ExpressShipping
Paul Mitchell

Paul Mitchell Flat Iron (Smoothing Iron)

200 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
The Paul Mitchell Smoothing Iron protects against hair drying by sealing in natural oils and moisture, and promotes longer-lasting hair color. It's excellent fo...
$190.00
$123.95
Save 35% + Free Shipping
We're sorry, this product is no longer available.
 

Reviews

Based on 200 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Paul Mitchell Flat Iron (Smoothing Iron) (200)
Show All 200 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • 3 Star Rating
    Okay But Still Looking
    I got this flat iron last year during the Holidays. I originally told my stylist I wanted a Sedu but she recommended this flat iron, saying it was the best. So I bought it and I loved it. I soon was upset when it was humid out and part of my hair would get wavy. I don't know if that is this iron's fault but I always wondered why my friend's hair would stay stick straight while mine wouldn't. I soon found out that it was just the product I was using and my technique of straightening my hair. But anyway, about 2/3 of a year later I noticed my hair smelled really bad after I straightened it, like burned! And then even when I turned it on it started to smell, before it had even touched the hair. (now I am not sure if it had smelled bad before, I think I just began to notice it then) It would also fry my hair. So right now I am looking to buy a new flat iron (the solia) and see how different that will be. I liked the fact that it got my hair straight, but not how it damaged it and affected its health. I won't buy this again.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 12, 2009
    Link to this post
  • 4 Star Rating
    Nooo D:
    so, iv had this straightner for ALMOST two years. my hair is frizzy and curly, and wavy and crazy. so the straightner works good, when i take the time to do it. BUT , just yesterday, it broke. i had the same prob as someone else here posted. my wires are messed up, i figure. iv never wraped my cord around the straightner. so turned it on one day. and sometimes it heats up. when the lihghts on, other than that. u got to wiggle it!
    1 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 3, 2009
    Link to this post
  • 1 Star Rating
    Not Worth The Money!
    I had this iron less than 2 years and only used it once a week, on average. Last time I used it, smoke and FLAMES shot out of the cord where it connects to the iron. Good thing I don't use any hair products because my hair was in it at the time! I have seen numerous other complaints about the same thing. After calling PM and finding out they won't do anything because it's not under warranty, I'm definitely not buying another PM flat iron. Is it a coincidence that they discontinued this iron and changed manufacturers? I don't think so!
    2 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 3, 2009
    Link to this post
  • 5 Star Rating
    Greatest Flat Iron I Have Owned Hands Down!
    Bought it back around christmas 2007 from my hair salon,after my stylist used it on my hair! It makes my hair so soft and shiny, and cuts the time in half from the others~! I also had the problem with the cord recently and have been having to hold it in place which is VERY frustrating, but after reading the reviews on here, I realize it is my fault that the cord has gone bad, because I always wrapped the cord around it before placing it back in storage under my bathroom sink! So I would recommend this flat iron over everything else, JUST DONT WRAP THE CORD AROUND IT OR IT WILL MESS UP ON YOU!!! My warranty is up, so hopefully my husband can take it apart and fix it for me, before I have to spend another $100+ on a new one right during Christmas time. :/
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 22, 2009
    Link to this post
  • 5 Star Rating
    This Is The Best Flat Iron Ever Made!!!!!!!
    i have had this flat iron ever since it came out on the market ]about a few years ago, and still to this day works better then anything i have ever laid my eyes on. i highly recommend this flat iron to the fullest. I am also proud to say that this flat iron heats up so fast. When I used to have the chi, it was okay it heated up way too slow though. also the chi used to have broke in 5 months, trust me the chi is okay, but it burns your hair. True story: my friend had a chi and it is new and everything right out of the box and it is ceramic. And the first time she used it it was okay, the second time her hair got burned and it looked like something exploded.She had to call the fire department and by the end of the day it took her 3 hours to at least get some of the white stuff the fire extinguisher left. it was tragic, let me rephrase, the CHi is tragic! Thats why you should get this Paul Mitchell flat iron! I HIGHLY 100% RECOMMEND IT, TO THE FULLEST!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 22, 2009
    Link to this post
  • United States
    1 Star Rating
    Not Worth The Money
    my CHI broke after 6 years of reliable use. I had to borrow my roommates Paul Mitchell flat iron and I hated it. first of all, it kept shorting out and would stay heated up. Next, I dont like the adjustable heat. The CHI goes to the right temp automatically. dont waste your money when you can buy a CHI for cheaper.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 3, 2009
    Link to this post
  • Atlanta, GA 30331
    1 Star Rating
    The Iron Is A Fire Hazard...
    THis iron is a fire hazard. It works great while it works. I have never wrapped the cord but it burst in a pile of sparks and smoke on day while I was curling my hair. Can you believe it....never again...be very careful if you buy this product..
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 28, 2009
    Link to this post
  • Detroit, Michigan U.S.A
    5 Star Rating
    Yay!!
    I have had this straightner for 3 years now and since I have had it I have dropped it many times. The cord has been chewed through and twisted beyond belief and I have left it on for 48 hours straight more than 5 times and it still works very good. The only problem I have ever had with it was the turning on and off but I'm not complaining after all I did put this straightner through hell and back.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 27, 2009
    Link to this post
  • Moline, IL USA
    1 Star Rating
    Swivel Cord Ruined The Whole Iron !!
    The swivel cord was the reason why I only gave this iron 1 star. It was a good iron until 3 months after using it, the red light (indicating the iron was ON) would turn on and off depending on how I held the iron. When the swivel cord moved, the light went off..The iron never worked right, and never kept heat because it was consistently turning itself on and off. I was really gentle with this iron, and never once was did I pull the cord, twist the cord or drop the iron. All in all...I will be hesitant to buy ANY iron that had a swivel cord...I don't see where it's really necessary, and it seems too fragile.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 18, 2009
    Link to this post
  • 1 Star Rating
    If Your Paul Mitchell Flat Iron Does Not Work
    My daughter is a hair dresser and I am an electrician that also was a tool repair person years ago. The flat iron stopped working and I took it all apart to find there are 2 fuses under one of the ceramic pads. They are both blown. Sad thing is, Paul Mitchell does not sell repair parts for there product. The fuses are probably 40 cent parts and unfortunately are unique by design and cannot be replaced with a standard fuse. I would not do buisness with someone that won't sell parts for there product.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 17, 2009
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name