Thanksgiving Sale use Code PIE25
Sedu

Sedu Pro Ionic Ceramic Tourmaline Flat Iron (1 1/2")

5,775 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
Rated the Best Hair Straightener on the market and preferred by top hair stylists around the world, Sedu flat iron straightens, smooths and tames frizzy hair fo...
$160.00
$129.99
Save 19% + Free Shipping
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 5,775 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Sedu Pro Ionic Ceramic Tourmaline Flat Iron (1 1/2") (5775)
Show All 5,775 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Houston, Tx
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    The Best I've Ever Had!! =)
    I have tried MANY different straightners, and none of them compare to my Sedu!! My hair tends to get REALLY dry on my ends, and with the Texas humidity, NO other straightner actually straightened my hair and actually kept it straight the WHOLE day. It does not just keep it straight, but it also keeps my hair looking really healthy. I dont even have to use the serum to keep it conditioned, seems like the straightner does it ALL.
    I have recommended this straightner to my friends and family. My sister just recently got one, she has very coarse, curly hair, she also is VERY happy with the Sedu.

    THANKS SO MUCH!!!
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 13, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Canada
    Hair
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Sedu Is The Best!!!!!!
    I must say, i have used allot of staighteners. This Sedu straightener, is the best ever.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 13, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Michigan
    Hair
    Black
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Lovee <3
    I LOVE THIS FLAT IRON!!! It works wonders! My hair has never been so straight and poof free in my whole life!This flat iron was worth wayyy more then the 130$ I paid for it! All of my friends that I have let use it (many diff hair types) all LOVE it just as much as I do (most of them told me not to buy it because of the cost). It was the best gift I could have ever gave myself. :)

    Btw: I'm mixed (black & white) with really curly, thick, a tad nappy, big hair.
    Before Photo
    After Photo
    290 out of 306 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 13, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Whistler BC
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Normal Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Great Flat Iron
    the BEST !
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 12, 2010
    Link to this post
  • 5 Star Rating
    A Winner!
    I'll make it short and sweet. if you buy this, you will not regret it. Expensive? yeah. worth it? YEAH! tfor such a little thing, it gives BIG results. i have thick, coarse, frizz hair. very hard to manage hair. this little gal manage it. use this, just one pass, or maybe two and the result is straight, smooth, shiny, soft hair. and it will stay that way until you wash your hair again.

    FYI: do not touch the plates. hot hot hot. you know how some girls (or guys) like to hold the clamps down as they are running the iron down, well, i'm one of those girls and you can't do that with this. I learned that the hard way. not a big thing but it would have been nice to be able to do that. another thing that they could have done better is the little dial. they could have made it easier to read. you see what i mean when you get it. Again, no biggie.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 12, 2010
    Link to this post
  • San Luis Obispo
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Some People Actually Thought My Naturally Very Curly Hair, Was Naturally Straight.
    I love this flat iron, I bought it after my Chi fried (which i also loved). I was skeptical about the size (1 1/2") compared to my CHI (1"), but after a while I got used to it, and now I love it. My hair is really long, and the larger surface area cuts down on time a little. The size also is no problem when getting really close to the scalp. I've had it now for over 2 years, this is my second one. The first one developed a cord problem after about 1 year, but it was covered under warranty and I got a replacement from FOLICA.

    I'm half black and half white, and my hair is really curly, but not too coarse. I have a lot of hair, but my hair shafts are pretty fine.

    For my routine, I try to wash my hair at night. I then put several different products, (I'm still in search of the perfect anti-frizz concoction, I recently moved to the coast and frizz is a HUGE problem) I then put it in pigtails, and let it air dry over night (braiding it may take longer to air dry, but it significantly helps with control, and cuts down on the poofiness of my curly hair, rather than air drying with my hair just down.). The next day If my hair is still not completely dry, I will unbraid one braid, hold the hair together and pulled straight, and lightly blow dry until the hair is dry. I find that air drying cuts down on frizz, and damage.

    I then section my hair into small sections, and flat iron each section (back to front of of head). It usually only takes about 3-5 times @ 360 degrees over each section to get bone straight. I wear both curly and straight styles, but there are some people that have only seen me with straight hair, that have thought my hair was naturally straight (Including my boyfriend until after a few dates).

    2 CONS: #1. is that the flat iron has a strong smell of burnt hair. I haven't NOT experienced that with any flat irons in the past, but in case there are some out there..
    #2. Please, please, please Sedu with the next model, make a dual voltage, so that we can travel internationally!! We want beautiful hair outside of the country too!!

    The other
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 6, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Huntsville, Texas
    Hair
    Light Brown
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    1 Star Rating
    $20 Conair Does A Better Job.
    I rely a lot on reviews and unfornately the reviews did nothing to help me out when it came to this Flat Iron. All the reviews had me convinced this was the best flat iron in the world...
    I currently have a Conair Tourmaline Ceramic Flat Iron and it still works, but is clunky and is starting to pull out my hairs. I have to make each pass like 3 times. I'm 25, white and have light brown hair. It's super coarse, super thick, naturally wavy/curly and constantly frizzy unless I use a Hair Serum like BioSilk or a Smoothing Creme. Despite the fact that my hair weighs a ton, I still like to keep my hair long.
    Now, I don't know what I was expecting when I bought this Sedu, but I was interested because it's suppose to keep the frizz down and straighten with like one pass.
    I washed and towel dried my hair, added a leave-in conditioner, blow dired and then spritzed with a heat protectant. I did one side of my head with the Sedu and one side with my Conair and the results:

    I parted my hair into 4 sections and then straightened 1 inch strands at a time. It wasn't easy because my hair kept spilling out of the sides of the plates. I had to keep holding my hair in place near the flat iron because if I brushed each strand while ironing it the hair would still fall out. DO NOT put your fingers on the outside of the Sedu around the plates at all, I burned my fingers by just accidentally touching the outside plastic while trying to keep the hair in place. The Sedu pulled out way more hair than my Conair. I really don't even see what my hair kept snagging on except for maybe the little corners where the plates are held down. My Conair only pulls my hair out because I dropped the thing and cracked the plastic peice on the end, surprisingly, the thing still works. The Sedu did seem to straighten my hair in 1-2 passes compared to the 5 yr old Conair that did it in 3, but the Sedu has like super tiny plates. I got the 1-1/2 " over the 1 inch to straighten MORE hair and thought it would straighten more hair faster and NO WAY. The Blades almost seem smaller than most because they are short length-wise. The plates are almost sqaure instead of rectangle. The handle to hold on to it is very short, leaving you almost no real room to not burn yourself and it feels like a travel size flat iron compared to most. Oh, and even though this is a 1-1/2", trying to do Curls with this iron is a nightmare. I tried it like 5 times and I couldn't even slide it down the strands... the hair snagged and just ripped out. I don't recommend trying to do curls.
    After I was done I compared the two sides and while both were straight, unfornately the side that I did with the Sedu was still way thicker than the side I did with my Conair. I mean, the hair was striaght, but my hair is super thick... So straightening my hair makes it lighter and more mangeable and gives me way less headaches because my head feels lighter. The Sedu totally doesn't help me there. The difference is very noticable. I went back over the side I did with the Sedu again with the Sedu straightener and could never get it to be "flatter" or thinner, just ...straight and fluffy. I eventually went over it very quickly with the Conair and it was immediately flat, thin and light. It's 5 hours later and even though I went quickly over the side I did with the Sedu with the Conair, that side is already getting curls back...
    THE VERDICT:
    This striaghtener can't flatten thick hair very well and can't do curls at all. Can not eliminate frizz, rips out hair severly bad, feels cheaply made, is very hard to hold, use and my $20 Conair did a better job with less hassles.
    I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HAIR STRAIGHTENER, especially not for thick curly hair.
    3 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 6, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Phila,PA
    Hair
    Light Brown
    Curly Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Sedu Flat Iron Is A Keeper :)
    I have to say that this flat iron is the best i have ever had. My first flat iron was $130.00 from my hairdresser its a Paul Brown it was ok,but then i got the Sedu a little pricey for me but my hair is so thick and curly i need a really good flat iron,i was sold on this one because i could not believe all the great reviews i was reading! If your thinking of buying this one you will be so happy and with the results! it works so fast to, you dont need to keep going over the same section over and over like the cheaper flat irons. i love this one its a keeper!!! Thanks Sedu for making such a great product. My hair thanks you too:) Have a good hair day!!!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 5, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Salt Lake City, UT
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Hands Down The Best Flat Iron Out There - And Way Better Than The Chi!
    In need of a new flat iron, a friend gave me her barely used Chi days after I'd already placed my order for the Sedu (based on all of the great reviews I'd read). My thought was that I'd return the Sedu and keep the Chi - until I used both. The Sedu is SOOOOOOOOOO much better than the Chi!! Handsdown the best flatiron I have ever used. The plates are so smooth, and my hair felt soft and glossy with just one pass through - which is saying alot considering I have REALLY curly hair. The slightly wider plates quicken the process, and I can take my hair from curly to silky straight in about 8-10 minutes. It heats up very quickly, too. Love, love, love it!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 5, 2010
    Link to this post
  • New York
    Hair
    Black
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Worked Hard On Finding The Right Iron, Finally N Happily Got One!
    I have fine,frizzy,wavy hair and I really have to take a lot of care to make them look good. Well I am also among all those girls who love straight hair because it gives you such a clean, nice look,great for any occasion. I had to be very choosy for flat irons because of my hair type.After geat research, I bought Sedu Pro Ionic Ceramic Tourmaline Flat Iron with the package containing heat protecting pouch, Amika's shampoo and conditioner, the sedu comb and the sedu smoothing heat protecting boost. I have been using the iron for about 2 months now and I am loving it! Seriously!It is a perfect iron one can design. Glides so smoothly along your hair,straightens hair very quickly(faster than chi),straightens hair like perfect straight! n ya it is so light-weight and has a long cord which makes the work so easy. I have heavy hair,still m done in 20 minutes. I also loved the comb coz I dont have to touch my hot hair while I am working on them and I can work faster. You just have to learn how to use it coz it can be cumbersome to handle iron in right hand and comb in left hand, but believe me once to get used to it,u will like it.
    About the Sedu smoothing heat protecting boost- it is really good,instantly makes your hair shine and takes away the frizz. I first spray it over the section of hair I am gonna work and then straighten them. I have got so many compliments about my hair now, that I had never heard!
    The best part of iron is that I can make my hair look so natural and beautiful that no one knows that I have straightened them!
    Amika's shampoo and conditioner-- honestly I didnt find anything special about them,not gonna use it anymore.
    I also liked the service by Folica. My packaged came nice and safe,pretty much on time.
    I hope this review helps and you too love your hair as I do now!
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 1, 2010
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name