Free Shipping Over $50
20% off $ Stars
Sedu

Sedu Pro Ionic Ceramic Tourmaline Flat Iron (1 1/2")

5,763 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
Rated the Best Hair Straightener on the market and preferred by top hair stylists around the world, Sedu flat iron straightens, smooths and tames frizzy hair fo...
$160.00
$129.99
Save 19% + Free Shipping
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 5,763 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Sedu Pro Ionic Ceramic Tourmaline Flat Iron (1 1/2") (5763)
Show All 5,763 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Granite Falls
    Hair
    Blonde
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Fantastic Product
    This is one awesome hair straightener. My hair is so thick and has lots of natural curl. I love it straight but until I bought this product, it took way too much effort and time to get the results I wanted. Now 10 minutes and my hair looks like it did when I would go get it done at the hair salon.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 2, 2010
    Link to this post
  • FL
    Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Sedu Rocks!
    I have used many Irons before, but this one has been the absolute BESTt!! Its makes my hair so smooth and shiny, all day long! I just LOVE it!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 2, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Houston
    Hair
    Blonde
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Best Results
    i get the best results in my hair. i love it!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 2, 2010
    Link to this post
  • 5 Star Rating
    Sedu > Chi
    One of the top straighteners I have ever used. My hair is thin, so it works well on the lower temperatures, but I also use the higher temperatures for when I'm in a rush. The plates are VERY smooth. It doesn't pull on my hair whatsoever. Heats up very fast. My friend has the Chi and I would say that the Sedu is better for 2 reasons. 1) You can adjust the heat. 2) The plates are smoother than the Chi's. Although the Chi is a very good product, I am pleased with purchasing the Sedu and I do not regret my decision. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED from a girl who's been using a straightener almost everyday for the past 7 years (: The only MINOR problem I have with the Sedu is that the handle part is a little hard to clamp down because it has a lot of resistance..but other than that VERY VERY GOOD (: ALSO, I got my Sedu in less than a week from when I ordered it. VERY SPEEDY DELIVERY!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 1, 2010
    Link to this post
  • California
    Hair
    Light Brown
    Curly Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Sedu Saves My Hair!
    I have curly hair, and I have a lot of it. My hair straightens fairly easily but when straightening my hair it experiences a lot of damage. I had a tourmaline 1 inch flat iron that I used for a couple years and it did the job, but left my hair feeling burnt and a little dull. I went over a friends and she had a new flat iron (the sedu). I instantly fell in love. I waited for the sale on folica to purchase the flat iron and anxiously awaited it's arrival. With this flat iron my hair straightens quickly and produces amazing end results. My hair is shiny, straight, and smooth. I flip the ends of my hair with the sedu and it makes my layers look amazing. I find this product five star worthy and when paired with a great heat protectant it makes hair look fantastic.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 31, 2010
    Link to this post
  • South Carolina
    Hair
    Blonde
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Better Than Chi In Some Ways, Overall A Good Replacement.
    I received my new Sedu about 2 weeks ago and overall am pleased, but not jumping up and down with excitement. I have long (a few inches below shoulders), VERY thick, coarse, color-treated hair, which looks like a really bad perm in its natural state. I'd been using the 2" Chi digital flat iron to straighten my hair for almost a year, and debated whether to get the Solia or the Sedu to replace it (nothing against the Chi, but it's actually my daughter's and she keeps leaving town with it, so I wanted my own). Based on other reviews, I chose the Sedu instead of the Solia. (Don't waste any time on store brands if you have thick coarse hair - gotta go with an expensive salon brand straightener or don't bother.)
    Things I like: it heats up very quickly; it really does have anti-frizz ionic smoothing as part of the straightening process; it came with a heat-proof pouch that I use as a mat; it has a nice long cord; the plates have curved edges so I can flip the ends in or out or even make waves (if I wanted to); it doesn't pull or tug or damage my hair; and it is incredibly light (no more sore arms and shoulders!). I get VERY good results - slightly better than I did using the Chi.
    Things that could be better: it SAYS it goes to 410 degrees, but never really feels all that hot, even when I turn it all the way up. Also, Iâ??m used to the 2â?? plates and I thought that dropping down to 1 ½â?? plates wouldnâ??t be that noticeable, but it definitely is smaller (especially if you have thick hair); I have to straighten much smaller sections of hair than I used to, and go over each section of hair numerous times (but the end result is worth it). The plates don't line up exactly - there is a slight gap at the inside edge - which is OK if you have enough hair in there, but there's a fine line between "enough hair to make the plates lie flat against it" and "too much hair to straighten effectively at one time."
    Things I read in other reviews and disagree with: some folks seemed concerned that the cord doesn't swivel, but it's not a problem. It's long enough to move around without getting stuck anywhere. Several people didn't like that you can only use one hand to hold it, since the plates get hot, but I use my other hand to hold the ends of the hair I'm straightening anyway, so that didn't bother me. Since it's so light, it's easy to use with only one hand. I'm baffled that so many users think it gets "too hot," since I don't think it gets quite hot enough, but I suspect that's just due to how stubborn my hair is.
    Overall I'm happy with the purchase, but I think you can't go wrong with any good name brand product. I think I would have liked the Solia too. All of them work better if you use a smoothing balm (or serum or creme or spray). I still need 35-40 minutes to straighten my hair, whether using the Chi or the Sedu, but the Sedu does give me a slightly smoother, flatter end result. Whenever I have to replace this one (hopefully not soon), I'll check the current products & reviews and decide then what to purchase.
    6 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 31, 2010
    Link to this post
  • New Jersey
    Hair
    Black
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    The Sedu Is A Great, Respectable Product.
    This is a truly great straightener. It works very fast and efficiently, and it is a great investment. From the other reviews, I expected it to be AMAZINGLY better than the Chi...however I don't feel that strongly about that viewpoint. Yes, it did seem to work a bit better than the Chi, but there wasn't that big of a performance gap. I really do recommend this straightener if you have longer and thicker hair, since the bigger plates and higher heat setting straighten hair fast and safely. My hair feels very healthy and looks shiny after I use the Sedu. The only downside to this straightener is that you cannot curl with it, (unlike the Chi 1 inch). However, if you are buying this just to straighten your hair.. I HIGHLY recommend it. The adjustable heat settings allow you to decide what temperature you think is fit for your hair, which can prevent unnecessary heat damage. I do recommend using a heat tamer like the one from Tresemme, and also a finishing cream like John Freida's to prevent your hair from getting frizzy afterwards..and also to restore some of the nutrients that were lost while straightening. I live in New Jersey... which is notorious for its killer humidity, but my hair stays perfect. I would repurchase.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 31, 2010
    Link to this post
  • MdR, CA
    Hair
    Black
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Works Great
    i have long thick hair and this iron was easy to use. it made my hair beautiful, shiny and smooth and it seems like it took less time than usual. would definitely recommend it!
    2 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 31, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Black
    Curly Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Amazing
    This flat iron is amazing!!!!! My hair always looks super shiny when I use it...its takes no time...I take one strip of hair and just run the flat iron thru it quickly I dont have to slowly drag it over my hair which minimizes heat exposure time!!! Overall I would definiately get another one if this one ever broke...I actually loved it so much that I got one for my sister and one for my mother....they love it too!!!! :D
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 31, 2010
    Link to this post
  • PA
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Wonderful For Longer, Thicker Hair And Does Not Pull Your Hair Out!
    I was a die hard fan of GHD flat irons after trying them about 4 years ago. I was scared to branch out and try the Sedu brand. After getting the 1 1/2" ceramic I was sad I didn't try this brand sooner! A lot of people comment on the smoothness of the plates and how they don't pull your hair. This is one of the best features because my GHD pulls my hair out along the ceramic plate seams if I try to iron too much hair at a time. That is why this 1 1/2" Sedu works so much better if your hair is past your shoulders and thick like mine. I haven't had it pull a hair out yet and it makes my hair look ultra shiny like glass. The only down side to this iron is using it very close to the hair line or along the back of your neck. A smaller iron is a bit easier to maneuver for those areas of the hair. If you can afford it, buying this iron and a smaller one for the hair line should cover all of your needs! I also used this iron for the keratin treatment at home because it goes up to 430 degrees and the keratin treatment calls for 430-450 degrees of heat during the flat ironing process. I am now a Sedu fan and see what the hype is about!!!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 30, 2010
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
  • Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with Moroccan Argan Oil Best of Folica

    Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with Moroccan Argan Oil

    Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with pure Moroccan Argan Oil protects from heat damage, leaves hair incredibly smooth and shiny and controls frizz. Similar to Moroccanoil, it contains Argan Oil which is produced from the kernels of the argan tree, found in Morocco. Argan Oil is extraordinarily rich in things like natural tocopherols and vitamin E.

    293 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $50.00 New Price: $37.00
  • Sedu Revolution Clipless Curling Iron Best of Folica

    Sedu Revolution Clipless Curling Iron

    The Sedu Revolution Clipless Curling Iron takes curling to a new level. The Sedu Revolution Clipless Curling creates long lasting curls and waves that are frizz-free, shiny and long lasting. This professional curling iron is made with Sedu patented polishing process to create smooth curls and the clipless barrel results in curls with no creases!

    634 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $150.00 New Price: $119.99
    Free Shipping
  • Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Styling Iron 1.5 inch Sale

    Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Styling Iron 1.5 inch

    NEW! Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Ionic Styling Iron with 1.5 inch plates has all the features of the highly acclaimed Sedu Revolution with 1 inch plates, now with larger plates. The 1.5 inch tourmaline ceramic plates is perfect for longer, thicker hair. Ceramic Tourmaline plates ensure frizz free, shiny hair.

    66 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $200.00 New Price: $159.99
    Free Shipping
  • Sedu Revolution Pro Tourmaline Ionic 4000i Hair Dryer Best of Folica

    Sedu Revolution Pro Tourmaline Ionic 4000i Hair Dryer

    Sedu continues to innovate in its line of heat styling products with creativity and the latest advanced technology. One of the first professional hair dryers of its kind with super compact size and light weight design, Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Ionic 4000i Hair Dryer has 60% more power than a conventional dryer. With the most effective tourmaline coated ionic generator, this dryer reduces frizz and static by 90% and cuts drying time in half. Get it today, Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Ionic 4000i Hair Dryer is the only dryer you will ever need!

    865 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $250.00 New Price: $179.99
    Free Shipping
  • Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Ionic Styling Iron 1 Best of Folica

    Sedu Revolution Tourmaline Ionic Styling Iron 1

    Winner of 2013 ALLURE Magazine's Best Of Beauty Flat Iron! Sedu Revolution Styling Iron features revolutionary technologies that allow you to create any hairstyle imaginable with half of the time and virtually no damage. Sedu Revolution's Ultra Smooth 1 inch plates leave your hair shiny and healthy. Includes 2 year warranty and free heat proof mat/pouch.

    1,047 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $200.00 New Price: $159.99
    Free Shipping
Server Name