20OffSedu
Sedu

Sedu Pro Ionic Ceramic Tourmaline Flat Iron (1 1/2")

5,775 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
Rated the Best Hair Straightener on the market and preferred by top hair stylists around the world, Sedu flat iron straightens, smooths and tames frizzy hair fo...
$160.00
$129.99
Save 19% + Free Shipping
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 5,775 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Sedu Pro Ionic Ceramic Tourmaline Flat Iron (1 1/2") (5775)
Show All 5,775 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Sedu 1" What You Save On Price You Will Pay In Shipping And Shipping And Shipping...
    I had a Sedu 1" for a few years (and loved it!) before it just quit working one day so I ordered a new one. It must be something in the internal wiring of the hinge but I just shipped back my second deffective one in a year. They have both just quit turning on, or the sensor light turns itself off and with it the heat after warming up. I use it a few times a week, on a mid temperture, and I never wrap the cord so I am not sure why it keeps "burning" up. At almost $150 for my original purchase and then almost $150 for the next one and $10 a pop replacement S&H along with $10 a pop on the replacements to ship the broken ones back I have invested way too much money on a product that comes so highly recommended. If this next one goes then I am switching back to CHI at least I won't pay $20 in shipping every time it burns up. I have owned a Sedu flat iron and used it regularly since 2007.
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 12, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Takes Several Passes, Not Hot Enough
    I bought the Sedu Pro Ionic Ceramic Tourmaline (1 1/2") in August 2010 to replace a Babyliss ceramic flatiron that died after several years. Before the Babyliss, I had a Conair, but that had metal plates. The Conair worked great, but the coating off the metal plates eventually wore off and I learned that ceramic/tourmaline is better for your hair.

    I have thick wavy hair and from the first time I used the Sedu, I noticed it did not get as hot as the Babyliss or the Conair. If I had the Babyliss on its highest setting, I could see the steam coming off my hair and it would be straight in the first pass and then the second pass would make it silky/shiny. Unfortunately, the Sedu does not get near as hot and I can see steam only if I hold it for several seconds in the same spot. I know you it is healthier for your hair if it doesn't steam, but that just illustrates visually the difference in the heat.

    It takes multiple passes and I have to go slowly with each pass to get my hair straight. Even after straightening it is not as smooth and silky as when using a hotter flatiron like the Babyliss or Conair. Also, after one or two passes, the green light on the Sedu goes solid (opposed to flickering) so I have to give it a few seconds to get back up to temperature before the next pass.

    However, I do like the heat resistant pouch that came with it and leave that on my bathroom counter as a pad. Also, after 2 1/2 years, the iron is till functioning as it did at the time of purchase. The problem is I did not like its performance in the beginning and still find it not up to par today. But after spending $129 for it, I want to get my money's worth even if it takes me twice as long to get my hair straight. And technically, it ain't broke. Regardless, I would not buy this brand again and kinda hope it breaks soon I can justify a different purchase.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 9, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Black
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Sedu Rocks!
    i have frizzy indian hair -- and its very curly and wild... "curly" is the polite way to say it but its really thin and frizzy and "curly" ... anyway sedu owns my hair - and i take pride in the fact that i can straighten my hair (which goes to my mid back) in 8 minutes flat. LOVELOVELOVE this straightener... you know its great b/c my mom just got the exact one b/c she thought my hair looked that great with this product!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 7, 2013
    Link to this post
  • MO
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Works Great
    The flat iron is used mostly by my daughters, 12 & 18, but they like it. It straightens without burning the hair, works quickly.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 5, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Tx
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    1 Star Rating
    Buyer Beware (does Not Last)
    My mom first bought me this straightener back in july because I had one that had given out after 3 years. Within the first week of this purchase it broke, sent it back and was sent a refurbished one. That one lasted all of 3 weeks and completely died . Long story short I'm on my fourth straightener in less than 6 months. Its great when it does work but frustrating when it decides to die. Not worth the $120 price tag and all the return shipping fee ($10 each time) not to mention what I had to pay to ship it back. I could understand if I had dropped it but that has never been the case. Spend your money on something else.
    5 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 4, 2013
    Link to this post
  • 1 Star Rating
    Great When It Works
    DONT DO IT!!!!! IM ON MY 3RD REPLACEMENT IN 10 MONTHS!
    8 out of 9 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 4, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Hair Saving Arrival
    I have used the Sedu flate iron for several years now; each one gets better. The last one was over 3 yrs old when it died just before Xmas. The new one arrived by the next day! You cannot imagine how gratful I was. Seldom a day goes by that I don't use it. Thank you , thank you , thank you.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 4, 2013
    Link to this post
  • USA
    Hair
    Black
    Normal Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Good, Not Quite Great
    I purchased this a while ago, maybe about 9 months ago, and I can say that it still works as well as it did the day I first got it. I have naturally straight hair, but I use this anyway (weird, I know). I don't use any heat protectant sprays or anything on my hair before I flat iron it, but this little black flat iron still works pretty well. It lasts most of the day, so I can't complain too much, but it leaves me wanting to try a CHI next. I've compared my hair to the hair of my friends who use a CHI, and I can tell a difference. Their hair seems pin straight, and my hair just seems straight; their hair stays pin straight the whole day, and my hair gets less straight throughout the course of the day. I don't know what it is; maybe they have better hair than me, maybe it's the flat iron, or maybe it's that I don't use a heat protectan/styling spray. Or maybe it's just me, because I get A LOT of compliments on my hair, even though I don't see what's so great about it. I'm sorry my review probably is not very helpful, but I just thought I'd share. Is this a good product? Yes. Is it worth $130? I don't know, I got a good deal on mine during Mother's Day weekend, and it might have been a bit cheaper then. I got this based on its reviews, and I haven't been disappointed yet. Overall, I am satisfied-just not IN LOVE-with this product. :)
    2 out of 3 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 1, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Casa Grande, AZ
    Hair
    Auburn
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Sudu Flat Iron
    I did my homework on this flat iron, everything I read said this was for me! It's nice but cheaply made, not what I expected. It does straighten well but only on very high setting, which as all the others leaves the smell of burnt hair. I'm very disappointed in this product or maybe I just expected a miracle!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 1, 2013
    Link to this post
  • New York Area
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Excellent Product With Dramatic Results
    This product purchased a month ago and used daily; delivers on a technical and results basis. It heats rapidly - handles efficiently - with excellent results in providing straightened, shining hair. Accentuates highlights. Excellent value - comes with extra tools provided by Folica to facilitate it's use!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 1, 2013
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name