Sedu

Sedu Pro Ionic Ceramic Tourmaline Flat Iron (1 1/2")

5,770 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
Rated the Best Hair Straightener on the market and preferred by top hair stylists around the world, Sedu flat iron straightens, smooths and tames frizzy hair fo...
$160.00
$129.99
Save 19% + Free Shipping
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 5,770 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Sedu Pro Ionic Ceramic Tourmaline Flat Iron (1 1/2") (5770)
Show All 5,770 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Brooklyn, NY
    Hair
    Black
    Dry Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Not For Natural Black Hair
    Okay I'm back with less than stellar news.

    I went out and bought some products to use with my Sedu. First I washed and deep conditioned my hair. Then I applied CHI's Silk Infusion and John Frieda Frizz-Ease Straight Fixation Smoothing Crème before blow-drying. My hair was soft and shiny. I added a little more of the silk infusion then I flat ironed my hair (@ 390 degrees) spraying each section with the CHI 44 Iron Guard Thermal Protection Spray ( I sprayed it in my palm first so that I wouldn't use too much). I had to go over my hair hair at least 3 times in each small section (@ 390 degrees) before it got straight. To my dismay, by the time I reached the front of my hair, the back was puffy and somewhat nappy. I tried to go over my entire head again in bigger portions, but I had NO success.

    I am of Afro-Caribbean descent without any mixture. I've never had a perm and my hair type is 4a (REAL thick and course hair-hard to manage). This DID NOT work and I know that it is possible to get my hair bone straight without a relaxer. Quite frankly I am disappointed by this flat iron and I'm going to wear a scarf over my head until I go to the hair dresser later. :(
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 24, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Canada
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Broke Twice
    This straightener worked really well on my hair. it kept it straight all day. I purchased my flat iron from this site, and within a couple of month it broke. The screw fell out and since it was under warranty I sent it back to get it fixed. Within a week of getting it back, it did the same thing. I didn't drop it and wasn't rough with it at all so I was really upset about that.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 23, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    5 Star Rating
    My Secreat Weapon
    This straightner is amazing!!!!!! my hair has never been this flat! and its not poofy. My hair is very curly and i usually buy deparment store brand flat irons... i own 4! and none of them work. so i finally stumbled upon the sedu... ig to it and it works amazing!!!!!!!! it makes my hair so soft<333
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 22, 2010
    Link to this post
  • 3 Star Rating
    Electrical Problems But Love The Results!
    I do have to say I love how straight this flat iron makes my hair. The only things is that I have purchased 2 of these and both of them have broke and both with the same issue. There seems to be an electrical problem. The first on had a sort in the cord closest to the iron and the other one had a short in the part you plug into the wall. As much as I love this iron and want another one, I don't want to invest another $130 on it. I may try a different brand and see how that works.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 20, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Blonde
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Amazing Flat Iron!!
    i have very thick wavy hair and i have gone through 4 straighteners in the last 2 years so i finally decided to invest in one that i thought would work and im glad i did! the sedu cut my hair routine in half without frizz and fly aways and left my hair incredibly shiny and soft! it glided thru my hair and i barley had to go over chunks of hair! i highly recommend it!
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 18, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Light Brown
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Loooove It!
    I ordered this straightener early Wednesday last week, it shipped later that day, and I got it on Monday. I was thrilled, especially because it was free shipping.
    I used it the very next day, and I did NOT regret this purchase.
    It was pricey, but it's cheaper than chemical straightening/keratin/etc. My old straightener took 30-40 min to straighten my thick, long, curly hair on a normal temperature. This Sedu took 20-25 min each time. It's not a DRASTIC change like I expected, but it's a straightener, not miracle worker. This morning, I woke up late but I was able to sloppily straighten it in 15 minutes and it looked nice. The straightener is a bit flimsier than I expected, but maybe I'm just used to my heavy, Remington wet-2-straightener.
    Not only did it drastically reduce frizz, my hair stayed frizz-free! With my old straightener, it stayed flat for awhile, but within 30 min, it poofed up again.
    It was worth EVERY PENNY. I hope it lasts! But even if it only lasts 6 months, it's a better investment than chemically straightening it.
    Also, if you don't want to spend $130 on a straightener when you can find a different one for $50, or you don't feel like putting in the time, remember, it DOES help your hair. My hair stayed silky and smooth all day. I've tried pretty much everything, I've researched different types of straightening, and buying this was probably my best decision.
    Before Photo
    After Photo
    94 out of 115 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 17, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Brooklyn, NY
    Hair
    Dry Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    3 Star Rating
    It's All Right
    SO... Earlier this year my cheap flat iron (Gold 'N Hot or whatever it was) broke. I immediately began research on a new flat iron. I stumbled upon the Sedu on Folica where there is a plethora of positive reviews about this product.

    I am a Black female with VERY thick and course 4a type hair (never permed). I finally decided to buy this flat iron after seeing a photo of a customer (with my exact hair type) who had perm-like straightened hair after using her Sedu.

    I ordered the Sedu around 2am Monday morning and received it at about 12noon Tuesday afternoon. AMAZING FOLICA. Anyways, my package came with the Sedu and a free mini Solia. After shampooing, conditioning,and blow drying my hair, I applied the Let's Jam Heat Styles Smoothing Balm to my hair. The Sedu heated up quickly, but my hair wasn't as straight as I thought it was going to be. (I wish I could have added pix cuz I LOVE visuals) I use the Solia on my very short wig hairstyles and it works great. When I use the Sedu on my weaves, it doesn't leave the nasty burned smell and it makes the hair feel airy and weightless.

    I may just be used to my cheap hair flat irons, but when I used my sisters flat iron she bought in the mall on my natural hair along with the Let's Jam, my hair was straighter than when I used the Sedu. The next time I flat iron my own hair I'm going to try to use the Sedu along with the CHI Silk Infusion and a little bit more heat to see if there's a better result.

    Whew!!!Wish me LUCK!!!
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 17, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Washington, DC
    5 Star Rating
    Quick And Easy, Great Results!
    I owned a cornair flat iron, it was cheap but it lasted 4 yrs. i liked it but didnt love it. I will have to pass it about 3-4 times fot it to get straight. I bought the Sedu Tourmaline flat iron and i received it yesterday in the mail. This flat iron is amazing, 1 pass through my hair and it was done, straight, sleek, soft and shiny. I do have medium hair lenght and it is amazing to be able to do my hair quick and easy. Highly reccommend this product.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 16, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    This Is The Real Deal...you Won't Regret Purchasing Sedu!
    I decided to splurge on my birthday gift to myself one year so I set out to research flat irons. I have fine, frizzy, curly hair and LOTS of it....I could only dream of having shiny straight locks that I could run my fingers through..... I came across a site that had reviews and Sedu was amongst some of the highest rated. I liked what I read and the pic's that I saw so I took the plunge and bought it. WOW. That was 8 (EIGHT) years ago, and I am still using my Sedu...so I didn't really SPLURGE for my birthday present, I made an investment that has lasted for quite some time! I can't say that your Sedu will last as long, but I can say mines has and it it TOP quality. I love the way my hair comes out when I use my Sedu. I run my fingers through my hair and it is sooooo SHINY and soft. Did I mention how FUN it is? I have flat ironed dozens of friends and family members and did a before and after with them....it has always been a joy to share my flat iron and see the amazed looks on their faces when they see how their hair is transformed after. Only if you have curly and unruly hair could you truly understand what fun it can be to straightened it or to do a 'hair make-over' for a girlfriend or sister......Good times. If you are considering investing your hard earned $'s for a Sedu, you will NOT be disappointed. It is totally worth it and then some!
    5 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 16, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Oklahoma City
    3 Star Rating
    Depends
    ok so here it goes i bought the sedu like a month ago and im afraid to say i dont not like it.Its not a bad straightner but if you have super curly frizzy hair then i would not recomend .... .now dont take my word because my hair is like impossible to get straight ...... its very light but it does NOT Straighten my hair like i would want it 2 . i have returned and waiting for my chi btw customer service very nice people
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 15, 2010
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name