Take 25% off one hair tool with code TOOL25

Paul Mitchell Flat Iron (Smoothing Iron)

The Paul Mitchell Smoothing Iron protects against hair drying by sealing in natural oils and moisture, and promotes longer-lasting hair color. It's excellent for all hair types and textures!
$123.95
We're sorry, this product is no longer available.

Paul Mitchell Smoothing hair straightener works great for all hair types and textures: chemically straightened, damaged, fine, medium, coarse or ethnic. Enhanced Styling. Even heating across the paddles quickly closes the cuticle for brilliant shine and a glass-like finish. The smoothing flat irons beveled edges mean no line of demarcation and leaves hair beautifully smooth with volume. No more hot spots! The entire paddle surface is evenly heated using ceramic fusion designed to protect against extreme heat. And its five temperature settings - ranging from 170 to 400 degrees - let you choose the correct heat for your hair texture.  1 3/8" plate size.

  • SKU: A8682   /  
  • Guaranteed Authentic
  • Promotes Moisture Retention.
  • Adds Sheen and Luster.
  • Fast Heating Ceramic Paddles Achieve Maximum Heat in Less Than 9 Seconds.
  • UL Certified meeting the highest safety and quality standards in the United States.

Directions

Recommended settings:

  • Fine, chemically treated or damaged hair 170 degrees
  • Medium 240 - 270 degrees
  • Coarse or Ethnic hair Up to 400 degrees

Max Temperature: 400 Degrees Fahrenheit
Voltage: 110
Min Temperature: 170 Degrees Fahrenheit
Watts: 40
NARROW BY HAIR TYPE
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
NARROW BY PRODUCT
  • Paul Mitchell Flat Iron (Smoothing Iron) (200)
Sort By
  • Date
  •  / 
  • Helpfulness
  •  / 
  • Rating
  • Okay But Still Looking 3 Star Rating
    I got this flat iron last year during the Holidays. I originally told my stylist I wanted a Sedu but she recommended this flat iron, saying it was the best. So I bought it and I loved it. I soon was upset when it was humid out and part of my hair would get wavy. I don't know if that is this iron's fault but I always wondered why my friend's hair would stay stick straight while mine wouldn't. I soon found out that it was just the product I was using and my technique of straightening my hair. But anyway, about 2/3 of a year later I noticed my hair smelled really bad after I straightened it, like burned! And then even when I turned it on it started to smell, before it had even touched the hair. (now I am not sure if it had smelled bad before, I think I just began to notice it then) It would also fry my hair. So right now I am looking to buy a new flat iron (the solia) and see how different that will be. I liked the fact that it got my hair straight, but not how it damaged it and affected its health. I won't buy this again.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Dec 12, 2009
  • Nooo D: 4 Star Rating
    so, iv had this straightner for ALMOST two years. my hair is frizzy and curly, and wavy and crazy. so the straightner works good, when i take the time to do it. BUT , just yesterday, it broke. i had the same prob as someone else here posted. my wires are messed up, i figure. iv never wraped my cord around the straightner. so turned it on one day. and sometimes it heats up. when the lihghts on, other than that. u got to wiggle it!

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Dec 3, 2009
  • Not Worth The Money! 1 Star Rating
    I had this iron less than 2 years and only used it once a week, on average. Last time I used it, smoke and FLAMES shot out of the cord where it connects to the iron. Good thing I don't use any hair products because my hair was in it at the time! I have seen numerous other complaints about the same thing. After calling PM and finding out they won't do anything because it's not under warranty, I'm definitely not buying another PM flat iron. Is it a coincidence that they discontinued this iron and changed manufacturers? I don't think so!

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Dec 3, 2009
  • Greatest Flat Iron I Have Owned Hands Down! 5 Star Rating
    Bought it back around christmas 2007 from my hair salon,after my stylist used it on my hair! It makes my hair so soft and shiny, and cuts the time in half from the others~! I also had the problem with the cord recently and have been having to hold it in place which is VERY frustrating, but after reading the reviews on here, I realize it is my fault that the cord has gone bad, because I always wrapped the cord around it before placing it back in storage under my bathroom sink! So I would recommend this flat iron over everything else, JUST DONT WRAP THE CORD AROUND IT OR IT WILL MESS UP ON YOU!!! My warranty is up, so hopefully my husband can take it apart and fix it for me, before I have to spend another $100+ on a new one right during Christmas time. :/

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Nov 22, 2009
  • This Is The Best Flat Iron Ever Made!!!!!!! 5 Star Rating
    i have had this flat iron ever since it came out on the market ]about a few years ago, and still to this day works better then anything i have ever laid my eyes on. i highly recommend this flat iron to the fullest. I am also proud to say that this flat iron heats up so fast. When I used to have the chi, it was okay it heated up way too slow though. also the chi used to have broke in 5 months, trust me the chi is okay, but it burns your hair. True story: my friend had a chi and it is new and everything right out of the box and it is ceramic. And the first time she used it it was okay, the second time her hair got burned and it looked like something exploded.She had to call the fire department and by the end of the day it took her 3 hours to at least get some of the white stuff the fire extinguisher left. it was tragic, let me rephrase, the CHi is tragic! Thats why you should get this Paul Mitchell flat iron! I HIGHLY 100% RECOMMEND IT, TO THE FULLEST!

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Nov 22, 2009
  • Not Worth The Money 1 Star Rating
    my CHI broke after 6 years of reliable use. I had to borrow my roommates Paul Mitchell flat iron and I hated it. first of all, it kept shorting out and would stay heated up. Next, I dont like the adjustable heat. The CHI goes to the right temp automatically. dont waste your money when you can buy a CHI for cheaper.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Nov 3, 2009
    / United States
  • The Iron Is A Fire Hazard... 1 Star Rating
    THis iron is a fire hazard. It works great while it works. I have never wrapped the cord but it burst in a pile of sparks and smoke on day while I was curling my hair. Can you believe it....never again...be very careful if you buy this product..

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Oct 28, 2009
    / Atlanta, GA 30331
  • Yay!! 5 Star Rating
    I have had this straightner for 3 years now and since I have had it I have dropped it many times. The cord has been chewed through and twisted beyond belief and I have left it on for 48 hours straight more than 5 times and it still works very good. The only problem I have ever had with it was the turning on and off but I'm not complaining after all I did put this straightner through hell and back.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Oct 27, 2009
    / Detroit, Michigan U.S.A
  • Swivel Cord Ruined The Whole Iron !! 1 Star Rating
    The swivel cord was the reason why I only gave this iron 1 star. It was a good iron until 3 months after using it, the red light (indicating the iron was ON) would turn on and off depending on how I held the iron. When the swivel cord moved, the light went off..The iron never worked right, and never kept heat because it was consistently turning itself on and off. I was really gentle with this iron, and never once was did I pull the cord, twist the cord or drop the iron. All in all...I will be hesitant to buy ANY iron that had a swivel cord...I don't see where it's really necessary, and it seems too fragile.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Oct 18, 2009
    / Moline, IL USA
  • If Your Paul Mitchell Flat Iron Does Not Work 1 Star Rating
    My daughter is a hair dresser and I am an electrician that also was a tool repair person years ago. The flat iron stopped working and I took it all apart to find there are 2 fuses under one of the ceramic pads. They are both blown. Sad thing is, Paul Mitchell does not sell repair parts for there product. The fuses are probably 40 cent parts and unfortunately are unique by design and cannot be replaced with a standard fuse. I would not do buisness with someone that won't sell parts for there product.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Sep 17, 2009
Server Name