25% off site wide. 35% off Theorie.

Paul Mitchell Pro Tools Express Ion Smooth 1.25" Flat Iron

Smooth, tame and polish even the most unruly locks in not time flat with the Paul Mitchell Protools Express Ion Smooth 1.25" Flat Iron.
$160.00
We're sorry, this product is no longer available.

Smooth, tame and polish even the most unruly locks in not time flat with the Paul Mitchell Protools Express Ion Smooth 1.25" Flat Iron.  The Express Ion Complex blend of silicone and ceramic, creates super-charged negative ions to break up water molecules and penetrate them into the hair, restoring moisture and sealing the cuticle.  Far infrared heat gently smoothes strands from the inside out, so hair feels silky and conditioned.  Enjoy straight-up smooth and touchable hair in less time, every time.

  • SKU: 002517   /  
  • Guaranteed Authentic
  • Express Ion Complex is fused to the plates to speed straightening and help protect against damage
  • Solid ceramic heaters provide even distribution
  • 1.25 inch cushion plates
  • Beveled edges ensure no line of demarcation
  • Slim plate design allows for straightening close to the scalp
  • Variable temperature setting - 240 - 400F
  • Energy efficient, using 75 watts of electricity
  • 9-foot swivel cord
Max Temperature: 400 Degrees Fahrenheit
Voltage: 120
Cord Type: Swivel Cord
Min Temperature: 240 Degrees Fahrenheit
Material: Silicone, Ceramic
Plate Size: 1-1/4 Inch
Cord Length: 9 Foot
NARROW BY HAIR TYPE
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
NARROW BY PRODUCT
  • Paul Mitchell Pro Tools Express Ion Smooth 1.25" Flat Iron (44)
Sort By
  • Date
  •  / 
  • Helpfulness
  •  / 
  • Rating
  • Best Straightener On The Market 5 Star Rating
    I have had this straightener for FOUR years!!! yesterday it finally shorted out. And I can tell you right now I'm replacing it with the EXACT same one. I have very thin, fine hair and it tends to get really static if I used a different iron. This made my hair SOOOOO smooth and if I ever go anywhere I'm always suggesting people try out my straight iron and every last one of them is amazed. My friend was actually using it when it shorted out and was so upset b/c of how soft it was making her waist long THICK hair. I'm telling you, this straight iron is the absolute best. Can't wait to have it back in my possession when my new one comes in, I think I'm going to get it in mint this time :)
    Oh and to the people talking about it being cheap and made out of plastic, the original of this iron was very similar to the CHI in that it seemed to be pretty heavy. When they switched to the plastic it was WONDERFUL b/c it made it so light! and if it takes a while to straighten your hair you will definitely appreciate that. I was surprised about it first and then became so thankful. get this...

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    May 24, 2013
    HAIR TYPE
    Dark Brown / Fine or Thin Hair
  • Works Perfect While It Last. 2 Star Rating
    Bought this iron based on the recommendation of the salon my wife goes to. I worked perfect (very little hair damage) for 13 months which is very disappointing. Since its out of warranty PM wants $35.00 to replace plus my postage. No deal here, I'll just move on to another brand that has a better reputation.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    May 20, 2013
    / United States
    HAIR TYPE
    Black / Curly Hair
  • Loved It While It Lasted 4 Star Rating
    I got this straightener in December 2010 and absolutely LOVED every second of it. However, yesterday it just stopped working with no warning what so ever. It did wonders on my hair - I have wavy hair, so I can blow dry it straight and then go over it with a straightener and be done in about a half hour. This straightener was also much easier on my hair than other ones I've used - it was smooth and didn't feel like it was tugging at all.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Apr 2, 2013
    / CT
    HAIR TYPE
    Light Brown / Oily Hair / Color Treated Hair
  • Best Flat Iron Out There! 5 Star Rating
    I'm SO impressed with this flat iron. I've tried so many brands, I recently bought the professional x heat by KQC... which claims to hold all the qualities the Paul Mitchell does... but as soon as I bought and used the Paul Mitchell it literally made such a difference in my hair! My hair felt healthier, smoother, and straighter! I would recommend it to anyone, with such a wide range of heat and the technology it uses that makes it healthier for your hair..it would be amazing for any hair type. I LOVE it. Never wasting money on another flat iron brand again. Bonus.. you can buy them at the Beauty Supply Outlet along with many other Paul Mitchell products.. I pair mine with the super skinny serum.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Jun 1, 2012
    HAIR TYPE
    Blonde / Dry Hair / Thick or Coarse Hair / Chemically Treated Hair
  • Don't Waste Your Money!!! 1 Star Rating
    The saying you get what you pay for is does not apply here! This iron is expensive but is actually a cheap piece of plastic that is not worth over $15.

    I bought this in March 2011, I noticed the grip was wobbly and sure enough it pretty much fell apart within 2 months, as well as basically splitting in two the wire on the cord started splitting - not safe at all!!!!!

    I'm completely disappointed in PM even my CHI I've had for 2+ years is still in tact and working.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Aug 9, 2011
    / TX
    HAIR TYPE
    Dark Brown / Normal Hair
  • Dont Buy 1 Star Rating
    I had this straighter for almost a year (13 months) and it died out of nowhere and with no warning. I take very good care of my hair tools and i know that it wasnt a result of mistreatment. The warranty only covered one year and the company did not go out of their way to accommodate.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Jul 10, 2011
    HAIR TYPE
    Auburn / Normal Hair
  • Works Great!.....but Broke 5 Star Rating
    This is an fantastic flat iron. Love love love it. I have semi wavy hair which makes for very frizzy hair when you brush it. After I section the hair and use it, my hair is shiny, straight and it's just like I left the salon. The only bummer thing is, today, it just stopped working. I've owned it for a year. Now I'm trying to decide to buy another one. It's pricy, but it was worth it the first time.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Jun 22, 2011
    / Redondo Beach, CA
    HAIR TYPE
    Auburn / Normal Hair / Dry Hair / Curly Hair
  • Big Disappointment From A Loyal Pm User 2 Star Rating
    This is my third PM flat iron purchase and after discovering that my previous iron was discontinued I decided to go for this one. This iron is most definitely not the quality that I expect and am accustomed to from PM. It feels very cheap and flimsy compared to previous models. The top and bottom pieces literally wiggle side to side as if some screws are loose. As for functionality, I can honestly say that a $10 iron from a discount store would provide the same results. My other PM flat irons easily smoothed and straightened large sections or hair in one swipe, while I have to go over and over smaller sections of hair now and still don't achieve the same results. Even with the heat setting turned all the way up to 400 degrees it still doesn't feel as warm as my last iron - I'm even beginning to question whether it is working properly.

    I've never owned any other brand but PM (besides the discount store irons) but am seriously considering researching and purchasing another brand. Bottom line-if you've owned PM irons in the past, don't bother with this one. It's sure to disappoint.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    May 20, 2011
    / North Carolina
    HAIR TYPE
    Light Brown / Curly Hair / Color Treated Hair / Fine or Thin Hair
  • Great Iron But Short Life! 3 Star Rating
    I love this iron, I have bought three. Unfortunately, I will not buy a fourth one. The cord shorts out after one year. Going to try something else this time.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Mar 17, 2011
  • The Perfect Flat Iron 5 Star Rating
    I have owned and used so many different flat irons from CHI to Sedu to GHD and this is by far the best. I didn't expect to LOVE it and I do. I would highly recommend this flat iron to anyone who wants to see real results.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Mar 4, 2011
    HAIR TYPE
    Blonde / Color Treated Hair / Thick or Coarse Hair / Chemically Treated Hair
Server Name