Free Shipping Over $50
20% off $ Stars
Hot Tools

Hot Tools Professional Flat Iron

523 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
The advanced professional flat iron (Hot Tools 1190) with 10 heat settings maintains constant temperature for non-stop smoothing with consistent quality.
$59.95
$29.99
Save 50%
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 523 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Hot Tools Professional Flat Iron (523)
Show All 523 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Peoria, IL
    2 Star Rating
    Works Well At First, But Doesn't Last
    Ive been using this flat iron for the last 5 years, and have gone through four of them. My first one lasted two years, but since that first one the other thee havent lasted very long at all. The last one I went through, after using it for about 8 months, started to only work if I positioned the cord a certain way, then not long after that it shorted out and exploded, throwing sparks everywhere! The one Im currently using is now starting to only work if the cord is positioned a certain way... Im scared every time I use it, and needless to say am looking into a different product. I say this product works very well when it is working, but I feel as though the quality of it has been going down exponentially the last few years, and I can no longer recommend this straightener.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 15, 2008
    Link to this post
  • Daytona Beach, Florida
    3 Star Rating
    Good If You Have Healhty Hair
    I was really worried about buying this, so I read up all these reviews and decided it was cheap enough. I was happy for a little bit at least...It worked great the first and second use! I was so happy, it kept it straight and nice, I had beautiful hair... but unfortunately I dont have the best hair. By the third and fourth use my hair was fried, even on a lower setting and a spray in protector. My hair was damaged before, but its even worse off now. This straightener works amazing, but if you have hair thats on the verge of completely frying, or has a tendency to die... dont use this straightener. Trust me.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 18, 2008
    Link to this post
  • 5 Star Rating
    It Works.
    Its one of the best inexpensive irons Ive used. I never wanted to spend too much on an iron but I just couldnt find a reasonably priced one that would work well until a friend recommended this one. She had actually bought it from a salon for $25 at the time and always used that one. I could never find it in stores but finally i found this site which sells it for such an amazing price.First of all, this iron works almost as well as the one my aunt bought for $100 and my hair is actually pretty frizzy now (after years of applying heat to it) and curly but it doesnt take too much effort to get my hair looking naturally straight and silky. One problem I had with the remington wet to straight iron I used to use is that its got a teflon coat to make it nonstick. Once the teflon comes off though, the surface becomes almost abrasive and burns your hair making it smell bad. The coat on this iron is gold and it doesnt come off so it stays smooth doesnt make your hair smell bad/burnt. Also Ive used this iron on all hair types (doing hair for my cousins and aunts) and it works so it should work on anyones hair as long as they know how to straighten their hair properly to begin with.The only down side to this iron is that if you drop it on the floor you will most definetely break it since its made of plastic which is lightweight. The plastic on the side of mine snapped so that there was a gap in between and my hair kept getting caught in it until after a year it eventually came off altogether so i have to order another one. So try not to drop it on a hard floor. Other than that you should be fine, I mean Im ordering the same iron again because at this price you can actually afford to replace it.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 13, 2008
    Link to this post
  • Portland, Oregon
    1 Star Rating
    Awful!
    This product was given to me by a friend a while ago, whos mother was a hair dresser/stylist, so of course i assumed the product would be top quality, (i was younger then, and i didnt have any knowledge about brands). my friend only used the best products on her hair, so i was grateful for the hand-me-down, and i assumed it had been one of her regular styling tools. was i ever wrong. it barely gripped my hair (which shouldnt have been hard since my hair is neither very thin nor thick, or hard to deal with and i was putting in small sections at a time), and when it did grip my hair, ninety percent of the time it snagged it. i ended up having to go over it numerous amounts of time to have it come out only half way decent, and whatever straight-ness it did have, within four hours it was back to its normal, wavy self. i confronted my friend about this, and she said that she wasnt serious about it being professional, and that she knew it was a bad straightener all along. were no longer friends, and my old hot tools hair straighter is in the garbage. good riddence to the both of them.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 8, 2008
    Link to this post
  • Florida
    1 Star Rating
    It Sucks
    Not worth the money. It doesnt really work. You straighten your hair and it go back to normal after you step outside. I wouldnt recommend this.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 21, 2008
    Link to this post
  • 1 Star Rating
    Not Good
    It leaves my hair very unstraightened and then it quickly goes frizzy!!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 18, 2008
    Link to this post
  • Missouri
    4 Star Rating
    I Love It Works Well
    I have really thick hair and long hair and straightens well. I just got my hair cut to my shoulders and it still straightens my hair well. My sister has the same straightener and her hair is thin and kinky curls and it holds the straightness to her hair even in hot weather.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 5, 2008
    Link to this post
  • NY
    3 Star Rating
    Good But It Damages
    this straightener lasted six years. and would have lasted longer if.. i didnt snap it in half lol. thats how bad it was. after six years it took like more time to heat up like 5 or 6 minutes and the hinge was getting loose so it wouldnt close right on top of the 2 irons.it made my hair shiny and super straight! but it did soooo much damage to my hair even with a heat protector since its only gold plated and gold plates are known for snagging and leaving hot spots. it doess snag owwie! but itss ok if your hair is so thick that it doesnt get damaged!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 1, 2008
    Link to this post
  • Kentucky
    1 Star Rating
    Crappy
    I do not recommend this straightener to anyone my revolon I got from walmart worked better then this it took this thing like 30 minutes to heat up after I straightened a half of a section it was no longer warm. Junk.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 16, 2008
    Link to this post
  • 4 Star Rating
    Love Itt
    i have ringlets and when i brush them out i have a fro :D i have this straightener and it olny takes me a half hour to straighten my hair, personally i want a better one but if your hair is jut plain old wavy and not full out curls get this straightener
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 16, 2008
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
  • Sedu Moisturizing Heat Protecting Boost

    Sedu Moisturizing Heat Protecting Boost

    Moisturizing Heat Protecting Boost from Sedu gives thirsty hair the moisture it needs. It buffers the heat from blow dryers, curling irons, flat irons, and hot rollers, while enhancing the effectiveness of each. Leaves your hair soft, shiny, and smooth. Ideal for all hair types.

    Old Price: $18.00 New Price: $12.99
  • Hot Tools 1875 watt Anti-Static Ion Dryer

    Hot Tools 1875 watt Anti-Static Ion Dryer

    Hot Tools 1875 watt Anti-Static Ion Dryer features faster drying and increased moisture absorption.

    Old Price: $40.00 New Price: $34.00
Server Name