Free Shipping Over $50
20% off Tools
John Frieda

John Frieda Smooth & Shine Sleek Finish Flat Iron

John Frieda Smooth & Shine Sleek Finish Flat Iron features 1 inch extra-long ceramic titanium coated straightening plates, for a smooth and sleek finish.
$60.00
$49.99
Save 17%
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 8 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
Show All 8 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • NC
    Hair
    Grey
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Flat Iron
    Major design flaw as described by the other reviewers. Wondering if this flat iron was user tested...am guessing it was not because, like the others, I've found the on/off and temperature controls are totally in the wrong spot. Pity. I too wish I could return it to Walmart. Would not buy it if I had a do over. Would not recommend it.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 15, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    1 Star Rating
    I Hate This Straightner
    This straightener is awful! First of all the on and off switch is in a crazy location and gets turned off by accident if you hold it wrong. And second it just does not work!! My hair looks the same after I use it as it did before I even started. This is the worst straightener I have ever purchased. I will definitely be going back to my old brand of BaByliss PRO Nano Titanium 1 1/4" Straightening Iron. After several years of use it finally tore up and I was trying to save some money by buying a cheaper one at Walmart. Do not by the John Frieda hair straightener it sucks!!!

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 10, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Flat Iron Flop
    I am very disappointed in this flat iron. The on/off switch, and the temperature settings
    are in an awkward spot therefore it tuns off and/ or the temperature setting goes lower or higher when it wants to. If I could return, I would. I do not intend to purchase another John Frieda product.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 9, 2013
    Link to this post
  • NC
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    1 Star Rating
    Experts In Hair Care?? Not This Time!!
    If it weren't for the shoddy design concept of this flat iron, it would receive a much higher rating. As it is, it really only deserves half of a star.

    Pros: The flat iron gets really hot and straightens hair well

    Cons: THE DESIGN!

    Obviously whoever designed this flat iron has either A.) Never used a flat iron before in their life or B.) Has no concept whatsoever of how a flat iron actually works.

    The power and temperature buttons on the outside of the straightener were a HORRIBLE idea. When a person is flat ironing their hair, their thumb goes directly where the button is placed, which in turn causes the person to accidentally hit that button during the straightening process. I find myself constantly having to check and re-check the temp on my flat iron because I am always turning it down or completely OFF on accident while trying to straighten my hair.

    Were it not for the horrible design concept, this flat iron would have received 5 Stars from me, but the constant hassle of accidentally hitting the power and temp buttons while trying to straighten my hair, is enough of a hassle to give it the low rating it received.

    John Frieda needs to get back to the drawing board on this one, and this time have someone who actually knows how to use a flat iron design it!
    2 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 29, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Auburn
    Normal Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    1 Star Rating
    Iron Tuns Off When Using It!!!
    This iron is hard to handle as when you go to use it the temperature turns down. I wish i could get my money back and purchase one that does not interfer with using it!
    7 out of 7 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 5, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Black
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Burning My Hand
    the setting is very easy to change and I have also burn my hand but I now hold my thumb on the setting window to avoid that .the heat is good my hair is very course so i set it on 455 it gets the job done
    6 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 5, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    1 Star Rating
    What? 450 Degrees
    The temperature button is on the handle. I have fine hair and had it set on 290 degrees. Without knowing that I had changed the temperature, I continued to straighten my hair. After working through sections, I began to see a difference in the texture of my hair. I examined the flat iron to see if I hit a setting. Boy, did I hit a setting. The temperature was now on 450 and the last section of my hair was fried. The temperature button does not need to be on the handle unless you can "lock in" the desire temperature.
    8 out of 8 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 18, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Puyallup
    1 Star Rating
    Not Good..
    THE TEMPATURE GAGE IS ON THE HANDLE AND EVERYTIME YOU PICK IT UP YOUR HAND TURNS OFF DUE TO SENSOR.. SO SO SO BAD. NOT WORTH THE MONEY...
    13 out of 15 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 26, 2011
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
  • Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with Moroccan Argan Oil Best of Folica

    Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with Moroccan Argan Oil

    Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with pure Moroccan Argan Oil protects from heat damage, leaves hair incredibly smooth and shiny and controls frizz. Similar to Moroccanoil, it contains Argan Oil which is produced from the kernels of the argan tree, found in Morocco. Argan Oil is extraordinarily rich in things like natural tocopherols and vitamin E.

    293 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $50.00 New Price: $37.00
  • Conair Infiniti Pro Oil-Infused Ceramic Flat Iron

    Conair Infiniti Pro Oil-Infused Ceramic Flat Iron

    Conair Infiniti Pro Oil-Infused Ceramic Flat Iron combines argan oil fusion and conditioning anti-frizz right into the 1 inch plates. Includes bonus Argan Oil sample!

    Old Price: $49.99 New Price: $36.99
    Free Gift
Server Name