Solia

Solia Merry and Bright Flat Iron Set

5,547 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
Solia Bright and Merry Flat Iron Set includes the Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion flat iron with 1 1/4 inch plates in fashionable hot pink. The set also includes ...
$181.96
$94.99
Save 48% + Free Shipping
Out of Stock
 

Reviews

Based on 5,547 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4") (5547)
Show All 5,547 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (...
    PA
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Oily Hair
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Great Long Lasting Product With Great Customer Service!
    I am not one to normally leave reviews anywhere on any site about any product however I have a reason to praise this straightener and the website that sells it! I bought my first Solia straighter in the spring of 2007. I loved it the minute it arrived. I used it consistently for 5 1/2 years. It started going around 5 years (taking longer to heat up and stay heated), but I was so impressed that it lasted over 5 years. I never had a straightener last more than a year before this one. So I replaced my old one with a purple one (excited they come in colors now!) in February of 2013 (I actually bought it in June 2012 but let the other straightener go as long as possible!). Again this new replacement I purchased worked just as well as the last. I have been consistently using it since then. Just this past Sunday it was sitting on the heated-proof pouch that came with it for free. I was doing my make-up, then I go to pick it up for a touch up and see that the plates have nearly fell off/burned off, it burned through the heated-proof pouch (the straightener was stuck to the pouch!) and burned the wooden table it was sitting on. I have never seen a straightener do this before ever and I have had at least 5 over the past 11-12 years. Needless to say I was a bit livid. So, I made a phone call today to folica.com in hopes they can do something as I truly love the straightener and assuming this one just had a malfunction. I called up and explained the whole thing to the lady on the other end and she told me it sounds like it overheated. She checked into my warranty on the straightener and the free 2 year that I got on it when I purchased it expires next month (WHEW!). So she is going to be sending me a new one (after I send in the warranty replacement form with the damaged straightener) and with a new pouch as well since the one I have/got for free with it, burned as well. She even waived the warranty replacement fee due to the damage it caused on the table. All I have to do is spend for the shipping on sending it back any way I want. I also asked if I was going to be getting a refurbished straightener or a brand new one and she told me she made a note to make sure I get a new one. I am so very pleased with the customer service on top of the straightener itself. It is an awesome straightener and so worth the price, especially when you used their awesome $25 off or 20% off promo codes. It only takes me about 20 minutes max to straighten my hair when it used to take nearly 40 with other straighteners. I am a huge fan of solia products (I have the hair dryer too which phenomenal!) and folica.com. Highly recommended!
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 21, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (...
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Great For The First 6 Months
    I'm not the type to write reviews but this is my second Solia and I won't be buying another. The first one I had for a little over a year and it died shortly there after. The one I have now will only stay on the highest setting and doesn't straighten my hair like it did when new. This iron is great for the first 6 months but slowly starts to let you down.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 16, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (...
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Fine or Thin Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Good As A Straightener
    This works well to straighten, but not to curl which is what I bought it for. I've used other straighteners that create beautiful curls in my long straight hair, but this iron does not do the trick, even though the description says it is good for curling. I will be returning this unfortunately.
    3 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 13, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (...
    Hair
    Oily Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    7+ Years Of Perfect Hair With This Iron
    I bought this iron over 7 years ago with a 1 year warranty. 11 months into my warranty, the iron stopped working (some kind of electrical issue; never looked into it). I immediately requested a new one and Folica shipped it to me with no questions asked. I have been using the replacement iron ever since and it has only recently started glitching. I will gladly purchase another of these irons. I have very long, very thick wavy hair that I can straighten to perfection in 15 minutes with this iron. Never snags and doesn't damage your hair over time (would still recommend a heat protection spray though!). Love this product and Folica.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 11, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (...
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Love!! Better Than Chi.
    I have had this straightener for around three years now and I couldn't be happier. I have used CHI brand flat irons in the past, and I actually liked the Solia flat iron better, it seemed to glide across my hair much easier without snagging or pulling on my hair. Although it is three years old, it is just as great as the first day, despite being dropped on the bathroom floor on a daily basis. Can't go wrong with this!

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 2, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (...
    Hair
    Light Brown
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Best Flat Iron I've Owned
    I love this flat iron! It gets hot within a few minutes and stays hot while I iron my whole head. I have really thick hair and was hesitant to switch from a 2" to a 1 1/4" flat iron, but after my Chi died and I saw the amazing reviews for this iron I had to have it. I also loved that it came in purple! It gets the frizz out of my hair after I blow dry it and keeps it straight for the whole day (barring rain or insane humidity). I use it almost every day and it hasn't damaged or dried out my hair at all.

    I've had my Solia for 5 years and it still works like I bought it last week. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a quality flat iron that will last them awhile.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 2, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (...
    Hair
    Auburn
    Normal Hair
    3 Star Rating
    It Was Great, Until It Broke.
    I received this late October/early November and really liked it. It made my hair shiny and it didn't kill my hair compared to my last straightener. I took good care of it, used about 3-4 times a week, and it sat at the same place on my vanity. No misuse no nothing, and it randomly stops working in January! It just wouldn't turn on. I obtained a return form and the first option under reason for return is "it stopped working". Which makes me believe it occurs more often than it should. Now I have to pay 9.95 for a replacement.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 2, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (...
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Curly Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Great While It Lasts
    The flat iron is great while it lasts. The first one I bought lasted about 6 months and stopped working (seems to be a trend). Sent it back and the replacement maybe lasted about the same amount of time and began "shorting out", had to keep the wire in a certain position for it to heat up so it would still go off and on as I used it because the wire moves. Longevity definitely not a quality of this product. Now to find a new brand..

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 29, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (...
    Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Stopped Working After Two Years
    Mine just stopped working one day after 2 years and 5 months of use. The warranty is for 2 years, so I am SOL. Also, I felt like it didn't add any shine like other flat irons I've used, and I didn't like that it didn't have an automatic shut-off feature. I would not recommend this product at all.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 26, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (...
    PGH, PA
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    5 Star Rating
    You'll Never Go Back, Never!
    I am sooo in love w/ this flat iron, I can't even begin to describe just how much I love it! when I first bought this, I had been going back & forth, trying to decide between this or the Sedu, but, finally, I chose this, mainly because of the beautiful sapphire-colored plates & I am sooo happy I did! at the time, I was 17 or 18, so that was way back in 2007 or 2008 & it still works AMAZINGLY well, plus the cord is VERY long.
    before I decided to take the plunge on this, I was using Revlon's Perfect Heat Ceramic straighteners & buying new ones, like, every couple of years or so & they were damaging my hair SO badly, ntm, I was wasting my money! I think they sell them on here, so look them up, but DON'T buy it cause the ceramic peels off, too; overall, it's a waste.
    when I bought this straightener, my hair was pretty long but it was only to the bottom of my shoulder blades; now, it's almost down to my waist & my hair is naturally curly & to straighten it, from being curly, it only takes about 10-20mins., which is amazing! you will NEVER go back to using any other straightener, ever. I actually don't know why I didn't buy this sooner than I did. I can say nothing bad about this & nothing else, other than I very, very highly recommend buying a Solia. the sides of the plates don't even get that gross black residue on them, probably, mainly because you don't need to put a lot of products in your hair before you style it, so it doesn't get build-up. my hair can get really dry but even when it does, it still looks amazing & beautiful & so shiny, thanks to this.
    just put some Biolage Smoothing Milk on wet hair (or serum), let it dry or blow dry it, straighten it, then spray it w/ a few spritzes of shine spray & you're good to go!
    I don't know what I'll do when this breaks, if it ever does! I'll MOST DEFINITELY buy a new one. you do have to be very, very careful w/ the cord, though, just because it's so long that it gets tangled up very easily, right away, but I think since it has such a thick outer plastic, it might have a little extra protection.
    anyway, the last thing is that you don't even need to turn up the heat all the way to 450.. in fact, if you do, your hair would just get really flat, plus it'd be wasting electricity. buy this, you won't regret it & it will last you forever!

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 23, 2014
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name