Free Shipping Over $50
Best of Folica - Save Up To 50%
Salon Tech

Salon Tech Silicone450 Flat Iron 1 inch

Salon Tech's Silicone 450 Flat iron is a new, improved version of their highly rated Silicone 450 flat iron. Improved heating technology offers more consistent...
$249.99
Free Shipping
We're sorry, this product is no longer available.
 

Reviews

Based on 14 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Salon Tech Silicone450 Flat Iron 1 inch (4)
  • Salon Tech Silicone 450 Hairstyling Iron 1 Inch (10)
Show All 14 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Salon Tech Silicone450 Flat Iron 1 inch
    3 Star Rating
    Good, But Not Great.
    I feel this iron is better for people with thick or course hair. I have fine hair and a tender scalp and this iron can pull your hair out because the silicone bars/strips really do grip the hair. Every time I would use this iron it would pull some of my hair out at the root because it grips so hard. Since my Salon Tech Silicone 450 flat iron died after 2 1/2 years, I switched to another flat iron without the silicone strips, and my hair isn't coming out anymore. Just wanted to warn those of you with tender heads and finer hair, this might not be the iron for you. The Croc Titanium is my absolute favorite flat iron. Doesn't damage the hair and doesn't pull or snag my hair at all.
    4 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 22, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Salon Tech Silicone450 Flat Iron 1 inch
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Get Something Else.
    The flat iron is OKAY, trust me I have owned them all. Sedu (revolution, icon, and the original), CHI, Solia, UNIL (if anyone remembers this brand), Sultra (for the dual voltage for traveling), Conair (when I was a tween), Revlon (also when I was a tween). So now maybe you will take my review to heart :), The flat iron did not display smart sound, did not have the auto shut off feature, and I found the iron awkward to use. I know the silicone strips prevent from snagging, but I have never used an iron where hair moving around was a problem. The iron did not get as hot at all. I brought the Sedu Icon, and that gave me better results, the only thing I did not like about that flat iron is that it only has 6 temperature settings. I liked that the salon tech flat iron had variable temperature settings. I also found that the iron left my hair with static.

    I love Folica, and I love all the deals I get when I purchase products. I have tried soo many flat irons in my life. I have been ordering from Folica since 2004, but never have been a reviewer, but I wanted to warn people about this flat iron since it is not worth it.
    5 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 22, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Salon Tech Silicone450 Flat Iron 1 inch
    Atlanta, GA
    2 Star Rating
    Be Wary..
    As someone who has used both the Titanium and Silicone 450 flat irons from Salon Tech, I will contribute the following observation and warning to people considering these irons. In general I would say that these products have some great potential and for some they may work very well. However, they also have an extreme failure rate when used in a professional setting at the highest temperature (possibly in other settings as well). In fact the failure rate is virtually 100% within 6 months of operation with some failing in as little as 2 months. These irons have been used in a salon setting, operated at 450 degrees and used for straighteners which they are advertised as being very good for. If you are using the iron for personal use and/or operating it at lower temperatures then your mileage may vary but it's very questionable whether these irons are truly suitable for professional use.

    I have given the product 2 stars because these irons are not complete junk (as so many others are) and are in fact very well made. But the failure rate is simply unacceptable to someone who needs to rely on an iron and it makes me very leery about ever purchasing or recommending another one until I see some strong indication from Salon Tech that they have addressed this problem. The warranty on these irons is 1 year and in the past I have simply written them off and not bothered (in part because the replacement iron carries the same warranty except that it begins at the original purchase date so when it fails it'll pretty much be guaranteed to be out of warranty). Also, a warranty return should be an exceptional event and not a regular occurrence. At the moment I have decided to try the warranty return on a Silicone 450 that failed within 2 months so I'll probably update this review with my warranty experience.

    In conclusion, if you are a person who needs a reliable iron then you should be cautious about putting too much faith in this product until the failure rate issue is addressed. If you are planning to use this iron occasionally in a personal setting then it's possible that it will suit your needs but my experiences are related to professional use so I can't truly address that.
    8 out of 13 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 9, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Salon Tech Silicone450 Flat Iron 1 inch
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Why Did It Take Me So Long To Invest In A Quality Flat Iron??!
    This flat iron is amazing. It straightens my hair in one pass and doesn't pull or yank my hair at all. I have very thick, slightly coarse long hair with uneven waves. My hair always looked great when I got it styled professionally, but I could never reproduce anything close to salon-style hair at home. I had a cheap hair dryer and a cheap flat iron. I upgraded to a quality blow dryer a few months ago and was very pleased with the results. But, I still had a bit of a funky wave in the back that the hair dryer and my cheap flat iron could not get out, even after 10 passes! I cringed a little bit at the high price of the Salon Tech Silicone450, but it was the only flat iron that had everything I wanted. I am amazed at how much better my hair looks with this flat iron. My at-home blow out now lasts three days! As long as this flat iron lasts for quite awhile, I think it is worth the investment!
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 1, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Salon Tech Silicone 450 Hairstyling Iron...
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Normal Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Awesome Straightener!
    This is really great straightener and keeps my hair straight, frizz-free and sleek all day even on overcast days; it does what it says, totally worth it. (:
    6 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 31, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Salon Tech Silicone 450 Hairstyling Iron...
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    5 Star Rating
    This Iron Is Great!
    I really loved this flat iron!
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 17, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Salon Tech Silicone 450 Hairstyling Iron...
    Hair
    Blonde
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Good, But There Are Better For Delicate, Frizzy Hair
    I purchased this flat iron from Folica and returned it. While it did work fairly well at straightening my hair, I did not feel as though I was able to achieve the shine and silky feel that I have with other flat irons. It also seemed to make my ends a little dry and very whispy, rather than sleek and smooth. Since I flat iron my hair every day, I felt as though the silicone strips would tug on my hair too much, eventually leading to significant breakage of my fine, delicate and damaged (due to bleaching) hair over time. I am beginning to realize that there is not one "best" flat iron, but rather flat irons that work best for certain types of hair. Allure Magazine ranked this iron as the best in 2010 and I thoroughly researched the reviews, which were glowing, so perhaps I am in the minority. Or, perhaps this iron is better suited for occasional or salon-only use, where you are willing to use the highest temp and tug on the hair with the silicone strips. I also think it is better suited for people with thick, strong hair that is not prone to breakage. I ordered the Sedu Revolution . . . I am hoping it is better suited for everyday use. I will say that I am losing faith in Allure as I also tried the T3 Single Pass that they rated as the best flat iron. I did not like it at all and I have been a T3 user for the past 4 years!! I will say that Folica has the BEST customer service!!!
    12 out of 13 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 15, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Salon Tech Silicone 450 Hairstyling Iron...
    United States
    Hair
    Platinum Blonde
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Wow This Thing Makes Your Hair Straighttttttttt!
    I was really unsure if i should spend the extra money on this straightener or just go with the solia, but I decided that since i flat iron my hair almost every time I style it...I should go with the best. AND THIS IS THE BEST!

    It straightens my hair to the core, it hasn't gotten frizzy in the HUMID Florida summer and I wake up and only need to touch up.

    It really gets hot in 17 seconds. And not just hot it gets HOT so invest in some heat protecting products.

    I LOVE IT and happy i bought it.
    6 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 12, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Salon Tech Silicone 450 Hairstyling Iron...
    California
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Truly For The Girls Who Are On The Go.
    This thing heats up in SECONDS and it even tells you when it's ready. I got mine at a hair show about a year and a half ago and it's still going strong. I have to admit you have to get used to using a flat iron like this cuz it's designed to grip the hair through a little friction. It kinda feels and sounds like a cat licking on your hair when you run it through. those that have tried my flat iron seemed a bit baffled wether this flat iron is good for the hair or not because it does feel little different. but once you get past the concept that this is a whole different kinda of flat iron you could really appreciate all it's features. Automatic shut off in an hour so you don't waste or burn the house down, 20 second heat up literally!, adjustable heat up to 450 , its housing stays pretty cool so you don't burn your fingers and it does leave the hair just as shiny, smooth and straight as the rest too. This iron has been very dependable for me, i'm a hairstylist. I love this thing for it's nifty technology. Love this Iron for everything but i could live without the friction thing it gets kinda old when you've had the regular flat irons but you don't even realize it's there after awhile, i wouldn't sacrifice it's nifty features for anything. I'm a hairstylist, this iron isn't for anyone... it's different, but it does preform very very well. i tried the babyliss pro titanium flat iron and i liked it because of the warranty and it's smooth plates except the housing got way too hot too soon, i was practically burning my fingers just holding the tips when flipping and curling. my salon tech still has a lot over the babyliss nano titanium. As with any heat tool always use a heat protector and get your trims regularly and you'll have nice healthy hair......

    I previously owned bedhead smoothoperator... awesome but lasted only one year and hottools... no so smooth.
    7 out of 7 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 13, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Salon Tech Silicone 450 Hairstyling Iron...
    NYC
    Hair
    Black
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Does All It Promises!!
    I am african american and I have 4b possibly 4c hair and this smooths and straightens in one pass. Amazing!!! It is worth every penny, seriously. Get one. It heats up in seconds it is just amazing. I do not know why I waited so long to buy one.
    17 out of 18 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 5, 2011
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
Server Name