Free Shipping Over $50
How lucky is your summer? Get up to 25% off.
Maxiglide

Maxiglide Hair Straightener XP Value Pack

878 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
Same superior performance as the original Maxiglide but with enhanced features like swivel cord, automatic shut-off and extended 2 year warranty. Take your hai...
$190.00
$89.99
Save 53% + Free Shipping
Out of Stock
 

Reviews

Based on 878 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Maxiglide Hair Straightener XP Value Pack (878)
Show All 878 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Seattle, Washington
    4 Star Rating
    Great Product
    It straightens well but the only problems I have is that it is a little bulky and the flashing LED light is so annoying I dont recommend using the ones with the combing thingy instead use the flat iron!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 11, 2008
    Link to this post
  • 1 Star Rating
    Not What It Appears
    My hair is really curly and think and frizzy... when i first got it, it worked like magic. I WAS SOOOOOO EXCITED. But after using it after about 6 months my hair got really damaged and short around the edges. And it stop flating my hair when i used it, it just made my hair frizzy and tangled. It also broke and the stream burst on the flat iron broke and boiling hot water spilt all over my hand. Oh yeah it also broke in half. And almost two years later my hair still isnt the same as it use to be before i brought this tragic thing called a "flat iron".
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 8, 2008
    Link to this post
  • 3 Star Rating
    Okay, But Not Great...
    I thought I LOVED the Maxiglide as I am on my third one in 5 years, but that just goes to show you how long they last as I only use mine once or twice a week! I liked the idea of the pins pulling your hair straight, but all it really does is break the hair. It also stinks! The steam button BURNS and the whole thing is very heavy. I had to use my old ceramic straightener in an emergency and I could not believe the difference in my hair- I will never go back to the maxiglide now. It was much less puffy, more smooth and the old iron was MUCH hotter. I think the maxiglides must work well, when you first get them and then thats it!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 3, 2008
    Link to this post
  • San Francisco, CA
    2 Star Rating
    Not Worth Your $
    For $80, this straightener is a rip off. I remember owning a $20 straightener that worked 10xs better than this. The Maxiglide is:1. too bulky, big, heavy, non compact2. pulls at your hair3. takes forever to heat up!4. doesnt do its job as well as many other hair straighteners ive triedSpend 20bucks more and get a Sedu (original), GHD or Solia.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 1, 2008
    Link to this post
  • Nj
    1 Star Rating
    Do Not Get It!!!!!!!! Read This!
    I have naturally curly, thick and frizzy hair. I have searched everywhere for a good straightener and everything i used didnt work. Until I got the maxiglide.....I must say this straightener does work very well and I was extremely happy with it. My hair was as straight and beautiful as can be, however while I straighten my hair it would pull and break my hair, but I did not think this was such a big problem. I used maxiglide for maybe about a month, but then I started noticing that my original natural hair wasnt curling as it used to. And then shortly after my hair just wasnt curly any more..it was just fried damaged and frizzy hair. I was pretty upset and immediately got rid of the straightener. My hair was now easier to straighten however it never curls anymore. Its been a year since I have gotten rid of the straightener, and my hair is sort of curly. I dont think I will ever get my curls back. Unless you want permanent damage to your hair, DO NOT GET THIS PRODUCT because it will screw up and damage your hair!! I highly recommend the Chi. it is 100% just as good and leaves your hair healthy shiny BEAUTIFUL, and not damaged what so ever... unlike the maxiglide. The maxi glide does straighten hair very good, however too good. Getting this straightener is completely up to you, but take my word for it do not spend your money on damaged hair!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 23, 2008
    Link to this post
  • Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    1 Star Rating
    Breaks Hair!
    When I FIRST started using the maxiglide, I thought it was a miracle. I have relaxed/chemically straightened hair, so when I had new growth the Maxiglide worked wonders on smoothing it out. Now a YEAR later, the steam left my hair damaged (especially the ends) and I had to get 3 inches chopped off leaving it so short :( The only thing this heavy Maxiglide is good for is weightlifting b/c the metal plates will damage your hair while the built in comb rips it out.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 22, 2008
    Link to this post
  • Iowa
    4 Star Rating
    It Gets The Job Done!
    I got the Maxiglide about a year ago. It still works perfectly! It straightens pretty well, but I highly recommend not using the the plate with pins. It just gets tangled in hair and yanks them out (ouch!). I usually dont use the steam burst, but when I do, it seems to work fine. Also, the size makes it SUPER akward to straighten smaller sections. I cant get my bangs straightened that well and getting really close to the roots is difficult. Its definitely not as good as a CHI or Solia, but it simply gets the job done for a good price.
    Before Photo
    After Photo
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 21, 2008
    Link to this post
  • South Jersey, NJ
    5 Star Rating
    Simply The Best Flat Iron Out There
    I have been using the Maxiglide well over 3 years now and I must say that it truly is the most amazing flat iron there is! I use to spend lots of money on my weekly hair salon visit (for both myself and my daughter), but that is a thing of the past because with this flat iron I can do my own hair! I need NO help what so ever! Anyone who says that their hair is still puffy or frizzy simply isnt using the correct technique... I have very curly/kinky hair and I had the same exact problem when I first started using the Maxiglide but once I learned how to use it, forget it - NOTHING compares!!! Ive had the Chi and many other flat irons that fry your hair, that hasnt happened once in 3 years! Everyone is always complimenting me on my hair and I cant begin to tell you how many of these my friends have bought based on my recommedations and I must say that not one has regret it! I know you wont either! Just take your time and practice... You know what they say, "Practice makes Perfect"! Once you figure out the best way to work it for your hair, trust me youll never regret it!!!! :)
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 16, 2008
    Link to this post
  • Georgia
    1 Star Rating
    Do Not Buy The Maxiglide!!!
    I bought the maxiglide last year and I thought it was wonderful at first, thinking I would not have to relax my hair ever again. After a few weeks of using it I noticed that it was breaking my hair off in the back layers. I was extremely gentle with my hair when I was trying to get it straight. My hair was almost waist length at the time. A week later I went to my hairstylist and I winded having to cut about 4 inches off because using it (maxiglide with the prongs on the plate) ripped my hair out in the back. It also gave me alot of split ends. So now my hair is alot shorter because of this stupid flatiron that was not intended for african american hair. I am growing it back now, but of course it takes time. Do not waste your money on this flatiron, it will ruin your hair.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 13, 2008
    Link to this post
  • Tampa, FL
    3 Star Rating
    Pulls Hair Out
    The first few months I thought this was the best product ever! But, I noticed my daughters hair was getting shorter and shorter. You dont notice right away, but it does break your hair off at the ends. My daughter lost 3 inches of hair from the Maxiglide in a year and a halfs time. Also, it just stopped heating up one day after about 5 months, so I ordered another one. After a few months again it stopped heating up, so I ordered a third one, which stopped after a few months too. I never purchased a 4th one. I think its because the cord gets all twisted up?
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 12, 2008
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
  • Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4") Best of Folica

    Solia Tourmaline Ceramic Ion Flat Iron (1-1/4")

    The Solia 1-1/4 flat iron features the Dynamic Alignment System to ensure perfect contact between your hair and the plates which gives even heat distribution for true silky straight hair. 

    5,537 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    New Price: $79.99 - $89.99
    Free Shipping
  • Maxius Beyond Straight

    Maxius Beyond Straight

    Maxius Beyond Straight is a humidity resistant temporary straightener with wheat protein and thermal protection that allows you to go straight, reduce frizz and relax curls.

    Old Price: $18.00 New Price: $15.99
  • Maxius The End

    Maxius The End

    Maxius The End is a silicone shine enhancer that is 100% oil free, alcohol free and preservative free.

    New Price: $19.99
    Ships on Aug 14, 2014
Server Name