Steal Of The Day PINK50
Solia

Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4")

5,556 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
The Solia 1-1/4 flat iron features the Dynamic Alignment System to ensure perfect contact between your hair and the plates which gives even heat distribution fo...
$79.99 - $89.99
Free Shipping
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 5,556 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4") (5556)
Show All 5,556 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • South Korea (military Base)
    5 Star Rating
    "definitely A Keeper And Awesome Tool"
    This flat iron isn't just any ole flat iron, it is an awesome tool to have for thick, coarse hair (or any type of hair you want to look nice, smooth, and frizz free). This solia flat iron just glides thru my hair without snagging or pulling it out. I own a Sedu also which is supose to be the best or at least in the top 2-3, but I actually like the solia better! The Sedu is pretty decent and straightens very well, but my hair definitely responds to the Solia much better. That's not to say that it straightens BETTER than the Sedu but the smoothness and how it just glides thru is better. I just can't say enough about how much I love how it glides thru my hair with so much ease! I also like how I can get a very nice curl and/or flip with the solia that looks very pretty. I can't get the nice curls in my hair with my Sedu without getting dents or it looking just weird because of the squarish shape of the plates. I like it so much that I will be ordering another one so me and my daughters both can enjoy our own! BTW I have type 4a hair that is relaxed.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 3, 2010
    Link to this post
  • NY
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Love It!
    I have extremely curly hair that is often somewhat difficult to straighten, and it can take some time. I just got my Solia flat iron yesterday and used it right when I opened the box and it's by far the best I've used. I'm VERY happy with it, soo worth the money! :) (ps in my before photo I combed out my hair before straightening)
    Before Photo
    After Photo
    47 out of 54 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 1, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Relaxed Hair
    5 Star Rating
    The Best
    This flat iron leaves my hair so straight n silky n so far it hasn't damaged my hair I just received mine in march of 2010 n it really is worth the price, no doubt about it.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 1, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Virginia
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Relaxed Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Solia
    Best flat iron ever. im african american and without relzer for 3 months now and hair is fab.
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 30, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Washington
    Hair
    Blonde
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    This Iron Is An Investment!
    I purchased my Solia here on folica roughly three years ago. I am still using it and I am still pleased. I have enough hair to fill two other heads after my own, its blonde, semi-coarse with tight curl and frizz up the yingyang. When I go to have my hair shampooed at a salon they can never get it as straight or silky as me and my flat iron. My Solia still heats up just as fast as when I first got it. It curls my hair better than my marcel grip hot tools 1 inch curling iron and the curl lasts all day. My only disappointments in this product: Even though it doesn't pull them out, the iron does snag some hairs. It is mildly difficult to clean because of the swivel plates I just have to get in there with a toothpick and the joint guard with the logo cracked on both sides and popped off.
    Tips: Switch it off when not in use; don't rip the cord out of the wall.
    Store it in a heat sleeve and loosely wrap the cord vertically not horizontally-this is to have fewer curves in the wire so its less likely to fracture a wire inside and mess it up.
    Clean it!! You can buy expensive cleaners or just get some rubbing alcohol on a cotton ball (damp not soaking) and rub the plates a few times with it while the iron is OFF. Scrape any leftover product out with a toothpick from the sides of the plate. Then get a cotton ball damp with water and "rinse" off the alcohol. Repeat the "rinse cycle" 2-4 times. Turn on the iron and "flatiron" your heat pouch just to make sure nothing is left over. Make sure you smell the iron once it is turned on. You shouldn't smell anything. If you do smell something re-clean it.
    Honestly if you take care of your stuff it will last longer. This sucker should last another ten years!
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 30, 2010
    Link to this post
  • NYC
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Normal Hair
    Dry Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Just What I Had Been Looking For!!
    I can't believe it took me this long to get rid of my ceramic Chi! Wow- the Solia is so much better. No snagging like with the Chi. Lightweight, heats up fast and adorable colors. This iron glides through my hair so smoothly. Even my husband, who never notices anything, commented on how "shiny" my hair is. What an upgrade from the Chi.
    Here's how I use it. After washing my hair, I apply Redken Blown Away and comb through. I then use the hair dryer until my hair is about 90% dry. At that point I pull out my round brush and use it to pull the roots as straight as possible. I then apply Garnier Fructis Brilliante Shine Glossing spray to my hands and run it through my hair, mainly on the ends. I use a comb to comb out sections of my hair as I follow it with the Solia flatiron. I never need to go over a section more than twice. It works perfectly. I am literally through with the iron in less than 5 minutes. I highly reccommend this product!
    Also- I ordered this item on a Wednesday morning. It was at my apartment by the time I arrived home on Thursday. I love folica.com!!
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 29, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Flat Out!!!!
    I just purchased this flat iron in Blk, and I used it a couple of times on my daughter's hair. THIS FLAT IRON IS BETTER THAN A CHI! I had my Chi for only 1 yr, and it went KAPUUT!!!! I was NOT interested in purchasing another one, so I thought I would look up Folica.com. I had been on this site a few times, and I wished I had purchased my Chi from them. Maybe the darn thing would have lasted a bit longer. .... But anyhoo this one is a keeper, me and my girls hair is course so It did the job in about 30 min for each. I lied, because my oldest has fine hair, and it took her hair about 20mins! CAN you say LOVE IT!!! I am a very busy mom, and time is MONEY + PEACE ...so this little item has made my month, because it shaves time off my week. As for the shipping with this site, it too was UNBEATABLE! I also saved a BOATLOAD because I seached for a Online discount off ...it was already on sale! A EXTRA $20 BUCKAROOS MORE OFF! PLUS a 2yr Warranty ....and a free heat pouch ...and free shipping to top the cake! Shall I keep going??? JUST BUY IT ALREADY!! :P

    Not a Professional, but I feel like one!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 28, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Miami, FL
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Awesome, Awesome, Awesome!!!
    This iron is a miracle worker. Each glide leaves my hair looking radiant and it lasts ALL day!! I live in a place where the hummidity levels are unberable and this iron has managed to leave my hair looking flawless while I'm out and about. I am just really glad I invested in this product :)
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 27, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Virginia
    2 Star Rating
    A Flop
    I figure if you had really fine hair and not suffering from alot of frizz, then this iron could work for you. i have thick, wavy, course VERY frizzy hair and it didn't do anything. it didn't grip my hair. by no means, am I an expert in flat ironing. but i do think the said iron is suppose to grip your hair. when i placed my hair in between the plates and began to iron downward, it was like there was wax or something on the plates. i read a good iron is suppose to slide through the hair, but really. I let my sister try it, in case it was just me. her hair isn't as thick as mine or as course, and she had much more experience in ironing her hair. she didn't like the iron, either. the only thing i liked about this iron is trhat it was purple.
    2 out of 3 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 27, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Texas
    Hair
    Normal Hair
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    I Love This.! It's The Best.!

    I Just Received My Straightener From My Boyfriend For My Birthday And The Next Day I Had Put It To Use. Hah It Is The Best Straightener I Have Ever Received.!! Other Than The Chi.!(: Well So Far It Has Been Working Well For Me. My Hair Feels Great After Using It.! It Doesnâ??t Give My Hair That Dry Feeling That I Used To Get With My Old Straightener. It Feels Soft And Silky. I Have Highlighted My Hair Many Times Before And My Old Straightener Would Leave My Hair Looking Dry And Frizzy, Even After I Put Something In My Hair It Still Would Not Look Right. But Now Thanks To My New Straightener It Doesn't Look Like That At All.! I Love My Straightener.! It Is Also In My Favorite Color (PURPLE)* (:

    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 26, 2010
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name