Free Shipping Over $50
20% off All Orders + Sedu Travel Dryer with $100+
Maxiglide

Maxius SONICglide Styling Iron

Maxius SONICglide is a multi-patented vibrating straightening and styling iron with Advanced Steamburst Technology, perfect for all hair types.
$99.00
Free Shipping
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 13 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Maxius SONICglide Styling Iron (13)
Show All 13 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • 5 Star Rating
    The Original The Best
    What to do my first one was the best the last two not too good I need another one and don't know what to buy is the best flat iron for my type of hair any suggestions

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Last week
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Blonde
    Curly Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Amazing
    The best straightener I have ever used! I have curly hair and it is frustrating to straighten, with this one it takes have the time, and you'd never know my hair was naturally curly!

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 6, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Super Glide
    Does not burn my hair. EXCELLENT PRODUCT

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 12, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Great Flat Iron!!
    I had two of these flat irons before. I have tried other high-end flat irons and they literally leave my hair looking like it was singed. This is my favorite. I hope they never stop making this kind. :)

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 8, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Just Ok
    I owned two of the original Maxius Maxiglide's that I purchased about 6 years ago and they were the best hair irons I had ever used! However, when the second one started leaking a few month ago, I had to purchase another one. I learned that Maxius was no longer (or least not at this time) making the Maxiglide so I opted for the Sonicglide. Boy was I disappointed. It does not straighten my hair like the old ones. And worse than that it stopped working after two weeks of me receiving it! I was sent a replacement and hoped this one would work better but nope. It doesn't heat as well, the steam doesn't work as well and it doesn't remove the frlzz as well as the old ones. Not impressed at all. I guess if the Sonicglide is the first Maxius iron you have purchased you may be satisfied, but if you have owned the original iron, you will notice the difference. The sonicglide even feels cheap.
    5 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 9, 2013
    Link to this post
  • NYC
    Hair
    Black
    Curly Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Not As Good As The Other Original Maxiglide
    I really like the iron from Maxiglide which I had for years and it worked and did it job right. But this new "Sonicglide" is not what I thought it was going to be. It does not heat up as much. And it turns off while you use it (really ·_-). I am so dissatisfied that I can't believe I just bought something that doesn't deliver what it says it does. Never again will I ever get this or recommend it. I'm embarrassed now because I recommend this to a friend and now I'm going to tell that person not to bother.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 29, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Not What I Hoped But What I Expected
    I really like that this flat iron gives heat control and the teeth are amazing. The steam burst is a nice feature but I'm not sure how beneficial or necessary it is. The only drawback is that it did not seem to get hot enough or stay hot for long. Also, the teeth don't vibrate at all. I have thick coily natural hair (can be considered 4a/b) and detangled thoroughly and blow dried before using the iron. I used a heat protectant on each section before flat ironing. My hair was not very straight and was not shiny. I was okay with how it turned out but I was not blown away. I will continue to use the maxiglide because my hair does not feel as damaged as it would with a regular flat iron.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 20, 2013
    Link to this post
  • United States
    Hair
    Black
    Dry Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Good, But Not Great
    Pros:
    Vibration speeds up process of straightening hair in general
    Detangling pins help even out the heat
    Steam makes damaged ends feel softer

    Cons:
    Heats up slow
    Small water reservoir (if you have long hair like I do)
    Curling mechanism does not work all that well because hair gets caught in detangling pins so easily
    Detangling pins can slow down process through larger, more kinky sections and roots
    Can't get the same texture at roots as ends if you steam (due to burn risk)
    If you get impatient you CANNOT pull the iron through your hair because it pulls it out!

    How I use it:
    Two ways to prep:
    (1) I put Chi Silk Infusion in after shower. I spray Chi Iron Guard in, then I blow dry.
    OR
    (2) I put Chi Silk Infusion in after shower, air dry, then spray Chi Iron Guard in.

    Using the iron:
    READ THE INSTRUCTION BOOKLET FOR ALL SAFETY MEASURES FIRST!!!
    Had I not read the booklet, I would have burned my hands and my scalp and destroyed my hair.

    The iron took a long time to heat up. My hair is coarse, thin, and long. It has a kinky wave to it, not a full on curl. I have to use this iron on setting 9 of 10. Using the iron without the steam function, I found myself to be losing hair with every run through. The detangling pins would catch a small tangle and rip my hair out. I found that using smaller sections than the booklet recommends and using a fine tooth comb through them before ironing is better. With that said, using the steam function, I didn't have that problem as much, so I didn't use the fine tooth comb. Attempting to curl my hair with it did not work well. My hair would get stuck in the iron most of the time, and if it did make it out the curl had a crease or two in it from the iron itself. After multiple times of trying this, I have rendered the curl function of this iron pretty useless to me. The overall feel and texture of my hair after using this iron on without steam is no different than using my Babyliss Titanium. However, after using the steam function, my hair is a softer and more manageable texture through the ends. I can run my fingers through my ends and not have them run into tangles. I have also noticed that my split ends seem to be mending up. Not sure if that's from my shower hair products or the iron.

    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 10, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Yay!
    I have natrually wavy hair and most days I scrunch some mousse in it, dry a bit and go. But there are those occasions I want to put a little more effort for a different style... I had my Paul Mitchell flat iron for about 8 years now and it makes my hair frizzy and flat. With this Sconicglide I love my hair straight. Your hair isn't scalding hot after you run the iron over it, even on high. The detangling pins make it hard to go over on the first pass but after that its smooth... I like it though its like it is brushing your hair as you straighten it. I like the Sconic vibration also, it helps the pins glide through your hair easier. My cousin really liked it too. I have not tried the steam yet and am not sure if I will because it gets mine straght with out it. But I love it. I wish I had more time to style my hair and I would wear it straight more often now. :) Very happy with the results!

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 9, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Not For Thick Hair
    It got tangled easily and when using the steam it left an imprint on my hair.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 4, 2013
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
  • Maxius Brush

    Maxius Brush

    The Maxius brush is a great detangling and styling tool!

    New Price: $18.00
  • Maxi Clips Sale

    Maxi Clips

    Maxi Clips make styling easier!

    New Price: $15.99
  • V.swish Hot Mat - Black

    V.swish Hot Mat - Black

    The V.swish Hot Mat offers dual purpose protection in one innovative design.

    New Price: $10.00
    Ships on Apr 27, 2014
  • Maxius Hairsplay

    Maxius Hairsplay

    Maxius Hairsplay is a very special multi-use hair spray and root-lift with conditioners.

    New Price: $17.99
    Ships on May 07, 2014
  • Maxius The End

    Maxius The End

    Maxius The End is a silicone shine enhancer that is 100% oil free, alcohol free and preservative free.

    New Price: $19.99
Server Name