Free Shipping Over $50
15% off + Free Shipping on Top Ten Lists
Maxiglide

Maxiglide Hair Straightener XP Value Pack

878 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
Same superior performance as the original Maxiglide but with enhanced features like swivel cord, automatic shut-off and extended 2 year warranty. Take your hai...
$190.00
$89.99
Save 53% + Free Shipping
Out of Stock
 

Reviews

Based on 878 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Maxiglide Hair Straightener XP Value Pack (878)
Show All 878 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Arizona
    1 Star Rating
    Piece Of Crud
    This flat iron thing is horrible dont waste your money damages hair and a health hazard they must have made this flat iron with their eyes closed.
    5 out of 5 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 20, 2009
    Link to this post
  • 4 Star Rating
    African American Hair We Love It
    I purchased the first iron about six ago when my daughter was 12 month old. She had lots of hair and because my hair was relaxed I didn't know how to style her hair unless it was straight. I used the iron on her at 12 months and continue to use it on her hair now. she has thick curly hair which hangs over half way down her back. Over the past 6 years I transitioned to natural hair and use it myself. We now own all 3 maxi glides and the hair care products. I take them to the salon when my hair stylist uses her flat iron. The products work great on my hair.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 19, 2009
    Link to this post
  • Las Vegas, Nv Usa
    4 Star Rating
    Great 4 Black Women- I Love It!
    As a black woman, I could never get my hair as straight as I wanted it, except at the shop professionally. Keeping in mind my hair is natural, not permed, but not extremely course either. The first time I used maxiglide, I was so pleased. My hair was extremely straight, shiny, and bouncey. It took me less time to complete my hair, and best of all I didn't worry about getting burned with the pressing comb. Although I love this flat iron, I have to agree with some of the comments regarding it breakin down over time. In the past five year I have been using maxiglide, I have purchased two, and I am currently needing a third. On one of them the water kept coming out,and the other one keeps cutting off. Just be sure to purchase the warranty! Even though the flat irons have about a 1-2 year life, in my opinion your still saving money by doing your hair yourself. They cost about $100, but if you get your hair done 1-2 times a month at $50 or more, the flat irons are so worth it!
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 9, 2009
    Link to this post
  • 2 Star Rating
    Don't Waste Your Money!
    I really don't like this iron! I have very curly hair that is kind of hard to straighten. I got the iron and it only lasted a year! the plate with the comb things tug at your hair and it hurts really badly. You can even see all the hair it pulled out in between the pins! When I would straighten my hair I would have to take a 5 minute break so my arm could stop hurting. This thing is SOOO heavy! It barely even got my hair straight unless it was on 10. It also took like 5 minutes to heat up. Another thing I hated about it was that after a while it made my house start smelling burnt and even my hair! Every time I would heat it up it would have a disgusting burnt smell. Ugh! I am so frustrated that I wasted my money on this iron considering that there are much better irons out there for much cheaper prices. The only thing I like about it was that it came with a really handy mini iron thats great for traveling and getting the small edges of your hair and bangs. Overall please dont waste your money on this iron unless your buying the little iron.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 4, 2009
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Good Not Great
    I've owned a Maxiglide for 4 years. My hair is really thick, and I always got it pin straight. It's done an amazing job straightening my hair, but it doesn't hold up against humidity well. I live in San Antonio, Texas. Humidity can get up to 100% in the summer. My hair would probably stay straight for about 2 hours then start frizzing again. If you purchase this straightener, I suggest you work out all your tangles before going over it. The teeth can snag really bad sometimes. Also, clean it out after each use. Hair gets wrapped around the teeth sometimes and eventually burn onto the plates. It's a nightmare to take off.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 1, 2009
    Link to this post
  • Houston, TX, USA
    5 Star Rating
    The Best I Have Ever Tried!
    I have been using this for years and it is the best i have ever used! with the big plate you dont have to do small sections of hair at at time. i get done in no more than 15 mins! my first did go out, one side didnt heat up, but i used it just like that and it STILL did the job. i have bought another since then, and i wont go to another straightener. I also used it on my husband, who is african american, and had thick hair when he let it grow out and his hair came out perfect when using this. its a great product overall!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 30, 2009
    Link to this post
  • Lafayette, IN
    Hair
    Dry Hair
    Short Hair
    2 Star Rating
    I've Haad Better
    I have short slightly wavy but frizzy hair. i bought it thinking the steam would help with the frizz WRONG. i dont think i ever got it past 5 and it always made my ends straw like. i had better results with a helen of troy ceramic falt iron from sallys. i think i might just invest in a sedu.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 29, 2009
    Link to this post
  • Phoenix AZ, US
    5 Star Rating
    It Would Be Helpful To 99% Of People That Have Posted Reviews....
    If you actually knew what you were doing and maybe even read the directions and watched the DVD if you didnt! I have been a professional hair stylist for almost twenty years, and having my own small salon, have tried and experimented with just about evey straightener out there. GHD, Chi, DIVA... all those rediculously expensive brands. But when it came to my seventeen year old daughter asking for a better straightener, I wasnt immediatelywilling to hand over $300. So decided to try this out after she heard some good things from her friends. Received it in the mail, and it wasnt ten minutes before she had it opened and plugged in. She was so, soo happy with the results. NEVER used the steam, as I dont see the point in that either. It does get pretty hot, so a protective spray is ALWAYS a good idea. And as a response to some of these reviews... You also must realize any straightener, regardless of the quality, will rarely work on extreely think or uncontrollable hair without some other product. So dont blame the straightener itself! /// The first picture, (I apologize for the quality) Was the straightest we could get her hair with any other iron. The second... was the first time using the Maxiglide. I was even impressed.
    Before Photo
    After Photo
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 17, 2009
    Link to this post
  • Chicago, IL
    Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Loved It...if Only It Lasted
    I have pretty wavy, thick hair and I'm pretty obsessed about my it. I had a boyfriend buy this for me as a gift and I loved it! Even convinced my sister to buy one. I loved this straightener, my hair was always left soft and silky with very few split ends (of course I deep condition regularly) even my hair dresser complimented me when I went in for trims. However, it only lasted for 2 years. After it died (the cord messed up, and started letting out sparks) I immediately ran out to get another one, which died 1 1/2 later this time the side that didn't move heat up. Other then that I loved it and still recommend it, but for now I'm on the search for a new, better straightener.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 11, 2009
    Link to this post
  • Centennial
    5 Star Rating
    Love It!!
    This is the second Maximus I have purchased because the first one after 5 years now of using it 6-7 days a week is not as hot as it used to be. If you brush your hair first, the detangling pins do NOT hurt what so ever, they just seperate your hair so that each strand can get smooth and frizz free! What I love most about this iron is how healthy and shiny your hair looks! And for added bonus if your twist the iron around your hair at the ends, it makes for beautiful soft curls like a curling iron would do, but you only need this one tool! Totally worth the money and the best iron out there!!!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 7, 2009
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
  • Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4") Best of Folica

    Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4")

    The Solia 1-1/4 flat iron features the Dynamic Alignment System to ensure perfect contact between your hair and the plates which gives even heat distribution for true silky straight hair. 

    5,517 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    New Price: $79.99 - $89.99
    Free Shipping
  • Maxius Beyond Straight

    Maxius Beyond Straight

    Maxius Beyond Straight is a humidity resistant temporary straightener with wheat protein and thermal protection that allows you to go straight, reduce frizz and relax curls.

    Old Price: $18.00 New Price: $15.99
  • Maxius The End

    Maxius The End

    Maxius The End is a silicone shine enhancer that is 100% oil free, alcohol free and preservative free.

    New Price: $19.99
Server Name