Sedu

Sedu Pro Ionic Ceramic Tourmaline Flat Iron (1 1/2")

5,770 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
Rated the Best Hair Straightener on the market and preferred by top hair stylists around the world, Sedu flat iron straightens, smooths and tames frizzy hair fo...
$160.00
$129.99
Save 19% + Free Shipping
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 5,770 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Sedu Pro Ionic Ceramic Tourmaline Flat Iron (1 1/2") (5770)
Show All 5,770 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • NJ
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    1 Star Rating
    Didn't Help At All
    I've been too lazy to review this for a super long time, but I decided it's about time I do it. About 2 or 3 years ago, I got the Sedu for Christmas. I was so excited because I had read so many reviews on it, and it sounded like a godsend. I tried to straighten my hair with it, so I took a very thin piece of my hair and straightened it. It took me like 3 strokes just to get it pin straight like the reviews suggested. I was so disappointed, there was no way I was going to finish straightening my hair with this. It would have taken me hours. It hid it away and it collected dust. From then on I bought a Herstyler, which was only like 40 dollars, and it worked 400x times better. Until it broke. Then I tried using the sedu again, and like I said, it really doesn't work. I used a Wet 2 Straight Remington now, and it works way better then the Sedu!! Honestly, I would not buy this if I were you. The only pros are it's really light and made really well and the cord is super long.... but honestly it can't straighten hair at all.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 22, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Canada
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Best Straightener Out There
    I got this straightener from this site over 5 years ago! and it still works brand new! really happy with my choice.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 21, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Black
    Dry Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Best Flat Iron I Ever Used:
    I am not here to bash other flat irons but to be very honest Sedu Pro Ionic Ceramic Tourmaline Flat Iron is the best one i ever used. i have long frizzy hair and it used to take me more than an hour to straight em, but when i got Sedu i honestly think it took me 15 mins or less without burning my hair and soft... i didnt have to use any products whatsoever. i absolutely love it. if you have long dark heavy black hair then you understand what i am talking about. please give it a try i guarantee you wont regret buying it :)
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 20, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Best Iron!
    I have used flat irons my whole life. Out of all the name brands. The sedu is the best! No other iron will iron my hair straight with just one run through. Shipping was fast as well. Thank you folcia

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 18, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    Dry Hair
    5 Star Rating
    High Quality And Long Lasting
    I've had this flat iron for 2 years now and it still works great like the first day I bought it. defiantly would recommend this product
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 16, 2012
    Link to this post
  • New York
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Relaxed Hair
    3 Star Rating
    It's All Right....
    I have several different flat irons (2) Amika, (2) Sedu and 1 Solia.
    This Sedu is just okay. I have had it for almost two years it's a good quality product in the fact that it's light weight and does not require too much explanation like some of the previous and older irons to use it.
    The ceramic tourmaline plates allow you to glide the iron right through your hair with no major difficulty (no snagging or stopping) but, unless you have it on the highest setting (at least for my hair) which is thin (but a lot) of kinky and relaxed curls you will not get it nice and smooth. Also, your hair will eventually get a bit frizzy and I passed the iron several times added a leave in conditioner, cream and blew it out before I flat iron and then add two dime sized serum drops, still frizzy.

    I don't like that the plates are so flat and kind of short for the width it is and I don't use it very much but, it seems that I have to wait a little longer than necessary (should be quicker) to have those plates heat up to the 375 or 410 (I think) that I raise it to in order to flat iron my hair.

    I bought the iron after all the amazing reviews but, alas although I like it I am not all that impressed ladies.

    For me it was just good.
    5 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 12, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Hmmm Yes! The Taming Of The Shrew Aka My Hair!
    I can't say enough about this iron. I have tried several flat irons from low to high end but no matter which ones I've tried there seemed to always be some issue (pulled my hair = caused breakage, not big enough so it took forever to straighten my whole head...so on and so forth).
    With this Sedu iron I was able to get my hair straight on a lower heat level with only one pass, and this was without blowing out my hair first!
    I could go on and on about the pro's of this Pro Ionic Ceramic Tourmaline Flat Iron but most individuals that are researching this product want to know about the con's so....

    Con's:
    1. If you need an extremely hot iron this iron only goes to 410°F (210°C)
    2. While this iron is available in 1" & 1.5", the length of the irons plates are shorter than some others on the market
    3. If you get one of the older versions of this iron you will not get the swivel rotating cord that the Sedu site states the iron features

    Personally I love this iron and would recommend it.

    This is my first time using the Sedu brand but I plan to purchase a hair dryer very soon.

    For a more in-depth information watch my video review
    12 out of 19 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 9, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Texas
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Repeat Purchase - This Flat Iron Is The Best!
    This is my second purchase of the 1 1/2" Sedu. My first one lasted about four years - something went wrong inside the plug. I was pleased to see that the newer Sedu has a simplified plug without the exterior transformer. Quality is great, I hope this one lasts as long as the first one did. My (very thick) hair straightens quickly and lasts until the next wash. For my hair to stay looking nice even in the high humidity of Texas is a big deal! If you take the plunge and buy this iron, you won't be disappointed.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 8, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Light Brown
    Normal Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Getting My Old Chi Back
    This flat iron does not iron my hair in difficult areas, the strands of hair that need the most ironing. I don't know why it has so many good reviews (which is in fact why I bought it) I am thinking about selling this one which only has months of use and buying again my old CHI that was SO good and reliable.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 6, 2012
    Link to this post
  • United States
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    This Is My Second Sedu Straightener!
    Hair Type: I have thick ringlet curly hair that is coarse. I bought the same straightening iron 9/6/2009. I loved it! I even posted a picture and wrote a review then. Almost 3 years later, the cord went out and would only heat up if I held the cord in the right place and now it won't heat up at all. The straightener never pulled and glided like silk on my hair. I dropped this at least a dozen times and threw it in my bag all the time, so it is sturdy! So I can't complain that it lasted only 3 years! I was looking at reviews for the Solia mostly but my friend has one and I have to have it on about 400 degrees to straighten my hair, but the Sedu is only about 360 degrees. Not sure why this is, but it is! I knew that my Sedu worked great, so I decided to purchase the same one. The Sedu I received is not the exact same as my old one. Differences include new plug type (it used to be the old chunky one with the reset button on it, but now it is just the plug cord with the 2 prongs) and the straightening plates don't seem as smooth. When I use it, it feels like I am holding it too tight and would tug somewhat, so I would release my hold but then it wouldn't straighten as well. I have only used it once so far, but I noticed that right away. No strands get caught or pulled out or anything, it is just different. Oh and the cord that connects to the unit is the same, so hopefully I will still get at least 3 years out of this straightener! Overall it is a great straightener that I would recommend to anyone.I have had pretty good luck with it! Hope this helps others in their search! $100 for a straightener is a lot, but it is worth it to me.
    1 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 4, 2012
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name