Free Shipping Over $50
Sedu

Sedu Pro Ionic Ceramic Tourmaline Flat Iron (1 1/2")

5,767 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
Rated the Best Hair Straightener on the market and preferred by top hair stylists around the world, Sedu flat iron straightens, smooths and tames frizzy hair fo...
$160.00
$129.99
Save 19% + Free Shipping
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 5,767 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Sedu Pro Ionic Ceramic Tourmaline Flat Iron (1 1/2") (5767)
Show All 5,767 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Hair
    Blonde
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Great While It Works!
    ALTHOUGH I DO LOVE THE WAY SEDU LEAVES MY HAIR, I HAVE NOT HAD MUCH LUCK WITH THEM LASTING. IN THE PAST 6 YEARS I HAVE HAD TO BUY 3. WITH ALL 3 THE THE PLATES HAVE COME LOOSE AND THEY EVENTUALLY START TURNING OFF. IT SEEMS SEDU TIMES THEIR WARRANTY JUST RIGHT. NEEDLESS TO SAY I CANNOT AFFORD TO KEEP BUYING THIS PRODUCT.
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 19, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Old One Was Amazing; New One Is Meh
    2011 Sedu Straightener: 3 stars
    2005 Sedu Straightener: 5+ stars

    I bought my original Sedu straightener in the beginning of 2005 and I still love it almost 8 years later. It works AMAZINGLY well on my curly, difficult to straighten hair. It gets hot quickly, stays hot, and effortlessly straightens my hair to pin straight. Many of my friends have come to Folica to get their own Sedu straightener after using mine and loving it. Almost 8 years later, I still love my original Sedu.

    Unfortunately, last year, my original Sedu started having some cord issues. Even though it still worked with an elastic band around the cord, I came here to order a new one, not knowing when my beloved would bite the dust. Fortunately, I kept the original around, as now the new one has bitten the dust.

    One year after buying the new one and with hardly as many uses (I still used the old one from time to time as well), it no longer works. Not only that, but the new one never worked quite as well as the old one anyway. It never seemed to get as hot as the old one, it didn't stay hot throughout straightening, and just didn't straighten my hair as well or as effortlessly. It took much longer with the new one with poorer results.

    Whatever changes Sedu made in their manufacturing of this straightener in the past few years, it's too bad, because my 8 year old straightener is a far superior product to my 1 year old one.
    10 out of 10 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 11, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Canada
    Hair
    Black
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Good Straightner But Dies Easily!
    I got my first Sedu less than a year ago and it did an amazing job at straigtning my natural curly hair. It left it super shiny and soft! However after a month, it started to give that burning smell and then a month after that, it died on me. I figured it wasn't a big deal and I emailed them so they sent me a replacement (which I had to pay import fees for a second time) but now the same thing has happened again. The second one was working fine and then just died out of nowhere. It's not being over used because I only straighten my hair twice a week but for this price it should be able to last longer than a couple of months!
    9 out of 9 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 10, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Normal Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Choose This Flat Iron!!!
    Yes, it is a bit more expensive than many other flat irons, but it is one of the best investments I have ever made. Before I purchased my sedu flat iron, I used a hot tools iron. The hot tools iron (which even had ceramic plates) did an incredible amount of damage to my hair. The sedu, in comparison, is a miracle. It has done very little (if any) damage to my hair. If you are like me and frequently iron your hair, you need to choose an iron that will keep it looking healthy. This is the iron for you. I have now owned my sedu for several years and even with frequent use, it still looks and performs as if it is brand-new!
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 9, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Black
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Amazing!
    I absolutely love this hair straightener! It makes my hair feel so silk and smooth and doesnt rip it while i do it. It heats up so fast and the plates are so nice that it doesnt fry my hair. I just love this hair straightener so much and its all thanks to my guru friend Steph! :)
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 9, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Works Great, But Cord Goes Out Early
    This has been one of my favorite flat irons as far as doing the job, however, I have been through two and for some reason the swivel cord gives out after about one year of use. This flat iron is too expensive for this problem. I will not buy a third one. I will try another brand next.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 8, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Never Straighten Hair Till This Straightener!
    My hair is the frizzy, thick, volumized type. Now I am not complaining about my thick and volumizied hair, I just never had the patience to sit/stand there and straighten my hair. It would take me way too long (anywhere from 45 minutes for just a decent straight look or 1 and half hours for a complete straight look) to just get the decent look.

    I decided on buying this straightener because, once in a while everyone likes straight hair and the reviews and pictures seemed too good to be true.

    THIS PRODUCT IS TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE!!!

    I still rarely straighten my hair, but when I do, it takes 15 - 30 minutes (for my decent look) and only 45 minutes for the complete straight look with this Sedu!

    I was beyond happy purchasing this product. It is worth the money. I've owned this for a couple of years now and it is still going strong as ever!


    THANKS FOLICA && SEDU!!!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 4, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Good Technology But Bad Design
    I originally bought this sedu before I mailed it back for the newer one that is longer and thinner. When I received it I was surprised how small it was, but I tried it out anyways. I didn't like it. the square shape makes it hard to straighten your bangs how you want, and it's just so small and lightweight that if you have thick, long, and or curly hair, it just doesn't feel effective. The newer sedu has a bit more weight, feels like it presses down and straightens better, and is ore versatile.

    I do like sedu products, they work great, i just hate the design of this one. I have super long fairly thick, unlayered hair so the longer/thinner sedu actually does go faster, because it sweeps down a strand of hair. also the new sedu holds you hair in the plates better
    2 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 3, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Blonde
    Normal Hair
    Curly Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    I Absolutely Love This Straightener But It Died On Me Twice
    This is by far my favorite hair straightener and I'm so committed to it that's why I'll probably end up buying my third! Haha but the only down side to it is that for some reason, the cord always ends up having a short in it. I've owned two and about 2 years after I own it, it just stops working. I move the cord around and it sometimes connects, but not for long and I can't straighten my hair when the cord needs to be in a specific position. But other than this, I absolutely love it! I have wavy long, thick but kinda fine hair and it always gets the job done. It leaves my hair silky and it keeps it straight for awhile. I have trouble keeping it straight with humidity but that's how most hair is anyways. It's a definite purchase though and I'm too scared to try anything else because of how awesome this product has been to me!
    2 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 3, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Shorts Out Quickly
    The straightener works great, I have curly hair and it makes it shiny and straight but it only lasts about 1 year. For this price it is not worth it. I bought it in February 2010 and then it shorted out. The warranty lasts for 2 years so I was able to send it back and get another one in 2011. Now, in October 2012, it has shorted out AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And my warranty is up and now after spending $155 (includes shipping after having to exchange it) for this straightener I have to buy a new one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    6 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 1, 2012
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
  • Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with Moroccan Argan Oil Best of Folica

    Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with Moroccan Argan Oil

    Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with pure Moroccan Argan Oil protects from heat damage, leaves hair incredibly smooth and shiny and controls frizz. Similar to Moroccanoil, it contains Argan Oil which is produced from the kernels of the argan tree, found in Morocco. Argan Oil is extraordinarily rich in things like natural tocopherols and vitamin E.

    293 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $20.00 New Price: $16.00
  • Sedu Revolution Clipless Curling Iron Best of Folica

    Sedu Revolution Clipless Curling Iron

    The Sedu Revolution Clipless Curling Iron takes curling to a new level. The Sedu Revolution Clipless Curling creates long lasting curls and waves that are frizz-free, shiny and long lasting. This professional curling iron is made with Sedu patented polishing process to create smooth curls and the clipless barrel results in curls with no creases!

    636 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $150.00 New Price: $119.99
    Free Shipping
  • Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Styling Iron 1.5 inch Sale

    Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Styling Iron 1.5 inch

    NEW! Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Ionic Styling Iron with 1.5 inch plates has all the features of the highly acclaimed Sedu Revolution with 1 inch plates, now with larger plates. The 1.5 inch tourmaline ceramic plates is perfect for longer, thicker hair. Ceramic Tourmaline plates ensure frizz free, shiny hair.

    67 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $200.00 New Price: $159.99
    Free Shipping
  • Sedu Revolution Pro Tourmaline Ionic 4000i Hair Dryer Best of Folica

    Sedu Revolution Pro Tourmaline Ionic 4000i Hair Dryer

    Sedu continues to innovate in its line of heat styling products with creativity and the latest advanced technology. One of the first professional hair dryers of its kind with super compact size and light weight design, Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Ionic 4000i Hair Dryer has 60% more power than a conventional dryer. With the most effective tourmaline coated ionic generator, this dryer reduces frizz and static by 90% and cuts drying time in half. Get it today, Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Ionic 4000i Hair Dryer is the only dryer you will ever need!

    873 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $300.00 New Price: $190.00
    Free Shipping
  • Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Ionic Styling Iron 1 Best of Folica

    Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Ionic Styling Iron 1

    Winner of 2013 ALLURE Magazine's Best Of Beauty Flat Iron! Sedu Revolution Styling Iron features revolutionary technologies that allow you to create any hairstyle imaginable with half of the time and virtually no damage. Sedu Revolution's Ultra Smooth 1 inch plates leave your hair shiny and healthy. Includes 2 year warranty and free heat proof mat/pouch.

    1,050 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $200.00 New Price: $159.99
    Free Shipping
Server Name