Best of Folica - Save Up To 50%
Solia

Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4")

5,547 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
The Solia 1-1/4 flat iron features the Dynamic Alignment System to ensure perfect contact between your hair and the plates which gives even heat distribution fo...
$79.99 - $89.99
Free Shipping
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 5,547 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4") (5547)
Show All 5,547 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Really Good Straightener, But...
    I first got this about 2 months ago and fell in love with how great it straightened my hair. There's not doubt that this can straighten even the coarsest and curliest hair. The only thing that I absolutely hate about it and is the reason why I'm looking to buy a new straightener is the SMELL! It has a nasty odor every time I straighten my hair! Not only does it leave that smell in the room I'm in, but it stays on my hair too. Everyone in my house always complains about how bad it smells because it carries onto other parts of the house. I don't know how to explain the smell, but trust me, it's horrible. None of my other straighteners (previously owned a Remington and Conair) left a smell this bad, but they also can't even compare to how well the Solia straightens.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 27, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Utah
    Hair
    Blonde
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Fabulous Flat Iron
    this is my second solia Flat Iron. The first one went forever and did a fabulous job. I like that you can adjust the temp setting. My 12 year old daughter also uses this and had no problems. Easy to use, very quick to heat up and durable.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 27, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Columbus, Ohio
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Great Flat Iron
    Bought this for my sister and she loves it

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 26, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Kansas
    Hair
    Blonde
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Solia Is Fantastic
    Light weight but powerful. You can give your hair a flip or curl under while straightening, and it increases volume in your hair and shine.
    I love this. I have thick, fine hair with curl UNDERNEATH, some waves that are just out of control. I used the Solia and I actually found the style that my stylist intended. I love this and it is the best flat iron I ever had.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 26, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Los Angeles, CA
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Does The Impossible
    Never thought my hair could look so good and natural. This flat iron is awesome and so simple to use. On/off switch and temperature control. Absolutely love it!

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 25, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Black
    Dry Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Good, But Don't Get Overexcited
    First of all, I used to have a chi flat iron (after 5 years of good service, it passed away.) I started looking for the chi on the web and found it here on Folica, but then I saw the Solia flat iron. I was scared to switch to another flat iron, though after reading reviews saying the Solia was definitely better than the Chi, I decided to give it a try.

    After 4 days I received my pink Solia flat iron and tried it out.

    The feeling of the plates is totally different compared to the Chi. You don't feel the plates on your hair as much as the Chi does. I don't see/feel the dynamic alignment "system". Not a big problem. I have slightly thick dry hair on top mixed with straight hair underneath. My sister has the same issue, and she has mid-length slightly wavy hair.

    Though, I have to say I need to iron 3-4 times the same strand of hair (Even at the same temperature of Chi) . With the Chi flat iron, I used to do it once.

    Overall, it's a good alternative if you used to have a Chi flat iron. As I said on the title, it's good, but don't get overexcited.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 25, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Houston, TX
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Best Straightener I've Ever Tried
    This item is awesome, I have tried GHD, Sedu, Chi and none of those are close to this straightener. Besides having the advantage that you can regulate heat, it really leaves your hair straight and smooth. Also this straightener does not burn your hair like others do. My two daughters tried it and they also loved it so I ended buying two more. For the price....best in the market!

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 24, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Wichita, KS
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    The Best Flat Iron I've Used So Far
    I bought this flat-iron after I dropped my HAI too many times and the plate detached from the base. I liked my HAI, but I didn't want to pay another $139.99 for a new one. So, I started to google "Best flat iron" and I came across folica.com. The reviews really helped. My only requirement for the flat iron was that it had to have temperature control. I researched for about 3 weeks before making my decision. At first, I was leaning towards the top rated Sedu but since it cost over $100 I was very hesitant. Then I saw the Solia, it was top rated and the cost was within budget so I went for it.
    I'M SO HAPPY THAT I DID. My hair strands are fine but I have a lot of them so it's thick, semi-coarse and curly after I wash. I have to blow dry my hair with a comb attachment prior to flat ironing. I also use coconut oil to moisturize, protect and combat humidity while I'm heat styling. My hair is about 5 to 6 inches down my back when straight. This flat iron definitely makes it easier to straighten my hair and it worked better than my HAI. I noticed right off the bat how easy it glided through my hair. It's bigger than my HAI but lighter and I was still able to get my roots. I've seen that a lot of girls have trouble getting their roots and the trick is to pull the hair up and at an angle, hold the flat iron at the top of your hair for 3 seconds as close to the scalp without burning yourself then slowly slide down the shaft.
    My hair came out really straight, soft and moveable. I was able to straighten my hair in about 1 hour and 10 minutes. With my HAI it took me 1 hour and 30 minutes
    I really love my new Solia.
    7 out of 7 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 24, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Virginia
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    What A Difference A Quality Flat Iron Makes!
    For years, I've been using cheapo flat irons on my hair. I finally decided to upgrade to the Solia, and after using it for the last two weeks, I realize that I must have been frying my hair before. With the Solia, my fine, wavy hair is not only straight, but it's also shiny and healthy looking (rather than crispy). The plates are nice and wide, and glide easily over hair -- and there aren't any screws or other parts that snag my hair and break it off (as was the case with the aforementioned cheapo flat irons). Solia = totally worth the extra money!

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 23, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Black
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    My First "big Girl" Straightener!
    Well, after a long week of waiting, today I got my Solia flat iron! I have a 1 inch and 1/4 flat iron.
    My first flat iron was a cheap Wal-mart flat iron, which snagged and did nothing but make my hair matte. My hair was flat, but not a strand was pin-straight!
    I'm only 14, and I decided to get this iron for my birthday :D And I'm really glad I got it!

    Anyways, about the iron! I love that the plates move! They don't snag your hair, and I'm glad they don't, because I was skeptical about getting this iron at first. I did a ton of research and watched a lot of Youtube comparisons.

    Once you have your specific heat setting, you really only need 1 or 2 strokes to a section pin straight. There's no excessive tugging at all, it feels so light and it just glides right through! It's amazing, and it's a BIG difference between a drugstore iron. With the Solia, you don't have to work too hard, you may feel like you're doing nothing to your hair, but that's because it's a really light flat iron, and the plates are wonderfully designed!

    Though, it does have a harsh plastic smell when you turn it on, that may be because of it just being new. . I'm not sure, but I'll see over time. Overall, it's a great flat iron that I think would be a great purchase for first timers and non-first timers! :D I hope this review helped!
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 23, 2010
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name