Thanksgiving Sale use Code PIE25
Sedu

Sedu Pro Ionic Ceramic Tourmaline Flat Iron (1 1/2")

5,775 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
Rated the Best Hair Straightener on the market and preferred by top hair stylists around the world, Sedu flat iron straightens, smooths and tames frizzy hair fo...
$160.00
$129.99
Save 19% + Free Shipping
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 5,775 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Sedu Pro Ionic Ceramic Tourmaline Flat Iron (1 1/2") (5775)
Show All 5,775 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • CT
    Hair
    Black
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    The Best Flat Iron Around
    Actually purchased this as a gift for my daughter who won't buy another flat iron. She has thick wavy hair and it straightens it fast and looks great!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 31, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Your Search For An Amazing Hair Straightener Ends Here!
    I bought the 1 inch sedu straightener last year and it still works as well as it did the first day I started using it! It doesn't pull on your hair like the other straighteners do, it cut my straightening time from 45 mins to 15 mins and the amazing results are reproduced over and over again. Everyone that sees my hair thinks they are extensions! Its awesome, I would definitely recommend it to everyone!

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 28, 2012
    Link to this post
  • IL
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Absolutely Awesome Tool!
    This Sedu flat iron is the BEST!
    I have color treated, thick wavy hair and it always turns out straight, silky smooth and shiny.
    i never get tired of the complements!
    The Sedu does a fantastic job on my over 50 hair!!

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 26, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Lake Stevens, WA
    Hair
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Works Amazing...for Awhile...
    I splurged a few years ago and paid close to $200 for the Sedu for my super-thick, coarse hair. It worked amazingly well but I struggled with the cord that kept knotting up. After about 1 1/2 years, the iron began shorting out due to the connection from the cord. Folica customer service was amazing and sent a replacement...which went bad in a year as well. When I bought one to replace it, I went with the cheaper Solia. It too is amazing and works as well or better than the Sedu. No cord issues and heats straightends my hair in no time. I definitely DO NOT recommend the Sedu as a long-lasting product. Though if you do chose to buy it, you'll love it - until it breaks :(
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 26, 2012
    Link to this post
  • USA
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    One Of The Little Things That Makes Life Easier In A Big Way!
    I bought my first SEDU straightener as a gift for my mother 6 years ago We spent so much time blow drying and using 'other' straighteners and our normally healthy and shiny heair would of course get damaged with constant use (at least 1x a week for straighening, and 2x a week for quick touch ups). Then I saw an quick expose on what was in celebrity gift bags at that years grammy award show or something, and I thought, "I need to try it. If they are giving it out, it must be good, right?' I took a chance and 6 years later, I am still raving about it.

    My mom and I have long, thick hair. Her hair is wavy and color treated. Mine is very curly and natural. My hair about 4 inches past my waist. My moms is 2" above waist length. Normally it took us each 1.5-3 hours to straighten our hair. Sedu gets it done in about 25-30 minutes. Plus its shiny and smooth after. I don't even use product to get it straight like with the other straighteners I used. Sometimes, as an added bonus after i will add a serum on humid or really dry winter days when it's static-y.

    When people asked about it how I did this, I directed them to Folica.com and Sedu. They griped about the price, but the way I see it, cheaper irons cost about $35-80, have about a 2 year life span, and with the amount of money I spend on treatments for damaging or drying my hair, this is WELL WORTH THE PRICE.

    People I gave advice to still got cheaper flat irons, realized what I was talking about, and ended up gettting this one. Live and learn people. Or just listen to me. When it comes to hair, I KNOW what I am talking about! I must have got a dozen people to purchase, including friends and fam in the U.K. who even paid extra to have a special converter put on so it's Eurpoe friendly. Ask anyone and they will tell you ITS WORTH IT!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 20, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Light Brown
    Normal Hair
    Dry Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    The Best Flat Iron... E V E R!
    I'm on my second Sedu flat iron. I originally bought my first Sedu flat iron over 5 years ago (back when it had the swivel cord). It lasted me that long. I initially had bought one for my mom after seeing all the great reviews and pics. She has course, wavy (not curly, not straight... just waves here and there), dyed hair. I was amazed at how well it straightened her hair even without having to straighten it with the blow dryer first. Just a few passes on her dry, wavy hair left her with straight, shiny locks! I knew I had to have it.
    I have long, thin, somewhat wavy hair myself. It's the annoying kind that's not straight enough to be considered straight and not curly enough to be considered curly. Even worse, I have tighter waves by the roots which also seem to be the most stubborn to straighten out with a blow dryer. So naturally I bought myself this iron and I wasn't disappointed! I used to use the highest setting (silly me, I have thin hair!). Now I use the middle setting and it still straightens just as well (minus the overkilling smell the higher setting used to give off). I usually let my hair towel dry, blowdry it for about 15 min (just to completely dry my hair... not necessarily to straighten it) and then I use the flat iron to straighten and curl the ends-- yes, curl! -- of my hair. The flat ironing takes about 5 minutes (10 minutes if I really take my time with each layered section of my hair). The curls last all day and even til the next. For any of you who use a curling iron for curls at the tips of your hair, this does just the same! I just give a little swoop once I near the ends of my hair and it leaves my layers looking pronounced and full. Not bad for a gal with baby fine hair. I would definitely recommend this flat iron. All of my girlfriends love it (all with different textures of hair) and I wouldn't dare mess with the other brands that I had previously considered. Why mess with a good thing??
    1 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 19, 2012
    Link to this post
  • NYC
    Hair
    Black
    Normal Hair
    Dry Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Most Useful Hair Tool
    This is the absolute best flat iron I have used. I brought this flat iron in Dec 2012 when I had hair down to my waist. I used to chemically relax my hair to get that pin straight look until my hair was too damaged to have any more chemical treatments. The different temperature settings allowed me to control how much heat to use on my damaged hair. The Sedu gave me the same pin straight look without all the chemicals. I eventually had to cut my hair short to get rid of the damages and grow healthier hair. I now have healthier hair because I dont need chemicals to get that beautiful straight hair look. I use a heat protectant before I flat iron my hair. It takes me 15-20 minutes to get my hair straight. Even on windy days and dry or humid days, my hair is able to stay straight. Now, i do notice that it does take more than 30 seconds (about 1 minute) for the iron to heat up. But hey this is a 2 year old flat iron that's been put to use numerous times throughout the year.

    I use this flat iron whenever I go out and want to look my best. I've also use this iron on others as we prepare to look our best. My girlfriends love borrowing this iron from me.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 19, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Curly Hair
    3 Star Rating
    As The Rating Says, It's Okay.
    I have had this straightener for ~16 months and it has begun to short out due to the connection in the cord. Thankfully it is under warranty and when I called Folica this morning, they said I would be shipped a new straightener as soon as they received mine. -Hopefully this is the case. I have had many straighteners over the years (CHI, Hairart etc) and this one was just okay in comparison. I like it and it straightens my hair just fine but I do not see all of the rave. The others I have had worked just as well, if not better. The one thing I will say however is that most of my other straighteners had a 1 year warranty so having a 2 year warranty on this item makes it worth it.
    2 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 18, 2012
    Link to this post
  • 1 Star Rating
    Worst Flat Iron, Ever!
    The SEDU got off to a great start, but crashed and burned after two short months! This was the case with the 'just as new' refurbished replacement as well as the brand new replacement that was sent under the 2-yr warranty that came with the product. The SEDU did not measure up to the much less expensive counterparts that we have purchased in the past. In my opinion, this product is a very poor value for the money. I would never purchase the SEDU again, In addition, the team at Folica let us down; refusing to refund our money or offer a substitute of comparable value since we were more than 30 days past the purchase date... 3 strikes, you're out in my book with four malfunctioning flat iron in under 6 months!! Definitely did NOT hold up to daily use!
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 18, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Light Brown
    Normal Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    1 Star Rating
    Junk!!!!
    Purchased this iron based on several great reviews. After less than a year, the iron stopped heating up. Contacted Folica.com and they sent a replacement. Within a couple of months the same thing happened, no heat. Folica.com replaced it yet again. One month later, the springs broke for no reason. Called Folica.com and they stated that they had sent me a refurbished iron, but would send me a new one. It has been 2 months since they sent me this 4th replacement, and the spring have broken again. I will never purchase a Sedu Flat Iron again!!!!
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 17, 2012
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name