Last Day For Shipping By XMAS
Sedu

Sedu Pro Ionic Ceramic Tourmaline Flat Iron (1 1/2")

5,780 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
The Sedu Pro's patented ultra-smooth ceramic/tourmaline technology revitalizes your hair with softness and shine.
$130.00
Free Shipping
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 5,780 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Sedu Pro Ionic Ceramic Tourmaline Flat Iron (1 1/2") (5780)
Show All 5,780 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Hair
    Light Brown
    Normal Hair
    Dry Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    The Best Flat Iron... E V E R!
    I'm on my second Sedu flat iron. I originally bought my first Sedu flat iron over 5 years ago (back when it had the swivel cord). It lasted me that long. I initially had bought one for my mom after seeing all the great reviews and pics. She has course, wavy (not curly, not straight... just waves here and there), dyed hair. I was amazed at how well it straightened her hair even without having to straighten it with the blow dryer first. Just a few passes on her dry, wavy hair left her with straight, shiny locks! I knew I had to have it.
    I have long, thin, somewhat wavy hair myself. It's the annoying kind that's not straight enough to be considered straight and not curly enough to be considered curly. Even worse, I have tighter waves by the roots which also seem to be the most stubborn to straighten out with a blow dryer. So naturally I bought myself this iron and I wasn't disappointed! I used to use the highest setting (silly me, I have thin hair!). Now I use the middle setting and it still straightens just as well (minus the overkilling smell the higher setting used to give off). I usually let my hair towel dry, blowdry it for about 15 min (just to completely dry my hair... not necessarily to straighten it) and then I use the flat iron to straighten and curl the ends-- yes, curl! -- of my hair. The flat ironing takes about 5 minutes (10 minutes if I really take my time with each layered section of my hair). The curls last all day and even til the next. For any of you who use a curling iron for curls at the tips of your hair, this does just the same! I just give a little swoop once I near the ends of my hair and it leaves my layers looking pronounced and full. Not bad for a gal with baby fine hair. I would definitely recommend this flat iron. All of my girlfriends love it (all with different textures of hair) and I wouldn't dare mess with the other brands that I had previously considered. Why mess with a good thing??
    1 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 19, 2012
    Link to this post
  • NYC
    Hair
    Black
    Normal Hair
    Dry Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Most Useful Hair Tool
    This is the absolute best flat iron I have used. I brought this flat iron in Dec 2012 when I had hair down to my waist. I used to chemically relax my hair to get that pin straight look until my hair was too damaged to have any more chemical treatments. The different temperature settings allowed me to control how much heat to use on my damaged hair. The Sedu gave me the same pin straight look without all the chemicals. I eventually had to cut my hair short to get rid of the damages and grow healthier hair. I now have healthier hair because I dont need chemicals to get that beautiful straight hair look. I use a heat protectant before I flat iron my hair. It takes me 15-20 minutes to get my hair straight. Even on windy days and dry or humid days, my hair is able to stay straight. Now, i do notice that it does take more than 30 seconds (about 1 minute) for the iron to heat up. But hey this is a 2 year old flat iron that's been put to use numerous times throughout the year.

    I use this flat iron whenever I go out and want to look my best. I've also use this iron on others as we prepare to look our best. My girlfriends love borrowing this iron from me.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 19, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Curly Hair
    3 Star Rating
    As The Rating Says, It's Okay.
    I have had this straightener for ~16 months and it has begun to short out due to the connection in the cord. Thankfully it is under warranty and when I called Folica this morning, they said I would be shipped a new straightener as soon as they received mine. -Hopefully this is the case. I have had many straighteners over the years (CHI, Hairart etc) and this one was just okay in comparison. I like it and it straightens my hair just fine but I do not see all of the rave. The others I have had worked just as well, if not better. The one thing I will say however is that most of my other straighteners had a 1 year warranty so having a 2 year warranty on this item makes it worth it.
    2 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 18, 2012
    Link to this post
  • 1 Star Rating
    Worst Flat Iron, Ever!
    The SEDU got off to a great start, but crashed and burned after two short months! This was the case with the 'just as new' refurbished replacement as well as the brand new replacement that was sent under the 2-yr warranty that came with the product. The SEDU did not measure up to the much less expensive counterparts that we have purchased in the past. In my opinion, this product is a very poor value for the money. I would never purchase the SEDU again, In addition, the team at Folica let us down; refusing to refund our money or offer a substitute of comparable value since we were more than 30 days past the purchase date... 3 strikes, you're out in my book with four malfunctioning flat iron in under 6 months!! Definitely did NOT hold up to daily use!
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 18, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Light Brown
    Normal Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    1 Star Rating
    Junk!!!!
    Purchased this iron based on several great reviews. After less than a year, the iron stopped heating up. Contacted Folica.com and they sent a replacement. Within a couple of months the same thing happened, no heat. Folica.com replaced it yet again. One month later, the springs broke for no reason. Called Folica.com and they stated that they had sent me a refurbished iron, but would send me a new one. It has been 2 months since they sent me this 4th replacement, and the spring have broken again. I will never purchase a Sedu Flat Iron again!!!!
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 17, 2012
    Link to this post
  • SURREY, BC, CANADA
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Amazing!!!
    Probably the best straighter i've ever used! If you live in Canada you have to pay a border fee of around $30 though.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 14, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Atlanta
    Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Relaxed Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Love This Flat Iron
    Iâ??m an African American with fine relaxed hair. Iâ??ve been hunting, searching, purchasing and returning flat irons -â?¦looking for something that I could flat iron with on a single pass with beautiful salon results and also something I could curl with. Depending on how the curling wand barrel is made, curling with a flat iron ( I use the regular curling iron technique) can be a little hard. I got the 1 inch and it was perfect. I was surprised that it would curl based on the design of the wand, but it did and I love that. Iâ??ve tried Chi, Sedu Revolution , Solica, HAI, Golden Hot, Revlon, Conairâ?¦.you name itâ?¦Iâ??ve looked at it and tried it. I love, love, love this flat iron. And I donâ??t smell that crisp burnt smell on my hair when I use it. Finally something I can keep and be proud about the results Iâ??m going to get. I also just purchased the 1.5 due to a darn good sale Folica was having.
    3 out of 4 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 12, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Philadelphia
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Shiny & Straight
    I liked this iron but did not love it. What I can say is even without adding any serum t my hair this iron leaves your hair very shiny! With just one or 2 passes my hair was super straight. The only thing i disliked was that this iron snagged my hair a lot. I do not know if maybe it happened because my hair is in layers. It was very difficult to flip my ends, but then again this iron is not meant to do that. Overall if you love pin straight hair this iron is for you! I did exchange for the Sedu Revolution 1.5 and I absolutely love it!!!!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 11, 2012
    Link to this post
  • California
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Normal Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Sedu Straightner
    I love the results from this straightener it works great but was disappointed after 2 months of use the cord was messing up couldn't get it to stay on. Had to send it back luckily it was under warranty! Not too confident in depending on its use worried this ones going to mess up also! Took quite awhile to receive back from company had to go buy another back up straightener!
    1 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 11, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Black
    Fine or Thin Hair
    1 Star Rating
    Don't Like It
    Well I have a chi and I like it but I wanted try something diferent I saw the review that was great but for me not because it brake my hair. So I will stay with my CHI.
    2 out of 3 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 10, 2012
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name