Free Shipping Over $50
Best of Folica - Save Up To 50%
Sedu

Sedu Pro Ionic Ceramic Tourmaline Straightener (1", 220-240V, Plug Type C)

78 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
This model (plate 1" wide) is equipped with plug type C, designed to use with 220-240V electricity. Ideal for travel overseas (China, Denmark, Finland, Germany,...
$170.00
$128.95
Save 24% + Free Shipping
Out of Stock
 

Reviews

Based on 78 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Sedu Pro Ionic Ceramic Tourmaline Straightener (1", 220-240V, Plug Type C) (78)
Show All 78 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Hair
    Auburn
    Normal Hair
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Great For Travel To 220-240v With Type C/cee 7/16 Europlug Countries
    Having this flat iron is a great convenience! How nice it is to be able to travel abroad and know that I don't have to stress about hunting down a drugstore brand, cheap (and thus, likely damaging) flat iron compatible w/ 220-240V. This Sedu is most definitely a step up from from that. It's a pro that knows how to act like it. I won't go so far as to say that it's the end-all of all amazing irons, because it isn't. But it IS a fantastic iron that you'll appreciate if, like me, you have wavy, normal texture, heavily color-treated hair, because come on--who doesn't want to look good, especially away from home? ;) The plates appear to be well-made, and even at it's highest temperature it doesn't fry my hair. I bought the 1" plate version because I love to flip my hair at the ends and this is perfect for that. So far I've used it in Spain and Argentina. It behaved beautifully. I make a point of packing it carefully and being as gentle as possible because I don't want it to become a casualty of rough travel (it's pricey, so take it in your carry-on, not checked bags. My suggestion is to not wrap the cord around the iron, but rather follow the natural "fold" points and pack the iron in the Folica sleeve, and the cord in the outer flap w/ the velcro closing). I bought this flat iron because Type C/Europlug is most common for European and Latin American countries that use 220-240V. I also took it to France, for example, who, while also being 220-240V country, doesn't use Type C, but I bought a travel adapter in Spain specific for use on Type C appliances. Voilá, no problems! All I needed was to be able to plug into a French outlet and use the iron as I normally would. Overall, it's been a great buy. Flat irons are one of those hair appliances where you truly should use one specific to the electric current/voltage/wattage of the country you're using it in. From experience I can tell you that high-end flat irons (GHD, Chi, etc) just don't "translate" well when used w/ a voltage converter or adapter-plus-voltage converter. There's a reason they don't make them dual voltage! Low-end dual voltage hot rollers & hair dryer, yes; but not flat irons. And because this one is so expensive, I'm like most of you reading this: I'm crossing my fingers that I don't run into a situation, as some reviewers below, where the iron breaks and putzes out after minimal/short-term use. So far, so good. It's a pricey investment and I'm hoping it lasts for years, as my other high-end flat irons have. Good luck and good travels, everyone!
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 2, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Normal Hair
    1 Star Rating
    Works Well For Only A Month Or So!
    I wrote a review on this before saying how wonderful this iron is! I really regret that!
    It stopped working well after few months! I don't even use it so much! I spent so much money but this product left me very sad!
    It doesn't heat up like it used to in the beginning! DO NOT get it!
    I finally got smoothing process done on my hair which costs me $400 ...NOw no hassle for straightening,...My hair feels silky shiny and so smooth! I don't have to straighten my hair now for another year!
    I m frizz free...LOL

    SMOOTHING IS SOMETHING LIKE KERATIN TREATMENT..ITS ALSO CALLED REBONDING OF HAIR IN SOME COUNTRIES!
    rebonding is permanent straightening

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 27, 2012
    Link to this post
  • New York,
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Best Hair Straightner Ever!
    I bought this flat iron and took it over to india! I use it quite often. My hair feels so shiny and smooth for days until I wash them. It doesn't damage hair! I luv sedu products and I also use their Argan oil, heat protectant. I tell you it does an awesome job in protecting hair! I highly recommend Sedu! Luv Sedu!

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 16, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Great Product For Curly Hair!
    When I was in the U.S. I was addicted to CHI hair straighteners. I thought I wasn't going to be able to live without my CHI. When I moved to Germany -- I read all of the reviews for the Sedu, so I thought I would give it a try - and I am glad I did! This product is amazing! I am Hispanic and I have really curly hair, but when I use the SEDU, I look like I have naturally straight hair. I would recommend this product to everyone!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 16, 2012
    Link to this post
  • New York, NY
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Relaxed Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Pretty Good
    I bought this Sedu for a trip to Europe, having read all the stories about US flatiron blowouts with voltage converters overseas. I used it three times during my trip (Italy, Croatia), and had no problems. I like the adjustable temp, although even the higher temps did not handle my thick, curly hair as well as my US GHD. Still, nice to have a good flatiron that worked easily in Europe. I recommend it.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 4, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Curly Hair
    5 Star Rating
    This Flat Iron Works Great !
    I bought the Sedu Pro Ionic Ceramic Tourmaline Straightner -plug type C for a recent trip to Italy. I'm so glad that I bought it ! I have coarse, curly hair and it did a fantastic job - my hair was smooth and silky. The Sedu worked as good as the GHD flat iron I have at home. It was worth it to spend the money to buy a flat iron with the 220-240 V and the correct plug type. On a previous trip to Europe a few years ago I tried to use my usual flat iron with an adapter and converter, but it not work at all.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 9, 2010
    Link to this post
  • 5 Star Rating
    :d
    I love this iron! My hair is naturally wavy/curly and medium in thickness. My hair stays straight and feels so smooth after using it. I love it and I highly recommend this to any girl :)
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 5, 2010
    Link to this post
  • 5 Star Rating
    Surprise
    I bought this for my Daughter who lives in Germany, she was a little diappointed it was not a CHI. I told her to use it and then let me know what she thinks. Low and Behold she loved it. said it worked really well, better than any one she has owned! : )
    18 out of 20 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 16, 2010
    Link to this post
  • 1 Star Rating
    That Is All It Took
    I haven't even ordered it yet, but if I am going to spend over $100 on something, it better work for years! The fact that two reviews say that it didn't last more than two months, that is all it took. Not worth the money, moving on.
    41 out of 42 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 28, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Asuncion, Paraguay
    5 Star Rating
    It Is A Really Great Straightener. I Would Def. Recommend Anyone To Get It.
    I have the Chi straightener at home and i love it too. It is just that i moved to my home country where the voltage is 220V and i couldnt use my chi so i decided to get another chi that i could use here but instead i came across this straightener and i do not regret it finding it!!!!!!!!!!!!! I LOVE IT. It gets hot suuuuper fast. It straights my hair great! It does everything it promises. I only use it once a week though bc i do not like putting so much heat on my hair but it works amazingly! I would recomend anyone to get it, you will not regret the purchase!!
    5 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 17, 2010
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
  • Sedu Revolution Pro Tourmaline Ionic 4000i Hair Dryer Best of Folica

    Sedu Revolution Pro Tourmaline Ionic 4000i Hair Dryer

    Sedu continues to innovate in its line of heat styling products with creativity and the latest advanced technology. One of the first professional hair dryers of its kind with super compact size and light weight design, Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Ionic 4000i Hair Dryer has 60% more power than a conventional dryer. With the most effective tourmaline coated ionic generator, this dryer reduces frizz and static by 90% and cuts drying time in half. Get it today, Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Ionic 4000i Hair Dryer is the only dryer you will ever need!

    871 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $300.00 New Price: $190.00
    Free Shipping
  • Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Ionic Styling Iron 1 Best of Folica

    Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Ionic Styling Iron 1

    Winner of 2013 ALLURE Magazine's Best Of Beauty Flat Iron! Sedu Revolution Styling Iron features revolutionary technologies that allow you to create any hairstyle imaginable with half of the time and virtually no damage. Sedu Revolution's Ultra Smooth 1 inch plates leave your hair shiny and healthy. Includes 2 year warranty and free heat proof mat/pouch.

    1,049 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $200.00 New Price: $159.99
    Free Shipping
Server Name