommend this flat iron!!!
    8 out of 8 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 26, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Auburn
    Normal Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    3 Star Rating
    It's Ok
    The Solia doesn't really straighten any better than my $30 Wet2Straight that I've had for ~7 years now. For curling hair, it's wonderful, but I don't think it's worth paying more than $50 for. I don't think I'd purchase another Solia, or a higher end hair styling tool again unless it was on sale.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 24, 2012
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name