Free Shipping Over $50
Sedu

Sedu Pro Ionic Ceramic Tourmaline Flat Iron (1 1/2")

5,761 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
Rated the Best Hair Straightener on the market and preferred by top hair stylists around the world, Sedu flat iron straightens, smooths and tames frizzy hair fo...
$160.00
$129.99
Save 19% + Free Shipping
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 5,761 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Sedu Pro Ionic Ceramic Tourmaline Flat Iron (1 1/2") (5761)
Show All 5,761 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • FL
    Hair
    Blonde
    Dry Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Best Straightner. Period.
    I have tried MANY different straighteners and this one by far is the absolute best flat iron on the market. I had a CHI before I bought this Sedu. I decided I needed a new straightener because I noticed my CHI wasn't heating up as high as it once did, so it wasn't straightening my hair as good as when I first bought it. The Sedu glides through my hair like butter, it tames the frizz and makes my hair super soft and shiny. I ordered my sedu like a year ago off folica.com and have had no problems with it. My only complaint: it doesn't have a swivel cord. For such a nice and expensive tool I would think it would have a better cord, but that isn't really a huge deal. If your shopping around for a new flat iron I would highly recommend this one, you wont be disappointed.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 24, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Brooklyn, NY
    Hair
    Black
    Dry Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Not For Natural Black Hair
    Okay I'm back with less than stellar news.

    I went out and bought some products to use with my Sedu. First I washed and deep conditioned my hair. Then I applied CHI's Silk Infusion and John Frieda Frizz-Ease Straight Fixation Smoothing Crème before blow-drying. My hair was soft and shiny. I added a little more of the silk infusion then I flat ironed my hair (@ 390 degrees) spraying each section with the CHI 44 Iron Guard Thermal Protection Spray ( I sprayed it in my palm first so that I wouldn't use too much). I had to go over my hair hair at least 3 times in each small section (@ 390 degrees) before it got straight. To my dismay, by the time I reached the front of my hair, the back was puffy and somewhat nappy. I tried to go over my entire head again in bigger portions, but I had NO success.

    I am of Afro-Caribbean descent without any mixture. I've never had a perm and my hair type is 4a (REAL thick and course hair-hard to manage). This DID NOT work and I know that it is possible to get my hair bone straight without a relaxer. Quite frankly I am disappointed by this flat iron and I'm going to wear a scarf over my head until I go to the hair dresser later. :(
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 24, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Canada
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Broke Twice
    This straightener worked really well on my hair. it kept it straight all day. I purchased my flat iron from this site, and within a couple of month it broke. The screw fell out and since it was under warranty I sent it back to get it fixed. Within a week of getting it back, it did the same thing. I didn't drop it and wasn't rough with it at all so I was really upset about that.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 23, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    5 Star Rating
    My Secreat Weapon
    This straightner is amazing!!!!!! my hair has never been this flat! and its not poofy. My hair is very curly and i usually buy deparment store brand flat irons... i own 4! and none of them work. so i finally stumbled upon the sedu... ig to it and it works amazing!!!!!!!! it makes my hair so soft<333
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 22, 2010
    Link to this post
  • 3 Star Rating
    Electrical Problems But Love The Results!
    I do have to say I love how straight this flat iron makes my hair. The only things is that I have purchased 2 of these and both of them have broke and both with the same issue. There seems to be an electrical problem. The first on had a sort in the cord closest to the iron and the other one had a short in the part you plug into the wall. As much as I love this iron and want another one, I don't want to invest another $130 on it. I may try a different brand and see how that works.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 20, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Blonde
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Amazing Flat Iron!!
    i have very thick wavy hair and i have gone through 4 straighteners in the last 2 years so i finally decided to invest in one that i thought would work and im glad i did! the sedu cut my hair routine in half without frizz and fly aways and left my hair incredibly shiny and soft! it glided thru my hair and i barley had to go over chunks of hair! i highly recommend it!
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 18, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Light Brown
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Loooove It!
    I ordered this straightener early Wednesday last week, it shipped later that day, and I got it on Monday. I was thrilled, especially because it was free shipping.
    I used it the very next day, and I did NOT regret this purchase.
    It was pricey, but it's cheaper than chemical straightening/keratin/etc. My old straightener took 30-40 min to straighten my thick, long, curly hair on a normal temperature. This Sedu took 20-25 min each time. It's not a DRASTIC change like I expected, but it's a straightener, not miracle worker. This morning, I woke up late but I was able to sloppily straighten it in 15 minutes and it looked nice. The straightener is a bit flimsier than I expected, but maybe I'm just used to my heavy, Remington wet-2-straightener.
    Not only did it drastically reduce frizz, my hair stayed frizz-free! With my old straightener, it stayed flat for awhile, but within 30 min, it poofed up again.
    It was worth EVERY PENNY. I hope it lasts! But even if it only lasts 6 months, it's a better investment than chemically straightening it.
    Also, if you don't want to spend $130 on a straightener when you can find a different one for $50, or you don't feel like putting in the time, remember, it DOES help your hair. My hair stayed silky and smooth all day. I've tried pretty much everything, I've researched different types of straightening, and buying this was probably my best decision.
    Before Photo
    After Photo
    94 out of 115 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 17, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Brooklyn, NY
    Hair
    Dry Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    3 Star Rating
    It's All Right
    SO... Earlier this year my cheap flat iron (Gold 'N Hot or whatever it was) broke. I immediately began research on a new flat iron. I stumbled upon the Sedu on Folica where there is a plethora of positive reviews about this product.

    I am a Black female with VERY thick and course 4a type hair (never permed). I finally decided to buy this flat iron after seeing a photo of a customer (with my exact hair type) who had perm-like straightened hair after using her Sedu.

    I ordered the Sedu around 2am Monday morning and received it at about 12noon Tuesday afternoon. AMAZING FOLICA. Anyways, my package came with the Sedu and a free mini Solia. After shampooing, conditioning,and blow drying my hair, I applied the Let's Jam Heat Styles Smoothing Balm to my hair. The Sedu heated up quickly, but my hair wasn't as straight as I thought it was going to be. (I wish I could have added pix cuz I LOVE visuals) I use the Solia on my very short wig hairstyles and it works great. When I use the Sedu on my weaves, it doesn't leave the nasty burned smell and it makes the hair feel airy and weightless.

    I may just be used to my cheap hair flat irons, but when I used my sisters flat iron she bought in the mall on my natural hair along with the Let's Jam, my hair was straighter than when I used the Sedu. The next time I flat iron my own hair I'm going to try to use the Sedu along with the CHI Silk Infusion and a little bit more heat to see if there's a better result.

    Whew!!!Wish me LUCK!!!
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 17, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Washington, DC
    5 Star Rating
    Quick And Easy, Great Results!
    I owned a cornair flat iron, it was cheap but it lasted 4 yrs. i liked it but didnt love it. I will have to pass it about 3-4 times fot it to get straight. I bought the Sedu Tourmaline flat iron and i received it yesterday in the mail. This flat iron is amazing, 1 pass through my hair and it was done, straight, sleek, soft and shiny. I do have medium hair lenght and it is amazing to be able to do my hair quick and easy. Highly reccommend this product.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 16, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    This Is The Real Deal...you Won't Regret Purchasing Sedu!
    I decided to splurge on my birthday gift to myself one year so I set out to research flat irons. I have fine, frizzy, curly hair and LOTS of it....I could only dream of having shiny straight locks that I could run my fingers through..... I came across a site that had reviews and Sedu was amongst some of the highest rated. I liked what I read and the pic's that I saw so I took the plunge and bought it. WOW. That was 8 (EIGHT) years ago, and I am still using my Sedu...so I didn't really SPLURGE for my birthday present, I made an investment that has lasted for quite some time! I can't say that your Sedu will last as long, but I can say mines has and it it TOP quality. I love the way my hair comes out when I use my Sedu. I run my fingers through my hair and it is sooooo SHINY and soft. Did I mention how FUN it is? I have flat ironed dozens of friends and family members and did a before and after with them....it has always been a joy to share my flat iron and see the amazed looks on their faces when they see how their hair is transformed after. Only if you have curly and unruly hair could you truly understand what fun it can be to straightened it or to do a 'hair make-over' for a girlfriend or sister......Good times. If you are considering investing your hard earned $'s for a Sedu, you will NOT be disappointed. It is totally worth it and then some!
    5 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 16, 2010
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
  • Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with Moroccan Argan Oil Best of Folica

    Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with Moroccan Argan Oil

    Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with pure Moroccan Argan Oil protects from heat damage, leaves hair incredibly smooth and shiny and controls frizz. Similar to Moroccanoil, it contains Argan Oil which is produced from the kernels of the argan tree, found in Morocco. Argan Oil is extraordinarily rich in things like natural tocopherols and vitamin E.

    293 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $50.00 New Price: $37.00
  • Sedu Revolution Clipless Curling Iron Best of Folica

    Sedu Revolution Clipless Curling Iron

    The Sedu Revolution Clipless Curling Iron takes curling to a new level. The Sedu Revolution Clipless Curling creates long lasting curls and waves that are frizz-free, shiny and long lasting. This professional curling iron is made with Sedu patented polishing process to create smooth curls and the clipless barrel results in curls with no creases!

    634 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $150.00 New Price: $119.99
    Free Shipping
  • Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Styling Iron 1.5 inch Sale

    Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Styling Iron 1.5 inch

    NEW! Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Ionic Styling Iron with 1.5 inch plates has all the features of the highly acclaimed Sedu Revolution with 1 inch plates, now with larger plates. The 1.5 inch tourmaline ceramic plates is perfect for longer, thicker hair. Ceramic Tourmaline plates ensure frizz free, shiny hair.

    65 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $200.00 New Price: $159.99
    Free Shipping
  • Sedu Revolution Pro Tourmaline Ionic 4000i Hair Dryer Best of Folica

    Sedu Revolution Pro Tourmaline Ionic 4000i Hair Dryer

    Sedu continues to innovate in its line of heat styling products with creativity and the latest advanced technology. One of the first professional hair dryers of its kind with super compact size and light weight design, Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Ionic 4000i Hair Dryer has 60% more power than a conventional dryer. With the most effective tourmaline coated ionic generator, this dryer reduces frizz and static by 90% and cuts drying time in half. Get it today, Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Ionic 4000i Hair Dryer is the only dryer you will ever need!

    865 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $250.00 New Price: $179.99
    Free Shipping
  • Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Ionic Styling Iron 1 Best of Folica

    Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Ionic Styling Iron 1

    Winner of 2013 ALLURE Magazine's Best Of Beauty Flat Iron! Sedu Revolution Styling Iron features revolutionary technologies that allow you to create any hairstyle imaginable with half of the time and virtually no damage. Sedu Revolution's Ultra Smooth 1 inch plates leave your hair shiny and healthy. Includes 2 year warranty and free heat proof mat/pouch.

    1,046 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $200.00 New Price: $159.99
    Free Shipping
Server Name