ExpressShipping
Solia

Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4")

5,562 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
The Solia 1-1/4 flat iron has features to ensure true silky straight hair. 
$139.99
$80.00
Save 43% + Free Shipping
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 5,562 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4") (5562)
Show All 5,562 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Hair
    Black
    Normal Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Won't Even Make My Normal Hair Straight Or Silky!
    When I first got it, I was just excited to have a new straightener, but this does not get hot enough, I used it for about 3 months and its been on the floor ever since, I went back to my FOUR year old CHI which never fails me---if anyone wants to purchase mine (HARDLY USED) I would gladly sell it...seriously.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 4, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Canada
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    No Doot Aboot It! Tis A Darn Good Straightener Eh!!
    I am not a stylist but I think it's safe to say that I've likely tried out more flat irons than boyfriends! (I really have "gotten around" when it's come to flat irons wink wink) I have been flat ironing my hair upwards of 3-4 times/wk for the last 6 years and was constantly on the look out for something better than what I was using before (insert boyfriend analogy yet again haha). My hair is shoulder length and naturally very thick/ coarse. There is a lot of annoying wave to it that just can't be tamed well enough to look presentable. When it's wet and full of product I can get away with it looking alright but as soon as I get out in the wind or my hair dries I can only describe myself as "Poofy triangle head". The search for the perfect iron for my hair type has included three Babyliss models, the corrioliss sxe, an Ionika, a Cortex, and of course the farouk CHI original. I have also had quickies with the Paul Brown, Hot tools, herstyler and a T.I creative styling iron. The CHI for the last couple of years has been my friend with benefits but as of late I'd been noticing that it wasn't performing nearly as well as it usually did. Therefore I decided it was time to see if I could find something I liked even better. I had noted the Solia in the past however was a little uncertain about ordering from Folica due to the exchange rate and risk of incurring other fee's (ie duty, brokerage with UPS). Recently a friend happened to tell me that she has owned a solia for the last five years and still loves it. I borrowed it long enough to compare performance to my other irons and decided I HAD to have one regardless of it's cost. It surpassed my test in all categories. In total I paid $97.28 CAD for my Solia. This included the 15% off promo, the 2 day UPS shipping and the $9.41 owed in import charges at the door. I thought this was a pretty sweet deal considering an authentic replacement CHI from salon would run me at least $170 (plus 13% sales tax on top). I would highly recommend the Solia (and Folica) to all my Canadian friends who are on the fence about ordering. My only regret is that I ordered mine two days before the mini free sedu iron promo started. GRRRRRR!!! ha ha
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 4, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Better Than Otc But Far From Professional Tools
    I bought this flat iron last year to replace my herstyler. The previous reviews were great but I felt disappointed after a few weeks using the product. This flat iron makes my hair dry and it does not deliver the result that I am looking for. It made my hair looked not natural (it'll make your hair flat and does not bounce). And, because it does not have that round shaped body it is very difficult to create a smooth rounded ends. I would not recommend this product as I am very disappointed.

    The pros: better than OTC flat iron.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 4, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Blonde
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Thumbs Up
    I had a CHI Flat Iron for the last 3 years. I loved it but it started to not work as good as it used to. After reading customer testimonials for the Solia, I decided to try it. I love it! I have wavy hair that always seems to be fly away, and this iron keeps it smooth and soft. (Plus I like that it comes in pink!)

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 4, 2010
    Link to this post
  • California
    Hair
    Blonde
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    3 Star Rating
    The Product Has Changed
    I bought this straightener about 5 years ago and I loved it. It was perfect. After it burned out after about 4 years, I didn't even want to change. I bought the exact same model. However, when I got it is wasn't the same. The plates are spring loaded or something, so they move. It pulls and breaks my hair every time because of the way the plates are. I always have it at the highest temperature, but it just doesn't seem as hot as the one I had first. I ended up buying a Sedu straightener after just having this one a year....I couldn't stand it anymore.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 4, 2010
    Link to this post
  • USA
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Must Buy!
    This is my second straightener by Solia and I am in LOVE! I have extremely coarse hair and this straightener does a fabulous jobs. Definitely a great recommendation for all! :)

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 3, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Kingston , Ontario
    Hair
    Blonde
    Curly Hair
    5 Star Rating
    I Love It
    I just got my new folica straightner and I LOVE IT. I have tried many over the last 10 years and this is by far the best ever. Thanks for the fast delivery!!!!!

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 3, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Minneapolis, MN
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Worth It - Uh-mazing!
    I'm so happy I bought this flat iron! It heats up fast and so easy to use. I have thick wavy hair and it straightens it perfectly and makes my hair so shiny! Plus I love being able to style it so many ways - flip out, under and a soft curl. Definitely worth the cost!

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 2, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Texas
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Amazing!!
    I am a 29 year old white female with thick wavy/curly shoulder length hair. My Solia is the best flat iron I have ever used! I traded in my CHI for this, and I'll never go back! I've been using it for about 3 weeks now. My hair straightens perfectly in half the time, and stays so much straighter longer, and actually still looks like I just flat ironed it at the end of the day. I love leaving the house every morning looking like I just left the salon! Even the guys I work with noticed the difference, they asked if I was doing something different with my hair. I highly recommend it, and I'm getting my sister one for Christmas!

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 2, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Relaxed Hair
    5 Star Rating
    I Highly Recommend This Product.
    I had previously owned a Revlon flat iron. It lasted me for years. However, it did an incredible amount of damage to my hair. I knew it was unhealthy for my hair but I loved wearing my hair straight. This most recent summer I decided to go all natural to let my hair get some strength and health back to it. Once winter hit I made the decision to go back to relaxed hair. I didn't want to reverse the strength and beauty of my hair so I went searching for a flat iron. I've heard the rant and rave of Chi's but I wasn't in the mood to spend that much money on a hair product that has the potential to damage my hair like the previous iron I owned. I had seen reviews of this product from different gurus that I watch on Youtube and decided it would be a good investment. I must say I am very impressed. I was a bit scared at first, but it straightens my hair, smoothes and give it shine and body without crushing my hair. Even at the highest heat, I notice that it doesn't damage my hair. The packaging was nice and I got a small free sample of hair shine gloss. The protective pouch is great too and I got it as a free gift! I love the color and the feel of the iron and I'm very happy I invested in this product!
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 1, 2010
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name