Hot Tools

Hot Tools Professional Flat Iron

The advanced professional flat iron (Hot Tools 1190) with 10 heat settings maintains constant temperature for non-stop smoothing with consistent quality.
$29.99
In Stock
- Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 524 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Hot Tools Professional Flat Iron (524)
Show All 524 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Oregon
    4 Star Rating
    Crazy Good
    I have long think red curly hair, and nothing could straighten it and i tried everything. (Conair is the worst) My friend recomendid this one to me and i got it. It was wonderfull. It heated up fast, and i had straight stick flat hair in 15 minnutes. It was wonderfull, i had never been so happy! FInnaly something that had worked. But after about 2 montes a piece of the plastic broke off but it still worked great. Over time it need a little bit more time to heat up but it still worked wonderfully! But now it is broken and i dont know how. I never took it anywere with me, it stayed at home in my bathroom. I never droped it and took great care of it. Now one side doesnt work and it has only been 6 months. I have to say that this does work the best, but use your one year warenty the second you get it out of the box to help prevent having to buy another one. For the people who say it dries your hair- every product will do that unless you take care of your hair properly- dont blame this product for your hair problems. Just use a little extra condition or rebalencing-idolizer to help keep your hair heathly!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 4, 2004
    Link to this post
  • 3 Star Rating
    Average
    straightened hair really well but after a few months you start to see the affects of the gold plated flat iron. yes very damaging. after about 5 months it breaks. so overall its a good straightener for the price but im going to look forward to a ceramic straightener since i heard it was less damaging.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 4, 2004
    Link to this post
  • Norco, California
    3 Star Rating
    Helps Frizzy Hair!
    I think this flat iron works great. I had mine longer that a year and it still gets really hot. The only thing is now that the cord is messed up and it goes off and on. But that was only after my little sister started to use it. It does seem to damage your hair at the ends, but i started to use better hair products to help from the heat and it made a difference. Its not as bad as blow dryer damage to your hair. (I have wavy, frizzy hair without this iron.)
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 2, 2004
    Link to this post
  • Washington
    3 Star Rating
    Straightens Good But Damages Hair!
    I have this straightener and it works really good in my hair. It straightens it really good....but this flat iron damages your hair soo much! your hair will eventually start to fall out...so if you want a straightener but keep your hair healthy...just spend a little bit more money and buy a ceramic flat iron :)
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 25, 2004
    Link to this post
  • 3 Star Rating
    Poor
    I used the Hot Tools Flat Iron on my hair which is really long, thick, curly, and frizzy... at first it was really good (well compared to my first flat iron the conair which sucks). But after a couple of months the iron looses its heat so it takes a really long time to straighten hair. Also I noticed that my ends were drying out majorly and that I had like soo many split ends. This iron is good if you dont want a long term one and if you dont feel like spending a lot of money
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 16, 2004
    Link to this post
  • 3 Star Rating
    Its Not All That
    Ok, when I first got it I was sooo excited and it seemed to work great, but just for a little bit. It does work much better than any of those drug store brands. I used to be able to make my hair ruler straight, and nothing would curl ever. Thena after a few months I couldnt get it as straight and my hair would curl at the bottom after a few mintues. Then yesterday it was the worst of them all. My hair went wavy! Not only does it no longer work, but it damaged my hair sooo much. Im going to buy a ceramic one which is much better for your hair than these plain old metal plates. Buy this product if you enjoy highs and lows such as being very excited and then getting really disappointed.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 15, 2004
    Link to this post
  • Vancouver, BC
    3 Star Rating
    It Was Good The First Time!
    The first time i tried a "Helen of Troy" product it worked really well. I was excited how straight my hair was and even more excited that it was very inexpensive. It was only around a few months and it broke down on me! I didnt want to send it back because i thought it would be such a hassle so i ended up just buying same one again. This one is still working but who know how long its going to last. it doesnt straighten my hair as well as the first time i tried it but i guess its good enough for those who arent too particular with their hair. As for me, I am willing to spend a lot more for a good quality hair straightener....I have yet to find one.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 15, 2004
    Link to this post
  • Ontario, Canada
    3 Star Rating
    Its Ok!
    It worked well for the first little while, but Ive had it a year now and it hardly heats up!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 13, 2004
    Link to this post
  • 5 Star Rating
    Whoa!
    This straightener actually works!!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 5, 2004
    Link to this post
  • DC/NYC
    2 Star Rating
    Time Wears It On
    At first my sister and I were very happy with our new prodcut.After about 4 months from buying, the plastic started to wear away and break. Most recently, the cracks int he plastic have ben grabbing and pulling our hair. I am now shopping for a replacement.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 27, 2004
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name