PlayTrickorTreat
Solia

Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4")

5,548 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
The Solia 1-1/4 flat iron features the Dynamic Alignment System to ensure perfect contact between your hair and the plates which gives even heat distribution fo...
$79.99 - $89.99
Free Shipping
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 5,548 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4") (5548)
Show All 5,548 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Indore
    Hair
    Platinum Blonde
    Normal Hair
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Please Use It Bec'z It's Best
    This is one of five straighteners I have tried on my hair. It works and keeps it straight thru almost anything. Be careful if you leave it on and have delicate hair. It gets hot and there is no settings to lower it to. I use it right once it turns on and then turn it off.
    Before Photo
    After Photo
    293 out of 303 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 20, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    This Is Good
    This is one of five straighteners I have tried on my hair. It works and keeps it straight thru almost anything. Be careful if you leave it on and have delicate hair. It gets hot and there is no settings to lower it to. I use it right once it turns on and then turn it off.
    6 out of 11 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 20, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Everything I Wanted!
    This Product is great! i have very curl hair so i need lots of heat and product to make it smooth and shinny but this product does all of that! It's AMAZING! i love how it styles my hair ad it leaves it super soft and shiny. I can also do nice soft curls with it. Definetly recommend this product it's a geat buy!
    18 out of 19 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 16, 2010
    Link to this post
  • California
    Hair
    Black
    Normal Hair
    Dry Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Drugstore Quality
    My expectations for this might have been too high. I was expecting a very high quality flat iron that straightened perfectly and made your hair really nice, as if you had a straight perm. I've been using this for almost 2 months and I plan on returning it. This did straighten but nothing more. My hair shouldn't be too tough to straighten--it's somewhat thin/flat and dry, with slight waves. It didn't straighten easily even on the second highest setting. I have to straighten very slowly to get it perfectly straight. When it is straight, my hair does feel slightly lighter but it still has a stiff dryness to it. It also wore off in humid weather. That was surprising to me because I've used drugstore irons before that kept my hair straight in humidity. I'm aware of the difference in hair texture after using a good iron, and this didn't do that. The overall performance of this just felt very weak.

    Minor but notable inconveniences: Indicator lights were inconsistent when I turned it on--sometimes blinking, sometimes staying still regardless of how long/short I had it on. Hinges weren't smooth, getting slightly stuck as I un-clamped. It sounds as if I'm nitpicking, but for a flat iron over $70, those problems shouldn't even be there. This should be priced at $40 at most, not based on what was just mentioned, but on its overall quality.

    I'm CERTAIN that if you do your research, you can find a drugstore iron that can perform just as well as this one for a way lower cost. If you can make your hair work with this straightener, you can with many other inexpensive ones. Don't let the high price and brand name fool you into thinking you're getting a high-end iron.
    24 out of 41 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 14, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Colorado
    Hair
    Light Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Best Straightner I Have Ever Owned!
    Ok, I have tried almost every straightner out there, from conair to chi.....this one is BY FAR THE BEST! I use a product on my hair by Redken and this straightner and my hair looks super healthy, SUPER shiny, this hasn't damaged my hair at all and I have used it every day for 6 weeks now! I was a little concerned that it would fry my hair and make my hair stink like most flat irons....this one doesnt have that smell when heating up, doesnt loose the temp, glides through my hair without snagging my hair and pulling it out, makes my hair shine and look amazing, heats up quickly, has a high temp setting, has the swivle cord, I could go on and on. Trust me, if you get this iron, YOU WILL LOVE IT!
    42 out of 42 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 13, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Ontario,ca
    Hair
    Black
    Curly Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Not What I Thought!
    Well I am a vey picky person, very selective...and I really thought this straightner would do the job...but at first was okay but after a month it didnt straight the way that i would want it to straight anyways i have curly hair and maybe thats the reason but still buy another flat iron! like paul mitchell??
    42 out of 61 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 27, 2010
    Link to this post
  • 5 Star Rating
    Fantastic!
    I have a black Solia flat iron and it works soo well!
    It makes my hair feel and look very shiny,soft,& silky.
    I purchased this flat iron about a month ago.
    I have very thick hair, and it does a heck of a job.
    It DOESN'T burn,tug,pull,rip,or damage my hair!
    I recommend this to anybody!
    82 out of 83 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 26, 2010
    Link to this post
  • 3 Star Rating
    Not So Good For Me
    This iron worked well at first. Then it started to pull hair as plates shifted. It pulls my hair out each time, damaging my ends. I don't use it now, because it rips out hair and pulls too much. It doesn't straighten as well now that I've had it for a few months.
    36 out of 65 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 22, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Blonde
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Great Iron...fast Delivery
    The Solia 1 1/4" iron is amazing....if you like the Chi, you'll love the Solia...the Solia straightens as well as the Chi but if you also want shine & silkiness, get the Solia....my daughter has the Chi Turbo & I just got the Solia...so, I've tried both...she wants the Solia now :) the tourmaline makes a HUGE difference...and I like that it's less damaging to my highlighted hair...good bye frizz. too!

    And Folica.com is amazingly fast! I had the iron within 72 hours!! Yes, I ordered it on Monday by 3:00 and it was on my front porch on Thursday by 3:00PM...and I tracked it all the way from New Jersey to St. Louis with UPS which is also an effective company. And,the extended warranty with a reputable company is reassuring...watch out what you buy on ebay...there are some counterfeit Chi's that look real.

    Just do it...I'mm soooo glad I did...I had a $20.00 Conair that I had to pass over each strand 4 times & didn't even get the results with my Solia in one pass!
    496 out of 556 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 15, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Bay Area CA
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Sooo Worth It.
    I have had this flat iron for YEARS! My mom bought a chi a year after I got the solia and heres died, mine...still going strong! I have long curly hair and can iron it straight in 1/2 hr. Worth the $$ AND it's on sale now! And my hair isn't overly damaged by using it tho I like curly too so only straighten once a week.
    100 out of 105 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 14, 2010
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name