Free Shipping Over $50
Solia

Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4")

5,534 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
The Solia 1-1/4 flat iron features the Dynamic Alignment System to ensure perfect contact between your hair and the plates which gives even heat distribution fo...
$79.99 - $89.99
Free Shipping
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 5,534 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4") (5534)
Show All 5,534 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Hair
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Price Doesnt Always Mean Quality
    i was very excited to get this flat iron, read so many great reviews and figured since it was in top 10 it had to be good. WRONG. i have medium length, thick, dry hair. when i tried out this flat iron the first time, i was disappointed immediately. it barely straightened, did not make the hair sleek whatsoever. it would not fully open up when releasing the hair, kept having to stick my finger in there to pry it open. once i finished my whole head my wrist ached and my hair was frizzy. i dont have unmanageable curls or anything like that, but my hair looked like a big dry disaster. i even used a CHI straightening product before straightening, but that didnt help. I returned the product immediately and got my 90 bucks back.
    2 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 24, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Canada
    Hair
    Black
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Yiks!
    Sorry Solia, you are not good.

    I did my research, Read every review, Compaired (because buying a chi / sedu would have been the same cost or cheaper ), Watched Youtube videos & read reviews on google.. ended up going with this.. in pink.

    I have / had - 2 cricket flatirons, 2 babyliss and a Bedhead flatiron. I dyed my hair from black to blonde and it was SO damaged, and much shorter - so I was looking for 1 inch, had adjustable heat settings, tourmaline and "better" ( if thats possible) for your hair flatiron. My hair is thick & wavy. Most "professional" drugstore flatirons do the job - But the Crickets/Babyliss do way better exept were not tourmaline and were not good for my hair.

    Bought this flat iron in Sept 09. It cost over 100$ canadian. Plus 30$+ shipping ( if I paid for the less shipping it would take over a month to get here ) plus the delivery guy needed 11$ customs at the door? So this iron cost me close to 150$.

    To sum it up :
    Pros : cute colors, has adjustable heat settings, swivel plates, Fast heat up.
    Cons : had to use highest heat setting to get hair kind of straight, needed 2 passes through, made my hair DULL vs. shiney, made it feel dry and horrible, SNAGGED.. and broke after 11 months of use and only 1-2 times per week.

    I ended up going back and using my cheap drugstore bedhead flatiron ( thats 2 inches) vs. this one to straighten my hair. Only used this one for curling ,flip styles and fast heat up to fix a piece of hair/ bangs. I even tried it a few months ago when my hair is black again and much heathier.. and still got snaggy, frizzy & dull results. I put the iron down to answer the door, came back and it was broke - wouldn't heat up nothing!

    Folica has a great replacement policy, but it would cost me 30$ fee for a replacement plus cost of shipping with ups. So 50$ for something I hate. No Thanks! I am getting a GHD or CHI for my birthday in a month from folica.com as it's not the folica - its just a bad bad flatiron for what it cost me.
    1 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 22, 2010
    Link to this post
  • South Carolina
    4 Star Rating
    Shine,sleek,amazing. Not Well In Humidity.
    I bought this thinking this was going to be THEE ULTIMATE flat iron.
    So, I tried. I thinned my hair in feburary with one of my hair razor's, and over the months it got more coarse. I had watched video's of people using this iron as well, so I figured wow this must be amazing (:
    The plate's have never grabbed one strand of my hair, it goes sleek and slides right through. You do have to go over the strand two times, but it does work. It doesn't add shine to your hair after the first time you use it.. that's for sure. If you don't have VERY healthy hair , or it's the slightest oily , it's HARD to straighten your hair with it.
    As for the extreme HUMIDITY (emphasis that so people see it), it won't even keep my hair straight in my own house.
    So: I picked up a quick garnier fructis humidity milks thing serum for 3 dollars at walmart.
    Helped 40% more. But I recomend lots of hairspray, or getting a perm of some sort..
    (That's only in the slightest bit of humidity)
    The straightener get's dirty real quick. Real quick.
    So I have to clean it everyday.
    My hair used to take a half hour to straighten, it now takes 10-20 minutes.
    45% more quicker than usual.
    Outside the plates, doesn't get so hot even on 400 so I can hold it down.
    Easy to use, good straightener.
    My only problem is that it won't keep my hair straight with any product I use.
    but it WILL keep the frizz down for my hair type.
    Overall, good but needs to work on working with humidity, I like in south carolina not alaska.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 22, 2010
    Link to this post
  • United States
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Oily Hair
    Curly Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    I'm In Love
    I'm absolutely obsessed! It straightens so fast, it feels healthy, my hair doesn't get caught and pulled out, it's cheap, and it leaves my hair shiny and really straight! I love it so much, I recommend this to anyone. I have really curly and thin hair, so it's pretty delicate but I felt so safe using the Solia. It's really one of a kind.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 22, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Missouri
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Best Product!
    So I was doing research about straighteners because I had been using my sister's CHI which she SWEARS by, so I was just gonna get that! But then I came across this which was cheaper and WAY better! So when it came in the mail I was SO excited! It cuts my straightening time in half and makes it less poofy and way less frizzy. I HIGHLY recommend this to ANYONE!
    Before Photo
    After Photo
    130 out of 147 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 20, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dry Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Nott Thee Best!
    Soo i got the Solia Pink Flat Iron 2 days ago and I was so excited to try itt. When I tried it I realixed I had to go over my hair a few times because it didnt straighten so much so i set it on like 400 something because i didnt wanna put it on a higher setting or it wuld burn my hairr. By the way i havee dry hair..... I thought maybe its becaus I didnt put heat protecterr. Butt i was really happy bout the shippingg. It was very fastt!
    20 out of 22 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 20, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Indore
    Hair
    Platinum Blonde
    Normal Hair
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Please Use It Bec'z It's Best
    This is one of five straighteners I have tried on my hair. It works and keeps it straight thru almost anything. Be careful if you leave it on and have delicate hair. It gets hot and there is no settings to lower it to. I use it right once it turns on and then turn it off.
    Before Photo
    After Photo
    293 out of 303 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 20, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    This Is Good
    This is one of five straighteners I have tried on my hair. It works and keeps it straight thru almost anything. Be careful if you leave it on and have delicate hair. It gets hot and there is no settings to lower it to. I use it right once it turns on and then turn it off.
    6 out of 11 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 20, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Everything I Wanted!
    This Product is great! i have very curl hair so i need lots of heat and product to make it smooth and shinny but this product does all of that! It's AMAZING! i love how it styles my hair ad it leaves it super soft and shiny. I can also do nice soft curls with it. Definetly recommend this product it's a geat buy!
    18 out of 19 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 16, 2010
    Link to this post
  • California
    Hair
    Black
    Normal Hair
    Dry Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Drugstore Quality
    My expectations for this might have been too high. I was expecting a very high quality flat iron that straightened perfectly and made your hair really nice, as if you had a straight perm. I've been using this for almost 2 months and I plan on returning it. This did straighten but nothing more. My hair shouldn't be too tough to straighten--it's somewhat thin/flat and dry, with slight waves. It didn't straighten easily even on the second highest setting. I have to straighten very slowly to get it perfectly straight. When it is straight, my hair does feel slightly lighter but it still has a stiff dryness to it. It also wore off in humid weather. That was surprising to me because I've used drugstore irons before that kept my hair straight in humidity. I'm aware of the difference in hair texture after using a good iron, and this didn't do that. The overall performance of this just felt very weak.

    Minor but notable inconveniences: Indicator lights were inconsistent when I turned it on--sometimes blinking, sometimes staying still regardless of how long/short I had it on. Hinges weren't smooth, getting slightly stuck as I un-clamped. It sounds as if I'm nitpicking, but for a flat iron over $70, those problems shouldn't even be there. This should be priced at $40 at most, not based on what was just mentioned, but on its overall quality.

    I'm CERTAIN that if you do your research, you can find a drugstore iron that can perform just as well as this one for a way lower cost. If you can make your hair work with this straightener, you can with many other inexpensive ones. Don't let the high price and brand name fool you into thinking you're getting a high-end iron.
    23 out of 40 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 14, 2010
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
  • Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with Moroccan Argan Oil Best of Folica

    Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with Moroccan Argan Oil

    Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with pure Moroccan Argan Oil protects from heat damage, leaves hair incredibly smooth and shiny and controls frizz. Similar to Moroccanoil, it contains Argan Oil which is produced from the kernels of the argan tree, found in Morocco. Argan Oil is extraordinarily rich in things like natural tocopherols and vitamin E.

    293 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $50.00 New Price: $37.00
  • Sedu Pro Ionic Ceramic Tourmaline Flat Iron (1 1/2")

    Sedu Pro Ionic Ceramic Tourmaline Flat Iron (1 1/2")

    Rated the Best Hair Straightener on the market and preferred by top hair stylists around the world, Sedu flat iron straightens, smooths and tames frizzy hair for long-lasting results. Sedu's patented ultra-smooth ceramic/tourmaline technology guarantee smooth straightening.

    5,756 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $160.00 New Price: $129.99
    Free Shipping
  • Solia 1875W Thermal Ionic Hair Dryer Best of Folica

    Solia 1875W Thermal Ionic Hair Dryer

    The latest in advanced Italian Hair Dryer Technology. Solia Thermal Ionic 1875W dryer produces millions of negative ions to make hair healthier and shinier.

    812 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $159.95 New Price: $89.99
    Free Shipping
Server Name