ExpressShipping
Sedu

Sedu Pro Ionic Ceramic Tourmaline Straightener (1 1/2" , 220-240V, Plug Type C)

56 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
This model (plate 1.5" wide) is equipped with plug type C, designed to use with 220-240V electricity. Ideal for travel overseas (China, Denmark, Finland, German...
$170.00
$135.95
Save 20% + Free Shipping
Out of Stock
 

Reviews

Based on 56 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Sedu Pro Ionic Ceramic Tourmaline Straightener (1 1/2" , 220-240V, Plug Type C) (56)
Show All 56 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • NJ
    5 Star Rating
    Love It But Only Lasts 1-2 Years
    My first three of these only lasted around a year. The last one I had just broke but it lasted 2 years and 4 months which wasn't too bad. This is the best flat iron I even had. I just wish it lasted longer. I think it needs a swivel cord because after all the abuse it takes, it seems like there's a bad connection after a while and I have to moved the cord around to get it to stay on.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 23, 2013
    Link to this post
  • California
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Relaxed Hair
    1 Star Rating
    It Died After 17 Days Of Use
    I normally use a Solia for my daily hair straightening, which does a fantastic job. However, I needed a flat iron that could handle high overseas voltage, so I bought the Sedu Pro Ionic Ceramic Tourmaline Straightener, plug type C.

    At first I was very pleased. I went with a wider straightener than my usual 1" & the increased size was great for traveling, since it speeded up the straightening process.

    I used my new Sedu roughly every other day for a month while in Thailand & it did a fantastic job. Afterwards, I packed it away & didn't use it for year. One year later, I took it with me to Great Britain. The first couple of days it worked wonderfully with a plug adaptor. Britain's voltage is the same as Thailand's so there was no need for a voltage converter/regulator. However, on the 3rd day, it died on me. It simply wouldn't turn on & get hot. Of course all this occurred after the limited warranty expired. I tried it with a converter & adaptor at home & it still didn't work.

    Now, it is in a pile of e-waste waiting to be taken to the dump.

    To pay $135 for a product that you've only used for 17 days over the course of a year only to have it irreparably break is disappointing to say the least. I felt ripped off.

    When you're traveling, you need a product to work reliably & this one didn't. Now I'm in need of a new flat iron for traveling overseas. I don't know that I want to rely on a Sedu again, but the options for overseas use are also severely limited. Back to the drawing board.
    6 out of 7 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 28, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Washington DC, USA
    4 Star Rating
    Sedu 220
    I like the product but it's too early to tell as to product longevity. However, am very satisfied for it suits its purpose well. It definitely straightens my hair and with a little freeze control solution, it leaves my hair smooth and straight. But it's such a comfort to be able to use this quality product while travelling outside of the US. The only reason I gave it one rating below best is because I believe the product for the price should come equipped with the required end-plug adapter because without it, the Sedu could not be plugged directly in electrical sockets available in some Asian countries listed with the product description. Including this comment in this review is important to make buyers aware they need to purchase the required end-plug adapter to be able to use it right away when travelling to the listed countries for this product. The promo of a free mini sedu plus 2 year warranty on the product is a great deal that is why I ordered both the 1.5 inch and 1 inch version of the 220 voltage Sedu products. One each for my daughter and I. Thank you Sedu for being a lifesaver.
    13 out of 14 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 8, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Garfield Hts. Ohio Usa
    5 Star Rating
    Worth The Money!!!
    Still working great after a year & a half.....At first i was afraid to spend that kind of $ on a straightener, but after using it, i will never go back to using a cheap store brand again!!! I was using a $35 straightener, & it always made my hair smell burned, & the cheapy one burned some of my hair out & made it shorter & it would not grow.....With the sedu, my hair is finally growing again, all my friends & relatives noticed that. I will be buying another sedu shortly, please stay away from the cheap store brands, they will destroy your hair!!!!!
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 25, 2009
    Link to this post
  • 5 Star Rating
    I Simply Love This Iron
    I had been using Chi for a year and a half. It started working great, and then It started having all sorts of problems. The light wouldn't turn on, it wouldn't get as hot anymore, and simply did not work as well. So one day I decided to give sedu a shot. my cousin had been using it and she was satisfied. I'd have to say I am beyond IMPRESSED! My hair feels very silky, smooth and easily straightened. I don't know what took me so long to find the magic pill for treating my frizzy, uncontrollable hair. I won't lie. When it's humid out, my hair does get frizzy. But as long as the weather is not crazy, my hair is in very good shape. Did I mention the shine, and smoothness? I'm a happy sedu user. Definitley recommend it to anyone withs tubborn curls/waves/frizzy hair. See for yourself.
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 26, 2009
    Link to this post
  • Sparks, NV, USA
    5 Star Rating
    Best Straightener Ever!
    I've had this straightener for about 3 years now and it hasn't lost it's touch. It gets hot REALLY fast (about 5-15 seconds I've noticed) and it makes my hair really silky and smooth. I would definitely recommend this to anyone!
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 6, 2009
    Link to this post
  • Richmond
    5 Star Rating
    Nice
    i brought this straightener 2 years ago and i love it. i know it is kinda expensive but my hair is really thin and frizzy, esp after washing it. so back then i used to straighten it every day because i do it after i wash and blow dry my hair every time. because of that, my hair got heat damaged and ended up i had to cut them all up to my chin length. i was wishing to have my hair down to my shoulder length but then i really love how it makes my hair straight and shiny so i could not stop straightening it every time. but i would not regret buying this product. i think i will cut it off using it every time. may be using it may be once awhile.Great product after all. i would recommend my frds to get it
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 16, 2009
    Link to this post
  • Raleigh, NC
    5 Star Rating
    This Is A Great Product
    I was a little worried about buying a product I knew nothing about, but I was very pleasantly surprised. I bought this product to take with me to Spain, as I was studying abroad for 6 weeks and couldnt stand the thought of having messy hair the entire time. This straightener worked very well, just as well as the very expensive straightener I use in the U.S. I would highly recommend it. Shipping was prompt as well.
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 16, 2008
    Link to this post
  • 2 Star Rating
    Good While It Lasted.
    when i got my sedu, it worked great. i had it since mid june. last moth, something came loose and caused the plates to be unstraight. then it would do this thing where it would get stuck upen, then suddenly clamp shut. i was just starting to straighten my hair this morning, when the two plate things snapped off eachother. now im gonna have to buy a new straightener. what garbage.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 23, 2008
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Curly Hair
    4 Star Rating
    It's Alright.
    I love this straightener! Im 14 and i have realllly curly hair, and it gets my hair straight without giving me split ends and frying my hair. I use it everyday. I have to order a new one though because the one i have now, started sparking and it burnt a big hole in my hand. I had to go to the emergency room, but it was worth it, becasue youll have perfect hair for the first 3 months you have it, and then youll have to go by another $125 straightener, just to get another hole burnt into your hand. So if you want to by a $125 dollar straightener every 3 freaking monthes, then i totally suggest this!
    6 out of 7 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 2, 2008
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name