ExpressShipping
Solia

Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4")

5,562 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
The Solia 1-1/4 flat iron has features to ensure true silky straight hair. 
$80.00
Free Shipping
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 5,562 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4") (5562)
Show All 5,562 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Washington, DC
    5 Star Rating
    Amazing...finally Something That Works!!
    This flat iron is absolutely amazing!! I have had the WORST experiences in the past year with my EXTREMELY curly hair. I have VERY curly and frizzy hair that takes me about 45 minutes to straighten (I have to blow it out first and then go through a few times w/a flat iron). My hair is only shoulder length if that gives you any indication of how curly it is. I had the Bio Ionic permanent straightening process done (dont do it-the product DOES NOT work!) for $700!!!!!! After I got my money back (and my hair was breaking off) I started looking for a new flat iron-even if I had to pay a lot of money. I checked into the Chi of course but was shocked to read all of the bad reviews. I read about Solia and the MANY great reviews sold me. I had my flat iron in 2 days!! I can tell you that it has worked miracles for me! Ive never had so many compliments on my hair! It looks so much healthier and is even shiny!! You are able to get right to the root because of the small top which is great! I find that I typically dont even have to go back over my sections more than once. Ive also noticed that it stays much straighter in humidity-but obviously not perfectly straight...I dont think a flat iron can possibly keep very curly hair from changing AT ALL in humidity! If you want a great product buy this!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 20, 2005
    Link to this post
  • Ellwood City, PA
    5 Star Rating
    Better Than The Chi
    I am a hair stylist and have bought a lot of junk, And have used the best . Until i decided to check out flat irons on the net. I come across the Solia. I was not sure if i wanted the Chi or the Solia Iron, so i started to read the reviews. They all sounded very good so i decided to go with Solia. I have used the Chi before. So i have seen what it can do, It was a "good" iron , but i would never own anything else. It blows the Chi away. I have only owned my Solia iron for 3 weeks and have already sold people on them. They bought one. I , as a stylist recommend this iron for all hair textures, legnths, and densities. The is no job too big for this thing.Thanks,Wendy MAzzantOwner of Trademarx SalonEllwood city, Pennsylvania
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 20, 2005
    Link to this post
  • Sweden+ Rhode Island, USA
    5 Star Rating
    You Will Not Regret...
    This hair straightener is the best hair striaghtener i have ever had! I have long, wicked curly hair, which curls up as fast as it feels a little bit of moist. After using this wonderful Solia hair straightener, my hair was as silky as ever and didnt curl up at moist or anything else for that matter. After sleeping with out having the hair up in a ponytail, it still was perfectly straight when I woke up! Its AMAZING! A MUST-BUY! However... I live half the year in Sweden and the other half in Rhode Island, USA. It works great in USA and I thought I could just use an adapter and it would work in Sweden too! But after talking to a proffessional, that was not the case. The voltage is was too high and the Hair Straightner would explode if I used it in sweden. Just a WARNING for the people who live or travel a lot to Europe...
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 20, 2005
    Link to this post
  • New Mexico
    5 Star Rating
    Best Hair I've Ever Had
    I just got the Solia a couple of weeks ago for Christmas and it is perfect. It heats up in less than a minute, temperature adjusts from 140-450 and the edges of the plates are curved so you can put a curl/flip at the end of your hair or at your roots to give your hair even more body. I have long fine textured wavy/frizzy hair. I have tried many products to get my hair smoother and more managable...nothing has worked for longer than an hour...this straightener does the job perfectly. It stays smooth and silky with no tangles for 3 days without any need for touch up. Ive used the CHI once before and it worked on my hair the same as this Solia but I didnt want to pay the price and I know someone who had to return theirs 1 month after purchase because it stopped working and I didnt want that hassle. My friend has stick straight limp hair and she she laughed at me when I suggested she try it. Straightening her hair was the last thing she wanted to do. But she tried it and was shocked over how much body and life it gave her hair and how shiny it made it. She plans to buy one herself.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 20, 2005
    Link to this post
  • Arizona
    5 Star Rating
    Very Happy With My New Solia!
    I just received my new Solia flat iron today and it was delivered right on time as Folica had specified. I chose to go with this particular one because of the positive reviews and of course the price. So far im happy with the results and hope my Solia will last me a long time. Im half Asian and African American. I have EXTREMELY thick, spiral curly hair past my shoulders. Ive been blow drying my hair straight for a long time and have used alot of hair care products and appliances. Solias flat iron is wonderful! I always thought bigger was better as far as plate size but not anymore. I can easily handle this iron. It glides smoothly without snagging my hair and it straightens. I had to go over a few pieces a couple of times but thats ok. Another good thing about this iron is that your hair cools off fast after youve gone over it. I noticed when i used to use metal plates sometimes id burn my hands because my hair was still scorching hot. Not with the Solia!!! It doesnt burn my hair like previous irons i have used and it heats up fast and cools off fast. Because of all the hair i got on my head i HAVE to blow dry my hair in sections first which usually takes 30-45 min. I find that using Sebastians Potion 9 wearable treatment for blow drying and flat ironing works wonders. (A little goes a long way). It leaves your hair nice smelling, smooth and conditioned. Sometimes i alternate with that and Alternas Caviar Heat Styling Protection spray (A little pricey but works great). I think its best to coat hair with these products or any thermal protecting products before using heat. After that i use Proclaims Glossing Polish from Sallys Beauty Supply to add some extra shine without the greasy feel to my hair. For styling and holding curls i like Biolage Thermal-Active Setting Spray. Im not a professional hairstylist or expert but i can say with all the years of experience i had with my hair i know quite a bit about what works and what doesnt for my type of hair. I am happy that i purchased the Solia. It was worth it. Thanks Folica, i will continue to order more products from you.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 20, 2005
    Link to this post
  • Canada
    4 Star Rating
    First Flat Iron
    I dont have anything to compare this flat iron to other than a really old one i bought at a department store that didnt ever do the whole straightening process form the beginning. But i absolutely love this one. I have long wavy hair and it straightens it within one run through my hair. Ive noticed the ends are getting a bit more damaged than they were when i just ironed my hair straight but its still shiny, soft and straight for days afterwards after using it once.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 20, 2005
    Link to this post
  • San Francisco
    3 Star Rating
    It's Ok, But Not Worth The Price
    This iron works well, but it doesnt straighten better or do anything that my $40 iron can do.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 20, 2005
    Link to this post
  • Mansfield, Ohio
    5 Star Rating
    Soooo Worth The Money!
    Id been using a ceramic-covered-metal flat iron & liked my hair straight...but hated how it was literally frying my hair. Not to mention pulling it out by the handfulls. I got online, did some research, and thought I was going to buy the Chi...thank goodness I was directed here. I read so many of the reviews for both the Solia and the Chi, I decided to try the Solia instead. Talk about a well kept secret!! First off it arrived amazingly fast!! My hair is very fine--but I have a ton of it. And I have this very strange curly wave to it--almost a "perm-like" wave, but extremely inconsistent. There is no rhyme or reason to my curl pattern. My sylist calls it "Rasta hair", because I am on brushing away from dread locks! So I brushed my hair out, pinned sections of it up & starting straightening with the Solia. I got hot very fast, and I have yet to burn my fingers, I really like the thick casing. With my ceramic covered metal one Id have to go over some sections of my hair three or four...sometimes FIVE times to get the bend out!! But with the Solia I never go over more than twice. Ever. What used to take at least 45 minutes now takes on average 25 minutes...and I have a LOT of hair. And my hair is so soft, and so shiny! I get lots of compliments on it, and it stays for days. The thing I like best is that my old iron used to make my hair flat--literally. But the Solia just straightens it, it still has incredible bounce and body. I swear I feel like I have movie star hair!! Now if it could just give me a movie star body....
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 19, 2005
    Link to this post
  • Massachusetts
    4 Star Rating
    Love It!
    This is the first flat iron I have bought and I didnt know much about them before--just used those of friends. I like that it isnt damaging to my hair and can be used on damp hair. Its so light and easy to use and easy to pack to take on trips. It heats up in seconds, i was amazed. My hair looks great!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 19, 2005
    Link to this post
  • Islip Terrace, NY
    5 Star Rating
    Ladies This Is The One.....
    I have very corse, thick curly hair and it worked for me. Ihave tried everything it seemd to straighten my hair and NOTHING worked. Until I found my Solia I guess its the stone mixed with the ceramic plate. My hair is just like a china doll. I have used the CHI and the Infra Shine both $150, but this one onlt $88 (for the 1 3/4). So dont hesitate to get one of your own... Also, this company was very good to work with, quick delivery.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 19, 2005
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name