Free Shipping Over $50
Labor Day Sale
Sedu

Sedu Pro Ionic Ceramic Tourmaline Flat Iron (1 1/2")

5,763 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
Rated the Best Hair Straightener on the market and preferred by top hair stylists around the world, Sedu flat iron straightens, smooths and tames frizzy hair fo...
$160.00
$129.99
Save 19% + Free Shipping
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 5,763 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Sedu Pro Ionic Ceramic Tourmaline Flat Iron (1 1/2") (5763)
Show All 5,763 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Hair
    Dry Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Got Mine 5 Years Ago
    I know the quality of the iron has changed, since there is a high demand for Sedus, so surely there must be something wrong with the manufacturing portion of it. i am sorry for everyone who has received a shotty product, happened to me when I tried to buy a replacement 1 inch. I had mine for 5 years now before it won the trillion of awards and had such a high demand... I passed this down to my cousin, who I wanted to have a quality flat iron, and it still works like new. I did not need an iron so large,and got the sedu icon during folicas sedu half off sale :).

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 25, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Dallas,TX
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Still The Best Flat Iron........
    I BOUGHT THIS FLAT IRON LIKE THREE OR MORE YRS AGO. I STEEL HAVE IT AND ITS MY FAVORITE EVEN THOE THE CORD DOESNT REALLY WORK ANYMORE, I BOUGHT THE ''SOLIA FLAT IRON'' BECAUSE I LIKED THE CORD THAT TURNS, BUT I DIDNT LIKE IT BECAUSE ITS NOT HOT OR SMOOTH LIKE THE SEDU DOES. THE SEDU LEAVES MY HAIR SO SMOOTH,SHINEY NATURAL LOOKING HAIR. THE ''SOLIA'' DOES TOO BUT YOU HAVE TO PASS IT MORE TIMES TO LEAVE IT HOW YOU WANT IT. THE ''SEDU'' IS SO MUCH FASTER AND BETTER. YOUR GOING TO LOVE THE SEDU FLAT IRON!!!
    *** ( NEED TO FIX/CHANGE THE CORD.)***
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 24, 2013
    Link to this post
  • 2 Star Rating
    Great Product, When It Works!
    I loved this iron when I first got it and it worked great for the first year and a half, then it developed an electrical short in the cord at the base of the unit. It was covered under the 2 year, so I received a replacement. The replacement didn't even last 7 months (same issue) and at that point I was out of the warranty period. Won't get another one.
    8 out of 8 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 24, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Mesa, AZ
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    The Best Flat Iron!!!
    This is by far the best flat iron I have ever used!! It is very gentle on my hair and works very well with my keratin treatments!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 23, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Fine or Thin Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Pulls Ends Of Hair
    I decided to purchase this Sedu after I accidentally fried my T3 in Asia (don't bring your flat irons abroad ladies!), and am overall pleased with the new iron. After using my T3 for about 4 years, this is the first time I've had compliments on how great my hair looks after I've straightened it. Comments such as "How did you get your hair so straight?" and "Did you straighten your hair today? It looks great!", which I never had before, so obviously the Sedu is doing something right!

    The only cons I've found are the fact that the cord does not have a swivel connection, and that the plates pull the ends of my hair. I almost returned the flat iron since it did pull my hair, but after all the compliments, the results were worth the minor nusiance.
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 23, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Texas
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Finally!
    I absolutely love this straightener! I never thought I would be able to find a straightener that could make my hair look so straight, shiny, and healthy looking. I've been telling everyone about it because I'm so happy that I finally found something that works with my hair. I was skeptical at first, because it feels so light but this straightener has done wonders on my hair and I would recommend it to anyone.
    1 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 22, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    1 Star Rating
    Disappointed
    Really wanted to like this because it came really highly recommended, but the second I took it out of the box, I knew I wouldn't. The plates didn't close right. I tried it anyway, and my hair snagged and pulled. It was pretty bad. I'm super bummed. Returning it right away and going to give the 1" a shot.
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 17, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Pensacola, Fl
    Hair
    Light Brown
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Nice!!
    Ive had this straightener for about a week now and i gotta say i really like it. It leaves my hair nice and soft! Takes no time at all to run through my hair however i think i need to turn up the heat a notch. Only down fall is it does pull a little.. i expected it to be smooth running through my hair and not pull from the other reviews i read before i purchased it, but it does pull and it doesnt glide through my hair as smooth as it expected. But over all i love it!

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 15, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Sedu 1" What You Save On Price You Will Pay In Shipping And Shipping And Shipping...
    I had a Sedu 1" for a few years (and loved it!) before it just quit working one day so I ordered a new one. It must be something in the internal wiring of the hinge but I just shipped back my second deffective one in a year. They have both just quit turning on, or the sensor light turns itself off and with it the heat after warming up. I use it a few times a week, on a mid temperture, and I never wrap the cord so I am not sure why it keeps "burning" up. At almost $150 for my original purchase and then almost $150 for the next one and $10 a pop replacement S&H along with $10 a pop on the replacements to ship the broken ones back I have invested way too much money on a product that comes so highly recommended. If this next one goes then I am switching back to CHI at least I won't pay $20 in shipping every time it burns up. I have owned a Sedu flat iron and used it regularly since 2007.
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 12, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Takes Several Passes, Not Hot Enough
    I bought the Sedu Pro Ionic Ceramic Tourmaline (1 1/2") in August 2010 to replace a Babyliss ceramic flatiron that died after several years. Before the Babyliss, I had a Conair, but that had metal plates. The Conair worked great, but the coating off the metal plates eventually wore off and I learned that ceramic/tourmaline is better for your hair.

    I have thick wavy hair and from the first time I used the Sedu, I noticed it did not get as hot as the Babyliss or the Conair. If I had the Babyliss on its highest setting, I could see the steam coming off my hair and it would be straight in the first pass and then the second pass would make it silky/shiny. Unfortunately, the Sedu does not get near as hot and I can see steam only if I hold it for several seconds in the same spot. I know you it is healthier for your hair if it doesn't steam, but that just illustrates visually the difference in the heat.

    It takes multiple passes and I have to go slowly with each pass to get my hair straight. Even after straightening it is not as smooth and silky as when using a hotter flatiron like the Babyliss or Conair. Also, after one or two passes, the green light on the Sedu goes solid (opposed to flickering) so I have to give it a few seconds to get back up to temperature before the next pass.

    However, I do like the heat resistant pouch that came with it and leave that on my bathroom counter as a pad. Also, after 2 1/2 years, the iron is till functioning as it did at the time of purchase. The problem is I did not like its performance in the beginning and still find it not up to par today. But after spending $129 for it, I want to get my money's worth even if it takes me twice as long to get my hair straight. And technically, it ain't broke. Regardless, I would not buy this brand again and kinda hope it breaks soon I can justify a different purchase.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 9, 2013
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
  • Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with Moroccan Argan Oil Best of Folica

    Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with Moroccan Argan Oil

    Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with pure Moroccan Argan Oil protects from heat damage, leaves hair incredibly smooth and shiny and controls frizz. Similar to Moroccanoil, it contains Argan Oil which is produced from the kernels of the argan tree, found in Morocco. Argan Oil is extraordinarily rich in things like natural tocopherols and vitamin E.

    293 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $50.00 New Price: $37.00
  • Sedu Revolution Clipless Curling Iron Best of Folica

    Sedu Revolution Clipless Curling Iron

    The Sedu Revolution Clipless Curling Iron takes curling to a new level. The Sedu Revolution Clipless Curling creates long lasting curls and waves that are frizz-free, shiny and long lasting. This professional curling iron is made with Sedu patented polishing process to create smooth curls and the clipless barrel results in curls with no creases!

    634 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $150.00 New Price: $119.99
    Free Shipping
  • Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Styling Iron 1.5 inch Sale

    Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Styling Iron 1.5 inch

    NEW! Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Ionic Styling Iron with 1.5 inch plates has all the features of the highly acclaimed Sedu Revolution with 1 inch plates, now with larger plates. The 1.5 inch tourmaline ceramic plates is perfect for longer, thicker hair. Ceramic Tourmaline plates ensure frizz free, shiny hair.

    66 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $200.00 New Price: $159.99
    Free Shipping
  • Sedu Revolution Pro Tourmaline Ionic 4000i Hair Dryer Best of Folica

    Sedu Revolution Pro Tourmaline Ionic 4000i Hair Dryer

    Sedu continues to innovate in its line of heat styling products with creativity and the latest advanced technology. One of the first professional hair dryers of its kind with super compact size and light weight design, Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Ionic 4000i Hair Dryer has 60% more power than a conventional dryer. With the most effective tourmaline coated ionic generator, this dryer reduces frizz and static by 90% and cuts drying time in half. Get it today, Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Ionic 4000i Hair Dryer is the only dryer you will ever need!

    865 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $250.00 New Price: $179.99
    Free Shipping
  • Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Ionic Styling Iron 1 Best of Folica

    Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Ionic Styling Iron 1

    Winner of 2013 ALLURE Magazine's Best Of Beauty Flat Iron! Sedu Revolution Styling Iron features revolutionary technologies that allow you to create any hairstyle imaginable with half of the time and virtually no damage. Sedu Revolution's Ultra Smooth 1 inch plates leave your hair shiny and healthy. Includes 2 year warranty and free heat proof mat/pouch.

    1,047 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $200.00 New Price: $159.99
    Free Shipping
Server Name